We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Experience Sussex

Wimbles Foords Lane, Heathfield TN21 9HA England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (51)
Dining (1)
View from Room (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Heathfield
Discover secret Sussex with us, using our local knowledge whilst based at Wimbles' beautiful and tranquil setting. Relax and unwind in the comfortable farmhouse which has unique views over the spring fed lake and gardens. Watch the birds and wildlife from your bed with a backdrop of mature trees and 20 acres of meadowland. Situated in an ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’ in East Sussex near the sea and South Downs National Park we are an hour from central London and the Channel ports.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
27Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
amylovelace wrote a review Aug 2020
maidstone11 contributions3 helpful votes
After booking our week stay at Wimbles Farm I saw some poor reviews on here and was a little worried as the owner was slow to respond to our enquiries. We just returned yesterday, after a week stay on the Cherry Tree pitch by the field and I don’t often write reviews but was compelled this time to balance out the negative reviews. It was lovely. The owner is a busy farmer and the pitches are just pitches (no electric) - so don’t expect anything more. The eco toilets and showers are clean and as expected. A bonus was that our two families had two toilets so we could keep separate. There was a large wooden table with benches and a large fire pit, BBQ, washing station and fresh drinking water point about 50m away. Another bonus was that we had pretty much zero phone signal on our pitch - you have all you need to get back to nature and just enjoy being outdoors! Our kids (7 and 10) literally played with sticks and balls for the whole week - just shows what a week without technology can do... my husband also made a small rope swing nearby. Location is great: 7 minutes car drive to Horam - coop, butchers, local shops. 20 minute walk to cuckoo trail and 20 minute drive to dog friendly Pevensey Bay - where we swam with the seals in the sea. We visited Herstmonceux Castle, Pevensey Castle, Eastbourne sea front (not dog friendly on beach but prom ok for walking) and took a long walk along the coast from Birling Gap. We had to leave a day early to avoid a storm and the kids were sad to go. We hope to return - to finish our adventures!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Frits v wrote a review Aug 2020
Saint-Avit-de-Vialard, France10 contributions1 helpful vote
We (my wife and I) booked a B&B for two nights. Because of Corona we asked a refund. They told us the booking was non-refundable. So when the holiday-dates were there the strict measures were lifted just in time and we went to our holiday-cottage. On the way back to the Netherlands we arrived at the B&B for our two-night stay as booked. Nobody seemed there so we went for dinner in the pub first. After dinner we tried again and there were people. They said they were not expecting us and there B&B was closed. But we could stay in there eco-lodge. This was horrible! No electricity, no toilet (but a plastic bag), no warm water. They gave us some old bread, 6 eggs, two slices of bacon and some products which were out of date. We had to make our own breakfast with these ingrediënts for two days. We did not get a discount/refund of the GBP 170 we paid. It’s realy a place I would never advice anyone to go to. That this place is member of FarmStay is something we don’t understand. Our experience with FarmStay was always perfect till now!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Susan Ramsay-Smith, Owner at Experience Sussex
Responded 2 days ago
Sadly this French couple turned up for their booking (made prior to Covid) despite my response to their email, when they said that their ferry and other accommodation had been cancelled and they presumed we were doing the same - I said we were not open due to Covid restrictions but that I wasn't cancelling the booking as that was up to them, they decided to leave it open and hope that they could come if restrictions lifted. As I heard no more from them I was very surprised when they unexpectedly turned up and we rushed around to prepare them the alternative eco-lodge with compost toilet (yes it is lined with a compostable bag) which they said they were happy to accept at the time. We made the beds with fresh sheets - their picture shows the bed AFTER they have slept in it. We gave them our farm fresh eggs, own grown tomatoes, bacon, milk, tea and frozen bread (no fresh was available) if the coffee bag and cereal pack was past the best before date - then I can only apologise - there just wasn't time to read it in the heat of the moment. I'm very sad that if only they had telephoned prior to their arrival once the restrictions had lifted and they then resumed their plans, all this could have been averted. We have had many happy returning guests in the eco-lodge since and been very satisfied with everything.
Read more
Michelle G wrote a review May 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota47 contributions16 helpful votes
See the English countryside at its finest! Owner/operator Mark provides a first-rate bike tour suited to your needs. My husband is an avid biker. Me, not so much. Yet Mark chose a route that was pleasing to us both. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
MLMills wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution
We stayed here with our two daughters recently. Beautiful setting next to a lake with delicious breakfasts and the kids loved helping with the animals (donkeys, geese, etc.). We even got to take two goose eggs home!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from susanl0uise, Owner at Experience Sussex
Responded 17 Apr 2019
Thanks for staying with us and so glad you all had a great time.
Read more
cfcboy wrote a review Sep 2018
London88 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely loved our stay here. We got upgraded to a bigger pitch that was secluded and had benches, fire place and bbq. The owner Mark was a really nice guy and ever so helpful. We will definitely be booking here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexHeathfield
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Experience Sussex
Which popular attractions are close to Experience Sussex?
Nearby attractions include East Sussex Falconry (7.7 km), Knockhatch Adventure Park (7.6 km), and Urban Jump Trampoline Park (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Experience Sussex?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, free parking, and bicycle rental.
What food & drink options are available at Experience Sussex?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Experience Sussex?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Experience Sussex?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ribs & Co, The Royal Indian, and Pilio.
Are pets allowed at Experience Sussex?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Experience Sussex?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Observatory Science Centre (8.1 km), Alfriston Clergy House (15.8 km), and Bateman's (9.9 km).