We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sun Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sun Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,304: English reviews
Driffield
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed one night midweek arriving on a grey & cold January day to receive a very warm welcome from all the staff. We were shown to our bedroom where everything was explained to us by a delightful young lady. The room was warm & cosy with good quality fittings & bedding etc. We spent the afternoon in the cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulineDriffield
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had some time to relax with your friends in our "cosy bar" I will pass on your comments to our Manager Steve and to the rest of the team. Many thanks Janine

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sun inn. Fabulous place to stay. Staff very helpful. Room clean. Free tea and coffe. Food excellent. Had breakfast and evening meal. Kirby lonsdale beautiful place. Great pubs and walks. Love devils bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley b
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time here with us at the Sun Inn in our lovely market town. Kind regards Sun Inn team

Teesside
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Stayed overnight and was a lovely break away for the weekend. Staff were very friendly and attentive, nothing seems to be a problem - when I explained I couldn't eat the pre-dinner nibble this wasn't an issue and I got a beautiful alternative. It seems to be a very popular place with a relaxed atmosphere so if you're on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJones100
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Ah, I think you must have stayed in our standard room 8! the only room that has the sink in the bedroom. Although all of our rooms are lovely, if you are coming for a few nights we would recommend that you stay in one of our larger rooms that have a bit more space. Thank you so much for...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed just the one night, a Monday, and you know it must be good when you are not on your own. Our room overlooked the church, and was extremely comfortable, clean and tidy, if a little too hot. We did try to turn down the radiator. The bathroom had towels, towelling dressing gowns, complimentary soap, bath/shower gel and moisturiser...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

A wonderful review, thank you so much. The Patchouli and Black Pepper shower gel is my favourite too, I can always tell when someone has had a good soak in the bath and used the 'Bath House' products because they come down for dinner smelling of it. Mmmm !! We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Fantastic place and very dog friendly. Staff were very welcoming. The room was lovely with good facilities and nice touches ...tea/ coffee, biscuits, water, shower gel. And for the dog a bowl, treats and a towel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen B
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We hope you can visit us again soon. Kind regards Janine

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Just spent a delightful 2 days here. All the staff that we came across were extremely friendly and efficient and the food is superb - we booked the January mid-week DBB option and we both agreed that the food would be hard to beat at a much more expensive restaurant. The flavours were extremely rich and tasty and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichaelDewhirst
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you ever so much for taking the time to write this about your recent stay! We are so pleased at how much you enjoyed your stay, not only here at the Sun Inn but also in the town itself. It certainly is a dog friendly area, where you can be spoiled by choice of walks...

Reviewed 13 January 2017

Returned to the Sun Inn after a good many years and realised that we should have come back sooner. Good welcome. Very comfortable accommodation but the food was an unexpected highlight. Amazing varieties of tastes and textures fo all courses. Dinner on both nights was exceptional. Will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much. The time and effort that goes into the menu is extraordinary and so when our guests enjoy every bit of it, it certainly makes everything so worth while. We are looking forward to your next visit. Warm wishes Hannah

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The Sun Inn is a great place to relax and unwind. With fabulous food, very comfortable rooms and excellent friendly service, there's so much to like! Steve ensured we felt like valued guests and nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. A big highlight is the food - it's delicious! Our only regret was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea B
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, what a lovely review, thank you so much! Secondly, it was my pleasure to look after you with the rest of the team. I will inform the kitchen of how much you enjoyed the food, particularly the breakfast, which unfortunately you were unable to linger over! Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Steve

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The Sun Inn was recommended to us and we had an enjoyable weekend for our daughters 18th birthday. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the service and food was very good. Think definitely a great place to stay if you own a dog.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GELLY46
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that the whole family enjoyed the special weekend with us to celebrate your daughters birthday. It was our pleasure to look after you all. We do hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hannah

Brisbane
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Had a lovely quiet dinner for two. They have an interesting and inventive menu. Friendly service and cosy atmosphere. We had wanted a bar menu as we didn't want to spend too much but were showed into the restaurant. We spent more than we had wanted but weren't disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric v
SunInnKirkbyLonsdale, General Manager at Sun Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our a la carte menu. We hope to see you again in the future. Kid regards, Hannah

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Lonsdale
1.6 km away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,036 reviews
28.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
25.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
439 reviews
1.5 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
193 reviews
0.1 km away
Plato's
Plato's
#2 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The five star Sun Inn in the heart of Kirkby Lonsdale offers a luxury blend of old and new; traditional Lake District warmth of a 17th century inn with flag stone and oak floors, old beams and roaring log fires combined with stylish contemporary restaurant and deluxe hotel bedrooms. Situated on the edge of the Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Forest of Bowland, it is accessible to some of Englands finest scenery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Address: 6 Market Street, Kirkby Lonsdale LA6 2AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Kirkby Lonsdale
Price Range: $133 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Kirkby Lonsdale
Sun Inn Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
11 days ago
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the large room at the front of the hotel. Very comfortable. Lots of space.”
 of 5 bubbles 222gail25, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any of the 11 rooms are worthy of selection.”
 of 5 bubbles jwith, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ear plugs provided for church facing rooms, but we didn't need them.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthamD183QA, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We've stayed in several rooms and liked them all!”
 of 5 bubbles 849ericp, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were overlooking the Church and it was DEAD quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AlexLlewellyn, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5