We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballachulish Hotel

Save
Traveller (670)
Room & Suite (283)
Dining (85)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good39%
  • Average20%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“jacuzzi bath”(28 reviews)
“creaky stairs”(21 reviews)
“dining room”(62 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,240 results
Traveller rating
340
466
242
114
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
340
466
242
114
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathcreaky stairsdining roompublic roomsold buildingsister hoteltraditional hotellots of characterloch viewmusselslarge loungefeature roomopen firebefore dinneritison dealtour groupboth nights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,240 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

What you get offered here for your money already borders on fraud. Good, it is an old hotel. But because of that everything must be shabby and dirty? The rooms are not really clean. Spider webs hang in the windows. Everything would have to be...More

Thank hein_spack
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. That said, the hotel should be avoided. The rooms are very outdated. Even the renovations are scratched with chipped or cracked surfaces. It would take a boatload of money to update this place. Head to Fort...More

Thank Meridan437
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed at the Ballchulish Hotel for two nights in early July 2018 - much to our regret. Quite different from what’s advertised on their website. Our room was definitely below the standard shown on their own website, with old and tarnished furniture and carpet....More

Thank AllaroundAsia
Response from Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish HotelResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your feedback AllaroundAsia, so sorry that it seems The Ballachulish Hotel isn't the place for you. You haven't stated if you'd spoken with the Management team regarding your feelings, as they would have been delighted to offer resolutions to your issues had they...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We have just returned from an overnight stay and if it hadn’t been booked through an online booking company we wouldn’t have stayed. The hotel has a perfect location and the potential is there but, oh dear, this is not a hotel anyone would return...More

Thank Maxine C
Response from Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish HotelResponded 3 days ago

So sorry to learn of your disappointment Maxine C. It's not clear from your comments if you had spoken with our Management team at the time, but they would have greatly appreciated the opportunity to put things right for you had they been aware of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All aspects of my stay were so good-friendly, clean, quiet and private. They have only one room to rent, twin beds, own dining room and your own ‘sitooterie’ Very good area to make visits to a variety of places. I recommend this b&b very highlyMore

Thank Annie M
Response from Hotel-GManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish HotelResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your feedback Annie M, glad to her you had such a pleasant stay. Should you wish a double room next time round just please let us know and we will be happy to allocate one for you. Hope to see you again...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 103 - USD 270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 103 - USD 270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (670)
Room & Suite (283)
Dining (85)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (16)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Walster52
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from drchcs | Reviewed this property |
Ask for the most recently refurbished rooms as they seem to be of good quality. We did but were denied such room.
0
Votes
kaleete
25 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stuart K | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, we had a room with a double bed when we stayed. I suspect that the Hotel, itself, will have to clarify this for you.
0
Votes
cheguevaraPettsWood
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Autumn H | Reviewed this property |
I can only speak to what I found at the Ballachulish Hotel. I was also on a tour but with a different company. Perhaps what your tour company offered by the Ballachulish and what my tour was offered were different. I am... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The rooms in the annex were definitely below the standard shown on their website."
Read review
"rooms with nice view to see"
Read review
"The front in the older building if available, great views"
Read review
"Move on a few more miles to Oban for a far better selection of first-rate hotels at the same price,"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing