We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Moorland Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 529: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed here overnight after a Christmas party. Food at the party was very good, especially considering it was a full house. It was hot and tasty. The big let down was the room and breakfast. The room had not been cleaned properly requiring the toilet to be flushed before use! Door to bathroom was dirty. Poor sleep due to some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John3k
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas party, and thank you for your feedback in relation to the food. Please can you contact me in relation to the issues you had with your room as I would like to discuss them with you directly. My e-mail address is gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk Kind regards, Andrew

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely Christmas dinner, the two young girls who served us were incredibly helpful, attentive and friendly whilst still giving us space to enjoy our lunch. They even entertained our little one, and nothing we asked of them was too much, one of the young girls with plaits (I can't remember her name I think it was Emilie) even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lmaccdlbe
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas lunch with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

All in all, the sandwiches, scones and cakes were a delight. So it was a shame that each pot of tea or coffee we had was impossible to pour without it spilling all over the table. A small detail but something that should absolutely be right in order to make this a good afternoon tea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHC20
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea, but was sorry to learn of the issue with the teapot, which I am now in the process of addressing. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Stayed here for a weekend on a special afternoon cream tea and two course meal with stay. Food was very nice and staff were friendly it was very peaceful and had lovely gardens and moorland to explore. Very clean and a good night sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelsea6969
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

London
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed here for a single night ahead of a business meeting at the same venue. Friendly welcome, pleasant room and food. Good breakfast spread and food quality. Good venue for and event or business meeting with gardens which would be lovely in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all elements of your stay with us, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Hampshire
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Friendly hotel, good location, and nice room. Breakfast disappointing with limited buffet and not the best produce. Dinner on the other hand was excellent with good choice and food very well prepared. Gardens are quirky with diverse but not always well maintained artwork, and do not really work for me overall. The hotel looks a little tired but overall will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you found the breakfast buffet to be disappointing, but am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Stoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. The hotel was lovely. Our room was clean and tidy and the shower was brilliant! The staff were lovely and helpful. We didn't eat any meals other than breakfast here but that too was great. Loads of choice. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valiant81
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how friendly and helpful you found the staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I was taken here for afternoon tea today. Absolutely beautiful the food was so fresh & beautifully presented. Plenty of it too.No trouble to top up the teapot.The service was excellent. The grounds stunning. Can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne b
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I would like to thank all of the staff at the Moorland Gardens Hotel especially Laura the wedding co -ordinator, and Lee the master or ceremonies for making our daughter Rebecca and her husband Ross's wedding a fantastic day. Everything was well organised , nothing was too much trouble for them. The wedding breakfast meal was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June L
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that all elements of the wedding went so well, and thank you for particularly mentioning Laura and Lee. I have also enjoyed sharing your feedback with our new Head Chef. I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

I received a voucher for afternoon tea so duly booked supplying the voucher code. The day before I phoned to check the time I had booked for and although I phoned at about 4.30pm no one answered the phone, even the corporate/wedding option gave no reply as well although I was able to leave an answer machine message. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandBev_79
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to receive your recent review. Please contact me by either e-mail on gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk or telephone (01822) 852245, as I would like to discuss the matter with you directly. Kind regards, Andrew

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
427 reviews
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
609 reviews
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tavistock
456 reviews
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
439 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tavistock
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: $109 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“balcony rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles TEAR1978, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea6969, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All quiet as hotel set a little way away from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeA398, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles RobandBev_79, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies have the best views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Garandjaninvan, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5