We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Glencarn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Glencarn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Group of us recently stayed here, great food, comfortable rooms and fantastic staff! Breakfast was cooked to order and bar food was excellent! Country music dance was great fun too! Will definitely be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mc_Eire
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Never pass here without stopping for a steak ..... fabulous tasty food and great staff ....place has had a revamp too and looks class.... just love here ....keep up the good work .... DO NOT PASS HERE WITHOUT TRYING THEIR STEAKS

Helpful?
1 Thank Princesscoco21
N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here twice within a couple of months. Great Friday night big band music and dancing. Had food I the restaurant and bar, both excellent. Rooms are spotless and warm. Breakfast is very substantial and the staff are excellent all very helpful and friendly. Will definately be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Strangford
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed a few weeks ago with my elderly mother and special needs brother, we had a great room, there was no heating on, the first night we were there! The room was freezing...........we complained the next day, and we were told that there was a' problem with the boiler' and fair enough we had lovely heat for the rest... More 

Helpful?
Thank mobhi
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , my sincerest apologies in relation to the heating problem we experienced at the time of your visit . I am delighted to hear your kind comments on our food -- we appreciate this very much . I hope you will stay with us again , if so please refer to this experience and you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I stayed in the Glencarn Hotel a few weeks ago and I have to say it has been one of the nicest breaks we have had in a long time. From the moment we walked in the door to be greeted by the friendliest reception girls ever we just had a great weekend. All the staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymakers5556
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind and warm review of the Glencarn hotel & all our staff , this means so much to us all . I am delighted you were impressed with our food and the girls at reception getting a special mention . thank you again and I hope it wont be long until we get the opportunity to... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We celebrated a family birthday at the Glencarn in August of this year. As there were so many of us who wanted to stay at the hotel, as well as holding a function there, I booked the hotel over a year in advance. From the very first email to the moment we left the hotel after an extremely enjoyable weekend,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MAK040
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your warm and kind review , this means so much to all our staff . thank you for the five star rating . you so aptly described the Glencarn hotel as we would want it to be for all our customers experience . thank you again ,it was our pleasure to look after you all and we... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I booked 3 rooms at the Glencarn hotel. I double room and two twin rooms for single occupancy. Total cost: €390 for 4 people. We had a very unsatisfactory and disappointing experience during our stay. We travelled from Cork to attend a funeral in Castleblayney. The level of noise and disruption throughout the entire night prevented us from getting any... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover353
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , I will not add insult to injury except to say I offer my own profound apology . as you are aware from the fact that the booking did come through bookings . com we had no way of knowing that you were here on a very sad occasion . I am aware that both... More 

Achill Island, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Attended a wedding in this hotel, this past weekend. Due to one thing and another, we arrived at the hotel with nowhere to sleep. Have to say, Rosie took full control of "our mess" and 300% delivered. She was/is an absolute gem, a true professional, Patience of "jobe" :) and most importantly of all, one of the friendliest receptionist's I've... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gill1137
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind and warm review and especially for your appreciation of " Rosie " she was over the moon . I was at the desk when she dealt with your problem . thank you also for your kind comments about the wedding meal , on behalf of all our staff we appreciate this very much . we... More 

Buncrana, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Booked in for a few days midweek to use the pool and leisure facilities only to find out on our arrival that they were closed for renovations. We should have been told this when booking. Staff nice and the food good

Helpful?
Thank Stephen Q
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for review , I am so sorry that our leisure facilities had to be closed at very short notice due to repairs that had to be carried out and also for health and safety . there was no way of knowing that this was going to happen when you made your booking . with that said I hope... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a deal but unfortunately the leisure facilities were out of order. The hotel compensated us by giving us dinner on the second night. The staff were absolutely wonderful - knowledgeable, courteous, welcoming and friendly. Will definitely be back. The only down side was the view of the adjacent rooftop.

Helpful?
2 Thank Awarding
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review - unfortunately our leisure centre had to be closed at very short notice for essential maintainence . I am delighted that our staff looked after you all so well . I hope you can visit us soon again and enjoy all our facilities . on behalf of all our staff thank you . kind regards... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleblayney
19.8 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
9.9 km away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
176 reviews
24.1 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
192 reviews
20.5 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
204 reviews
24.0 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#4 of 8 in Dundalk
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renowned for good food, friendly service & lively entertainment - a warm welcome awaits you at the Glencarn hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glencarn Hotel

Address: Monaghan Road, Castleblayney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Castleblayney
Price Range: $132 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Glencarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glencarn Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Scotland
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Glencarn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in room Nos 65, 66. Avoid at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles Travellover353, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large & Sunny”
 of 5 bubbles marymallon3, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ring to ask for room at the s there is a function room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles S3315AVcarolineb, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 70 is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaG683, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Would like room at front next time with bath”
 of 5 bubbles ritadZ9990DU, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay