We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

I thought after our visit in February 2015 that I could not like The White Swan any more than I already did. I was wrong. We have just returned from the most special stay ever. The stay was to celebrate my birthday on 31 January. We arrived on the 31st ready for a 3 night stay to find that Glenn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Great to read your feedback as it tells me we are getting it right. We will make sure to look after you next year for your 30th birthday :) Glenn

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights in a wet January, so really appreciated the great bar with comfy leather chairs/couches, a warming fire and excellent local beer! We took our dog and he was made really welcome, loving the sausage he got for breakfast! We ate in both nights and the 'bistro' food was very good, but fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Lovely to read your great feedback and i will pass on to the team. Glenn

Birmingham
Reviewed 22 January 2016

The room we stayed in was a big family room with just two of us in so loads of space. Lovely and warm on a very cold winter's day. En-suite due an update but everything worked so can't complain for the price. Had a meal in the restaurant, got exactly what we expected for price point, not bad at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheshirekatx
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. Glenn

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We stayed for one night just after the Christmas break on a Groupon deal.Our room was cold on arrival,a member of staff said the heating wasn't set to come on until 6pm but he did alter the timing so it came on earlier.Included in the deal was a cream tea which wasn't wonderful,the scones were hard and the jam appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VIc440
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Staying in middelham so we thought we would try the white swan. Greated by a very nice guy who showed us to our table. The waiting staff were very good. The food terrible. My wife ordered the pasta, which to be fair was ok but over cooked. I ordered the burger. OKG what a mistake. The roll it was served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal P
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff. I will pass on your feedback to our chefs. Our burgers are made fresh using local beef so i am sad to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. Glenn

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Lovely service from the bar staff & staff on New Year's Eve. For breakfast each morning as we stayed 2 nights was Terrible the lady was hungover both mornings just disgusting if your working with a professional establishment. Breakfast wasn't the best. Rooms need updating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bikerace
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am upset to read your remarks about my breakfast team. I will look into this straight away. Glenn

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We stayed here one night nice welcome booked evening meal very poor service, waited an hour wasn't busy.Ordered fish and chips fish was tiny but I was starving manager was very rude when I told him said I was the only one to complain and was patronising . Breakfast was lovely but couldn't wait to get home wouldn't come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol736833
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you enjoyed most parts of your stay. As the General manager though i do not recall ever saying the line you mentioned. I would greatly appreciate if you would contact me to describe the person who served you. Glenn

hull
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We have stayed at the White Swan before, loved it then - and loved it again. Glen and his team are so welcoming, and professional. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely room looking over the marketplace, with a view of the Castle. The food is excellent, gorgeous breakfast, fresh produce -really good service in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pcthull
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. I will pass on to all the team. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your return visit. See you again soon. P.s The beard has gone! Glenn

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

2 night stay using Groupon voucher. Warm welcome and cream tea (great scones) on arrival. Stayed in Room 17 which we found a little cold on first entering but we were immediately provided with a fan heater by helpful friendly member of staff. Adequate size room with complementary teas/coffees/hot chocolate, overlooking the old Market Square in the centre of Middleham....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david54196
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and great to hear the team looked after you. Also i have passed on your compliments to the chef about the chicken liver starter and our home made shortcrust pies. Wensleydale beer will be happy to hear you enjoyed there beer too! Glenn

Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night at the White Swan and paid £80 for the standard double. The bed was really comfortable and the room had tea and coffee making facility. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were very clean and fresh. The breakfast was lovely especially the sausage and blackpudding. The staff were very friendly and chatty. I would recommend a visit....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer P
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. I will pass on your praise to the team. Look forward to seeing you again. Glenn

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
2.4 km away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
380 reviews
12.1 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
25.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.2 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,255 reviews
0.0 km away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
295 reviews
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Middleham
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Price Range: $83 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room overlooking market square.”
 of 5 bubbles terrydonnelly2002, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“avoid the top floor if you have problem with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles normanparrington, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We booked 9 rooms all were of good quality”
 of 5 bubbles 549GrahamS, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay on the top floor!!!”
 of 5 bubbles davido342, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room at the front of the hotel if you want to see the race horses going up to the gallops.”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay