We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ork

Hotels.comUSD 294*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Ork
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Ork
 Click to rate
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We didn't stay here but decided to go for dinner because we didn't like restaurant Varma and the service at Frost and Fire was not great. This was one of our favorite meals in Iceland and not as expensive as others! They have a happy hour which will save on drinks. My son had the burger and loved it I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mwaight5
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear mwaight5, Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted to know that you & and your son enjoyed the food at HVER Restaurant - your feedback is highly appreciated. We hope that we can welcome you back soon! Best wishes, HVER Restaurant team

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed one night while driving around Iceland. When we got there no one in reception after ten minutes he turned up after asking at the bar. Room ok very dated but at least clean. Shower over the bath but water pressure excellent. Wifi bad gave up in the end liked the tea facility in the room. They have happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBYN B
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear ROBYN B, Thank you for your review and for choosing hotel Örk. We are sorry to read that not everything during your stay was to your fullest satisfaction. We are normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark. We would like to thank you for the kind words regarding the food...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Spent 2 nights here. Food was excellent at the attached restaurant Hver. The game room had table tennis, pool and chess which my children enjoyed very much. The water slides were "awesome" according to my kids. My wife and I enjoyed the hotter of the 2 hot tubs and met some very nice folks from France and the UK. Id...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear Joel B, What a nice review :) Thank you for kind words. We are delighted that you & your family had such a great stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warm regards, hotel Örk team

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

So I came here with my school and the conditions here are appalling, the staff are rude and scarcely available, and the food is sub par at best. As we arrived at the front we were greeted with a very fancy lobby where the only option to enter was the revolving door which 23 of us had to use at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattia F
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear Mattia F, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at hotel Örk. Please accept our apologies that your experience has not been up to the standard you expected. We are also sorry if the room was not what you expected. It would have been no problem to ask the reception for an upgrade. We...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

If you are thirsting for a trip back to the 70's at a place that is unmaintained partially clean with casually poor service. This one is for you. They seem to have spent a lot of money and effort on the foyer and their logo's but forgot they are a hotel and not a stable. Prepare to have the mood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael K
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear Raphael k, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to read about your experience with your stay and we do apologize that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Guests often ask why the hot...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is horrible, dirty and loud. Avoid. The rooms were dirty and smelly with old carpets all around the floor that looked like they had been there for decades and smelled the part. During the night we barely slept as there was so much noice and fuss all around partly because all these school groups apparently are using this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katerina M
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear katerina M, Thank you for taking the time to review hótel Örk. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your stay and we take it very seriously as we always aim to improve our service and customer experience. The smell you are describing, is most likely of the natural occurrence which is the sulphur...

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Did a tour with Iceland Travel and ended up staying here for one night. Smelly service--- The worker at the front desk was very unfriendly. I simply asked about how to turn on the TV because pushing the power button did nothing. I was met with attitude! I also asked how to call the front desk as the phone only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June P
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear June P, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at hotel Örk. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your stay. At hótel Örk, we strive to provide a warm and friendly service for all our guests and accommodate them in every way possible, therefore your feedback is very important to us....

San Mateo, California
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Ork for our first night in Iceland and were happy. It's convenient (we drove straight from the airport after flying all night and didn't have a problem), it's easy to find...And we were enthused to discover that we had arrived just as happy hour started...Serendipity! Jose - the front desk manager - did a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear Dan K, Thank you for so much for the lovely review. We are delighted to receive your praises :) Great to know you were happy with your stay and we are looking forward seeing you again soon! All the best, hotel Örk crew

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on our south coast trip. Large hotel but felt friendly and homely. Room has all the usual facilities and is clean and spacious. Breakfast excellent in pleasant surroundings. They encourage you to make up a packed lunch from the breakfast bar for a small fee - very useful and more hotels should do it. Good views. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger_and_Kate
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear Roger_and_Kate, Thank you so much for the lovely review and for your stay. We are delighted to read that your stay was a great one :) We look forward to having you back again soon! Kind regards, hotel Örk team

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We came for a 2 night stay for my boyfriends 40th birthday. The hotel entrance is fully refurbished and modern. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel room was huge and had great views of the golf course. Only 45 mins from Reykjavik by car. Heated pool and sauna.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Ork, responded to this review

Dear anonymous, Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay - we are glad to know that you were satisfied with your stay :) Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back some time. All the best, hotel Örk crew

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hveragerdi
1.1 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
590 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
183 reviews
12.2 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Hotel Hlid
Hotel Hlid
#1 of 1 in Olfuss
82 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
380 reviews
31.0 km away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Örk is a first class hotel located in the hot spring capital of Iceland, Hveragerdi. The hotel has 85 rooms with good amenities. At the hotel there is an outdoor swimming pool, two hot tubs and a geo thermal sauna. We also have a beauty parlour, a pool table and a ping pong table. HVER Restaurant is a newly opened restaurant at Hotel Örk that offers a la carte menu with delicious courses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ork

Address: Breidamoerk 1, Hveragerdi 810, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hveragerdi
Price Range: $212 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ork 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ork Hotel Hveragerdi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ork staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ork staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room on Northern side offered a perfect view of Northern Lights”
  • Northern lights from our room
  • Northern lights from our room
igorg255, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from school groups.”
677tw, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Clean and very comfortable,great outside view of the country side”
ronmaislin, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our 4th floor room was quiet and had a nice view over the golf course. There is plenty of free parking”
Westerham, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good rooms no matter where you are!!”
286markc286, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 294* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUSD 504
TripAdvisorUSD 293
PricelineUSD 301
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates