We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glencarn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Glencarn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently attended the front lounge for some dinner. Waited 50 minutes for food with no update, my partner proceeded to ask a man with white hair and a suit who was acting as a manager in the bar, he asked the older man how much longer it would be and if he thought 50 minutes was a decent amount of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reecie M
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review concerning The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre. We take great pride in the customer service skills of our staff; therefore I am gravely distressed by the unfavourable opinion formed during your recent visit and in order to clarify and take the appropriate action I would appreciate if you contacted either myself or my colleague Melissa...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hadn't been to this hotel in over 20 years and to be honest not a lot has changed but twenty years ago the décor would have been modern but twenty years on the décor is dated.room as requested was bright and airy but in need of renovations a.bed was very comfortable windows wouldn't close tight and there was a. lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wbyeates1
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre. We certainly take on board your comments regarding the decor in our bedrrooms. Over the last year The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre has undergone extensive refurbishment in the Temple Bar, lobby and the conference & banqueting suites. We are also currently drawing up plans for the Restaurant...

Monaghan
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We attended a very special wedding here and I was very impressed. The venue had to cater for a very large number of wedding guests and the food was excellant. Everything arrived hot and the beef was delicious. There bar area is perfect if you wanted a break from the wedding band or a chat. Would recommend to any bride...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank McQuaid
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed the occasion and that the food was so delicious. We will convey your comments to the Head Chef and the kitchen team, and we look forward to your next visit to The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre.

Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Group of us recently stayed here, great food, comfortable rooms and fantastic staff! Breakfast was cooked to order and bar food was excellent! Country music dance was great fun too! Will definitely be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mc_Eire
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Glencarn Hotel & Leisure Centre, and we are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here. I will pass on your comments to our hard-working and friendly staff and we look forward to providing you with the same level of hospitality on your next stay with us. Alan Reeves Manager

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Never pass here without stopping for a steak ..... fabulous tasty food and great staff ....place has had a revamp too and looks class.... just love here ....keep up the good work .... DO NOT PASS HERE WITHOUT TRYING THEIR STEAKS

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Princesscoco21
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our food, particularly the steaks, and the staff of The Glencarn Hotel. Our Head Chef sources top quality local produce and takes great pride in the standard of food served. I will convey your comments to our staff and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to The Glencarn Hotel &...

N Ireland
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Stayed here twice within a couple of months. Great Friday night big band music and dancing. Had food I the restaurant and bar, both excellent. Rooms are spotless and warm. Breakfast is very substantial and the staff are excellent all very helpful and friendly. Will definately be back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Strangford
GlencarnHotel1, Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the food, music and dancing on your recent stay The Glencarn. I will convey your praise to our wonderful staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Glencarn Hotel on your next visit. Alan Reeves Manager

dublin
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I stayed a few weeks ago with my elderly mother and special needs brother, we had a great room, there was no heating on, the first night we were there! The room was freezing...........we complained the next day, and we were told that there was a' problem with the boiler' and fair enough we had lovely heat for the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mobhi
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , my sincerest apologies in relation to the heating problem we experienced at the time of your visit . I am delighted to hear your kind comments on our food -- we appreciate this very much . I hope you will stay with us again , if so please refer to this experience and you...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2016

My Husband and I stayed in the Glencarn Hotel a few weeks ago and I have to say it has been one of the nicest breaks we have had in a long time. From the moment we walked in the door to be greeted by the friendliest reception girls ever we just had a great weekend. All the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidaymakers5556
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind and warm review of the Glencarn hotel & all our staff , this means so much to us all . I am delighted you were impressed with our food and the girls at reception getting a special mention . thank you again and I hope it wont be long until we get the opportunity to...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We celebrated a family birthday at the Glencarn in August of this year. As there were so many of us who wanted to stay at the hotel, as well as holding a function there, I booked the hotel over a year in advance. From the very first email to the moment we left the hotel after an extremely enjoyable weekend,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAK040
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your warm and kind review , this means so much to all our staff . thank you for the five star rating . you so aptly described the Glencarn hotel as we would want it to be for all our customers experience . thank you again ,it was our pleasure to look after you all and we...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I booked 3 rooms at the Glencarn hotel. I double room and two twin rooms for single occupancy. Total cost: €390 for 4 people. We had a very unsatisfactory and disappointing experience during our stay. We travelled from Cork to attend a funeral in Castleblayney. The level of noise and disruption throughout the entire night prevented us from getting any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travellover353
fionapatrick, General Manager at The Glencarn Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , I will not add insult to injury except to say I offer my own profound apology . as you are aware from the fact that the booking did come through bookings . com we had no way of knowing that you were here on a very sad occasion . I am aware that both...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleblayney
19.8 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
21.0 km away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
24.1 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Monaghan
206 reviews
24.2 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#4 of 8 in Dundalk
190 reviews
16.2 km away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carrickmacross
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renowned for good food, friendly service & lively entertainment - a warm welcome awaits you at the Glencarn hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glencarn Hotel

Address: Monaghan Road, Castleblayney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Monaghan > Castleblayney
Price Range: $130 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glencarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glencarn Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Scotland
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Glencarn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleep at the back if U don't want noisy traffic”
 of 5 bubbles Wbyeates1, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room Nos 65, 66. Avoid at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles Travellover353, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large & Sunny”
 of 5 bubbles marymallon3, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ring to ask for room at the s there is a function room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles S3315AVcarolineb, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 70 is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaG683, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay