We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliff House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,441: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great view, fantastic restaurant, and lovely rooms. Ardmore itself is a quiet village, but has a nice strand for a walk. The hotel is not terribly big, so for that reason cosy. There are 4 levels of room, we had the 3rd one which is a 2 floor type loft room. Very nice. The shower is... More 

Helpful?
Thank patrock b
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted with a pleasant smile and welcome, We were brought to our room and thank God as we went up a lift; down another around this corner around another corner and finally our room. But it was worth it a beautiful view in a pleasant sunny evening in Ireland. The room was was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin L Thank you for visiting us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service all around with breathtaking views. Quality bedding and cleanliness through out. I cannot fault this hotel. The room has all essentilas needed, and the over sized bath was a pleasant suprise.

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux

Helpful?
Thank S6079FSamyd
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S6079FSamyd Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent only one night at this hotel. Our room has ocean view !! It was really amazing ! There are full of amenities in the room,for example shampoo,conditioner,slippers..everything we need is in ten room ! Room service is also nice. The dinner in the hotel is beautiful ! We promise to come back hopefully in next summer <3 Especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rie T
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rie T Thank you so much for your very kind review - we are delighted that you will be coming back <3!! Until then, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Once you stay at the Cliff House, evey other hotel, regardless of how many stars it has, will feel like nothing in comparison to this corner of Paradise in Waterford. An amazingly welcoming staff will make you feel like you're a King or a Queen, and the amenities will make you want to stay for ever in here!! highly recommended:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matiab77
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matiab77 Wow - what a great review! Thank you so much - my team will be delighted to read them. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your return some time soon, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Both the Hotel and Restaurant are excellent and a very high quality. The Bar food however is of such a low standard, that it would seem as if it is run by someone completely different. Service in the Bar for drinks is also very poor. Went there for a drink after dinner and had to wait a long time before... More 

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux

Helpful?
Thank 951ellene
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 951ellene Thank you for your comments and apologies for your disappointment in the bar. We will make sure these are attended to immediately. Until the next time hopefully Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were greeted in a very friendly manner the staff at the front desk are lovely. We were told our room wasn't ready but that we had received a complimentary upgrade which we were thrilled with. We did tell the lady we had treatments booked in for 3 pm so we would need access to our luggage at some point... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindymul
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lindymul Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate them and will take note of your particular observations. Feedback is most welcome. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back some day,. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything, from the surroundings, cleanliness, food to the staff was simply superb! Had one of the best hot stone massages ever- and that's a true compliment from me being a spa addict. Had dinner in the bar- splendid service and food was delicious. Barman was great at preparing my Gin & Tonic exactly as I wanted... highly recommended. Hoping to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spygle
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spygle Thank you so much for your very kind review - glad that you were well looked after. Looking forward to welcoming you back some time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was over there for the meal experience. food was very tasty and recommended this place: 1. food was delicious 2. place was beautiful with ocean view 3. I will be return against they have parking and staff are knowledge, explain and help you...

Helpful?
Thank Armands C
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Armands C Thank you for visiting and we are glad that you will be back soon some day - we very much look forward to it. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived to our departure our stay in the Cliff House Hotel was fabulous. The sea views from all areas - the bar, our room, the swimming pool and outdoor Jacuzzi were fantastic. The staff could not have looked after us any better than they did. I would highly recommend a stay here and am looking forward... More 

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan B Thank you so much - it was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you back again soon. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager More 

912 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (594)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (229)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
24.2 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,484 reviews
0.9 km away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
70 reviews
17.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
272 reviews
18.4 km away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
292 reviews
9.6 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Price Range: $274 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A Room with A View”
 of 5 bubbles kevinlF6660JM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the sea-view room”
 of 5 bubbles Matiab77, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is possible to Ask for a kettle instead of coffee maker in room. ”
 of 5 bubbles dagnijao, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 6th floor have the best sea view”
 of 5 bubbles chips333, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have sea views - we had the cheapest room and it was really good, big bed, big bathroom and fabulous views - maybe if you visit in the summer you might opt for a balcony or terrace room. Only thing I would comment on was our room was on the top floor and the water pressure for the shower was abit iffy at times. We are already planning our next visit!”
 of 5 bubbles 113nickyr, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay