We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
The Bird In Hand Country Inn
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bird In Hand Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 365: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

very nice location old style place room was very basic door did not seem secure very flimsy lock, bar area nice dinner service bit disjointed not sure if staff coma and take order or you have to go to bar and order. cooked breakfast was ok but the menu read real nice for continental but alas was barren of 70%...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank garykP1245EM
Management response:

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are a traditional pub and all food and drinks orders are done at the bar. We are also starting refurbishment works on the 30th January, where we will be updating 15 bedrooms and all public areas. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your breakfast with us....

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends. Very quiet only two other tables occupied, but it was Monday lunchtime. Comfy chairs , cosy log fire, big parking area easily accessible on the A4. Good pub food, reasonably varied menu, most mains dishes priced at £11.95 which is not bad but portions could be a bit larger for the price with additional vegetables....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable lunch and I've taken notes about your comments about the portion size. We will be reviewing our menu soon and will discuss portion sizes at the same time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jurgens Nienaber

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in for an early dinner. We were the only people in the bar and they told us that they could not put any music on, so we sat in an otherwise silent bar. We could hear the bar staff chatting and they could hear us - a bit off putting. Only had Wadworth on draft, good beer but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SBBry
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are now a Managed House, under Wadworth and as such, we have all their Ales on Draught. We are planning a refurbishment at the end of January when the issues above will be dealt with. If you have any other concerns, do not hesitate to contact me for assistance....

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Met friends for supper, food was very good and well presented but service was slow. Asked for dessert menus twice, bill twice, would still try again. Recommend stroganoff, fish was good but didn't go for dessert. Very quiet in the dining area but was a Monday evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supersue1691
Management response:

Hi Sue, Thank you for your review and I am glad you had an enjoyable experience. Hopefully with our refurb plans, in the New Year, Monday evenings will be a bit busier. Jurgens Nienaber

London
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Spent just one night as a family with a baby. Turned out we had booked the wrong date and they had as down for a month earlier and thought we hadn't shown and charged us then. Didn't make any fuss, just booked us in for that night (luckily they had a room) and didn't charge us for the actual night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
Management response:

Hi Tanya, Thank you for your lovely review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Jurgens Nienaber

Knowl Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Situated on the A4 the Bird in Hand is a proper country pub with a warm welcome. The food has always been great, good size portion and arrives steaming hot. Service has always been very good and there's a lovely warm atmosphere. A nice array of clientele visit the pub, and a very relaxed atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
Cas350, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Louise for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Caroline Shone

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Once again the food was great the bar staff and kitchen staff were right on. Dinner cooked, and seasoned perfectly. Portion size was grate as well. As it is cool outside the temp in the restaurant and pub was perfect without a coat, we will return again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
Cas350, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Caroline Shone

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We usually visit mid-afternoon for our late Sunday lunches here and this was the same today. The bar area was quite empty but enough tigers for a bit of atmos. The beef and lamb were both lean, tender and tasty and the accompanying vegs good. A good selection of beers at the bar too. We'll be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
Cas350, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Henry. Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed another Sunday lunch with us. Mid - afternoon is actually a good time to come as the main lunchtime was rather busy. Caroline Shone

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This place is just off the main road, but located a ten to fifteen minute drive from Henley or Maidenhead. It's a very homely inn; the room we had was in the courtyard so we could take our dog. It was nicely decorated and had everything we needed. The bar had a fire, and was really cosy. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemma l
Cas350, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you had a nice experience. I note your comment about the booking and will look into this. Caroline Shone

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A three night stay was well worth it. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the food excellent We had out dog with us and the staff could not do enough to make us welcome. Breakfast was taken in the bar so we could have him with us instead of putting him in the car. Bowls of water and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
Cas350, Owner at The Bird In Hand Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. The staff are all dog lovers which is lucky as I have one too! Caroline Shone

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (188)
Viewed
Luxury Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Double (31)
Viewed
Standard Twin (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Windsor Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knowl Hill
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
5.7 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
198 reviews
11.6 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#7 of 32 in Reading
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
180 reviews
10.5 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,119 reviews
7.1 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Bird In Hand Country Inn

Address: Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead > Knowl Hill
Price Range: $164 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bird In Hand Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Bird In Hand Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird In Hand Country Hotel Reading
Reading Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bird In Hand Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are romantic and steeped in history...”
 of 5 bubbles garylomas, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for any re-furbished room until all done.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They offer some very nice rooms, for instance some friends stayed in the Robin room, they said it was very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 181tinab, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The suites are very nice and have air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles luvdogs703, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 fab family room. The George the third suite is fantastic for couples or special occasions”
 of 5 bubbles cathymc76, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5