We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wheatsheaf Inn

Expedia.comUSD 75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 77*
USD 75*
USD 77*
USD 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Wheatsheaf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Wheatsheaf Inn
 Click to rate
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Owners and staff are always very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Lots of bar and restuarant space inside and a great decked area outside which is a bit of a suntrap in the summer. Dogs are always welcome which is great for us, as the pub is situated just at the end of a great walk through Blunts woods.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah A
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, look forward to your next visit now the sun is here.

Haywards Heath
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a lot of our guests in here for our wedding and everyone who stayed was very happy with the accommodation and service. All guests were looked after and we had to make a few amendments nearer the date due to change of guests and the staff were always very helpful in sorting it out. Breakfasts are very popular,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penguin32
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, glad all your hotels guests enjoyed there stay and hope to see them again soon.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Wheatsheaf as we were attending an event in Cuckfield. The pub itself was good and the breakfast and evening food menu was fairly comprehensive. Our room was out of reach of the wifi which was frustrating as there is no mobile phone signal which made arranging to meet friends tricky. The room was pretty standard with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlel3x
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Cuckfield has very poor mobile signal, but we are in the process of upgrading the number of access points in the hotel for better coverage of wifi.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My gripe about this pub is the cost of a room. How can a small room in a pub on a noisy road, half a mile out of Cuckfield, which hasn't been updated for years cost £80? When we booked we were offered a twin at £60 or a double at £80, so we assumed the double must be superior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank readsandtravels
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not totally satisfied with your room. We are in the process of updating the rooms. Thank you of making us aware of these issues.

west sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Had a wonderful family Sunday Lunch recently where the 4 of us had a lovely meal in very pleasant surroundings served piping hot fresh and sourced local produce We could not fault the service in any way and all within the family budget I would recommend the Wheatsheaf to one and all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel S
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks, hope to see you again soon

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Food was fab and the staff were so friendly! They were fab with the kids. My partner is a vegetarian and she was so impressed with what they had to offer on the menu. One of the desserts wasn't liked, nothing wrong with it we just didn't like the taste so they refunded it without us even asking. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
nik c, Owner at Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks Paul, see you soon

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the pub. Rooms were very clean. But incredibly hot which is better than cold but quite hard to get a good nights sleep. We were in the 1st floor at the front and this was noisy due to the traffic. Our relations were on the ground floor and they complained about a strange smell that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kram2233
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Warm atmosphere friendly professional staff with delicious home cooked food at easily affordable prices for any occasion. The pub is also dog friendly and a short walk from the beautiful Cuckfield high street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun K
Cheshire
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were very pleasantly surprised. The room and the inn itself were spotlessly clean. Colour of bathroom a little dated but when it's so clean the colour is irrelevant. As the room faced the street front it would have been helpful to have had blinds or a net curtain to maintain modesty when coming out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazzaCheshire
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent. Due to dietary requirements, I can't eat potatoes but as I was given 6 different vegetables with my meal, all of which were perfectly cooked - I couldn't have asked for more. The food was brought to the table promptly, there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuckfield
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
377 reviews
0.8 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.2 km away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,538 reviews
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
9.9 km away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Broad Street, Cuckfield RH17 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Cuckfield
Price Range: $94 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Cuckfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wheatsheaf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a great place to stop over and have lunch”
12noels, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there are many rooms, but it was nice to find a place with single rooms, as this is becoming a rarity nowadays.”
CraigB300, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a high number 8+ room if you want to avoid the noise from the pub.”
WellingboroughFamily, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms do not have shower, only bath”
Kenya359, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road side.”
JohnP569, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TripAdvisorUSD 75
Toprooms.comUSD 77
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates