We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Martina's Place Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Martina\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Martina's Place Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We stayed at Martina's for a longer stay and we don't have anything to complain about. Martina was so helpful arranging transportation and knowledge of the area. Its a perfect location, near the beach and the town without the noise or interesting characters of Drake. We met lovely guests in the common kitchen area. When we return to Drake to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell V
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! We really appreciate it!

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time staying in Martinas Hostel. We booked a private double room. The location of the hostel is great and everything you need is close. The shared bathrooms, the room and the kitchen were clean and tidy. We booked the tour to the San Pedrillo station in the Corcovado NP via Martina. It was good however next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

thank you so much for this great review! I am very happy to have such a good staff working with me :-)

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very nice, friendly and helpful.. we had a great time and we stayed in all the different rooms! Martina was very helpful, booking tours and giving advice on good walking tracs. We met so e great people in the common area..where you can cook, eat and order food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a dorm here before an overnight tour to Corcovado. Martina knows everything about the village and was really very helpful when I planned my stay (not the least transport to and from which is a little complicated). Good food on site! I booked an overnight trip to Corcovado (Sirena station) through the hostel and I couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swevet
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it!

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I recommand this place ! There have everything you need (kitchen, cold and hot shower, restaurant, nice staff,..) Martina welcome us with a big smile and help us a lot to organise our trip in Costa Rica. She help us booking snorkeling to Cano island and Corcovado park (with a great guide, named Everest) =) Thank to you we kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c_kawong
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review! Martina, Staff, Lucy and Bruno :-)

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed with Martina over Christmas. We've been travelling for a year and a half, mostly by bicycle, and this place stands out as one of my favourites. If you're a naturalist out of your home range or otherwise a lover of plants and critters, Martina has a mitt full of natural history guides (birds, plants, reptiles, amphibians etc.) you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Debbie for this great review! You guys are amazing, I am glad you stopped by our hostel! Pura vida, Martina

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed three nights at Martina's Hostel this December. The location is unbeatable, since it is accessible by road (unlike many of Bahia Drake's other lodgings), walking distance from the beach (5 mins) and a stone's throw (50 yards) from the town's two "supermarkets". (Note that the main beach at Drake Bay isn't very nice for swimming or boogie boarding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrisShankar
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Kris and familiy for this outstanding review! It was such a pleasure having you here! Martina & Hostel Team.

VA
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed in the honeymoon cabin. It was a nice, basic room for a fair price. There was hot water, Martina and the front desk workers were wonderful. I'd stay again! One thing to keep in mind is that it gets a bit noisy fairly early in the morning starting around 5 AM due to the surrounding wildlife and many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ekjj2012
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review!

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We were 2 couples who shared a convenient family room. Martina was very helpful,organised and flexibly altered our disrupted plans with consummate ease. On a very wet dark arrival, the arranged taxi ride up the short hill was a god send and Martina's welcome and information top notch. We least liked the small kitchen, but there was safe drinking water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher57
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! It was a pleasure having you here!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Firstly, the staff is very nice. We got welcomed as the boat arrived and shown the way to the hostel. The setting with the garden is super nice and the kitchen well equipped. The room itself was a bit dark and had a damp smell. The latter is maybe quite hard to overcome in this climate, though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbieri
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! With 2 month permanent rain and 90% humidity its hard to not have a smell in the rooms...sorry about that...come back in dry season :-)

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
471 reviews
1.2 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
2.7 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
170 reviews
0.1 km away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 18 in Drake Bay
183 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 18 in Drake Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Martina's Place Hostel in Drake Bay -Clean hostel with familiar atmosphere -2 min. to beach and supermarkets -All Tours to Corcovado, Cano Island and around Drake Bay -Big fully equipped kitchen for self cooking -Free coffee & tea, oil, salt and sugar. -Small restaurant for breakfast and dinner. -Hot water showers -WiFi -Hammocks -Free parking -Free luggage store Martina's Place is located in the center of Agujitas, which is usually called Drake Bay. It is 2 minutes to the beach and around the corner are supermarkets, restaurants, bakeries and an ice-cream place. You can cook in our big kitchen and sit, chat and eat in our roofed patio. There is also a small restaurant on the properties. A guitar is waiting to be played. We can organize all tours to Corcovado Nationalpark for you, including the overnight tours, as well as tours to Cano Island for snorkeling, diving or whale & dolphin watch. You should not plan your stay too short, since there is a lot to do around Drake Bay, for example the hike to Rio Claro (with swimming at the waterfall) which you can do by yourself! We have good WiFi connection.Drake Bay is located on the borders of Corcovado Nationalpark on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. The village is small, unspoilt and authentic, surrounded by abundant nature. All throughout Drake Bay you can hear the howler monkeys or the croaking of the scarlett macaws... Attention! There is no bank or ATM in Drake Bay. Bring enough cash or pay with card (+4% banking fee). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martina's Place Hostel

Address: Agujitas | Contiguo la Iglesia Cristiana, Drake Bay 60506, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Price Range: $62 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Martina's Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Martina's Place Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Martina's Place Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A good room depends on your budget! There are dorms and privates.”
clairea38, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Honeymoon Cabin which was spacious with private bathroom and personal deck with hammock. It was very nice.”
EEBea, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Dorm room bunks are super-reasonable and great - know if you need more privacy than 7 others in the room.”
200carye, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try get a family room as it has a bathroom inside.”
Stealth_Merchant, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“You'll make a good decision, no matter the room!”
968franzf, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates