We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
galway, ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

stayed here for one night during the week its a nice hotel, rooms are basic but nice and clean the tv is one of those old style box tvs and the reception isnt great there is no safe the food there was very good and theres a fine big pool there also with lockers that take one euro coins, dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mailburner
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. With feedback from our customers we can improve both standards and service. We are in the process of redecorating some of our bedrooms at the moment. We are delighted you enjoyed our leisure facilities during your stay. Please let me know if you are visiting the area again and I...

Wicklow, IE
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Very good bedroom. Really quiet and very comfortable bed. Reception experience was very good. Room key ready and wifi code Breakfast was very good in a nice bright dining room All the staff I met were very helpful Plenty of cat parking. Will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy_IE
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass our good comments to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Warm regards, Elaine.

Reviewed 31 October 2015

Bedrooms in need of a refurbishment. Check under the mattress if you are looking for a good nights sleep. Unfortunately an unpleasant find under the mattress meant my wife had a very bad nights sleep. When she brought it to the attention of reception we were surprised with how poorly it was handled. We stayed as we were guests of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B G
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The item that you refer to in your review was a bottle. It was seemingly placed there by a previous guest. For some reason it went undetected by our housekeeping staff before your arrival. We investigated the matter thoroughly and retraining with the relevant personnel has been carried out. We...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Went here for a night with a group of 4 families (inc children). We were well looked after and the staff were very good (especially the bar staff). The hotel was clean, food was good and the swimming pool was perfectly adequate. The hotel itself is in need of a bit of TLC but no complaints

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmunro
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey. Hopefully we will welcome you and your family back in the future. Warm regards, Elaine.

Roscommon
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Went to Abbey Hotel for a bite to eat, with my family and as always it was beautiful, lovely & comfortable and great staff, i had the traditional fish & chips & it was just gorgeous, will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharronf044
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review the Abbey Hotel. We are delighted you and your family enjoy the hotel. Yes, the fish and chips is a very good choice. see you soon again. Warm regards, Elaine.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We have been staying at the Abbey annually since we had our wedding reception 9 years ago. We have always enjoyed our stay as a couple and as a family. You can not beat the selection at breakfast, the staff are always friendly and accommodating and we always have a swim during our stay. We have had food from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you and your family had a really enjoyable stay with us. I will pass your fantastic comments to our Head Chef and his team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again next year. Warm regards, Elaine.

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

From arrival to departure this was a very pleasant experience. The hotel was clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed using the leisure facilities and restaurant. Thoroughly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Warm regards, Elaine.

Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2015

With my wife I stayed in the Abbey Hotel, from Saturday 17th October to Monday 19th. Check in was seamless, and the room and bathroom were larger that usual. It had tea/coffee making facilities, and a safe, and was very comfortable and clean. However we intended to have a dinner but found the bar menu limited and expensive. Naturally we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
abbeyhotel3, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. It is a pity you did not dine with us as our food is fantastic. We are launching a new bar food menu in the coming weeks which will have options for everyone. Perhaps if you are back in the...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I stayed at The Abbey on a Sunday night at the start of October. From arrival l could see that it was very busy for Sunday lunch always a good sign. The staff were so friendly and helpful from Reception to the dining room and bar. This was the best evening meal l have had for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieran M
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kieran Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I will pass your kind words to the team hear at the Abbey Hotel. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Elaine.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Stayed here for one night with the hubby. I must say we really enjoyed our stay. The entrance has a wow factor. Inside had an old world charm. The check in was a breeze and staff were so nice. Room was huge and had a bottle of bubbly and chocolates waiting for us. Had lovely shower gel and shampoo and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prendep2016
abbeyhotel3, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Abbey Hotel. We are delighted you had a nice stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest regards, Elaine.

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
1.8 km away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
201 reviews
28.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,736 reviews
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
205 reviews
22.4 km away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
25.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The family run 4* Abbey Hotel located on the Galway Road in Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Castle Style Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambiance described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The 4* Abbey Hotel boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the hotel offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Guests can avail of free and unlimited accces to our Diamond White Flag award winning Leisure Centre which boasts a 20m Indoor heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, plunge pool and Fully Equipped state of the Art Gymnasium and Treatment Room. We are also proud winners of the prestigious Restaurant Association of Ireland Award for Best Hotel Restaurant in County Roscommon (Connaught Winners) for 2014/15. This family run property is the ideal location for your relaxing family break with our complimentary supervised kids club available during the school mid –term breaks and holidays. Our RAI Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the ancient Dominican Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, all made from fresh locally sourced produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation by our dedicated team of chefs. Centrally located in the heart of the Midlands, 90 minutes from Dublin and Westport and under an hour from Galway and Sligo, the hotel is easily accessible by rail and bus and there is also a Heli Pad on the property for those who choose to travel in style. Those travelling on business can avail of our comprehensive conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s vast private gardens, and magnificent bridal suite beautifully appointed Ballroom and banqueting facilities.We are also a fully licensed Civil Ceremony Venue. The Award Winning Abbey Hotel, Roscommon ~ hosting events and weddings of distinction since 1963. ~ John Drennan, Journalist Irish Independent " The Abbey is a real gem of a hotel in Roscommon" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road, Roscommon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Price Range: $106 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Tuam, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin,Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in 30's seem to be rundown, old, smelly and noisy. Ask to be in the new area of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles daniellenrogers, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles doveandhawk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not stay in room 49”
 of 5 bubbles jill433, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The older part of the hotel might not be so easy if you are disabled but the newer wing is fine, with a lift. The rooms facing the old ruined Abbey are usually quieter if there is a wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles Aldebertsue, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had room67”
 of 5 bubbles cathy705, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5