We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Hostelworld.comUSD 13*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 47*
USD 13*
Great Deal
USD 47*
USD 39*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I was a little bit disappointed with my second visit to this hotel. My stay was planned to be very short since we wanted to stay at Manuel Antonio during the day and then leave the next day to Uvita in the morning, the place is very beautiful surrounded by nature, very calm and with lots of interesting sounds. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiMurillo
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At this time of the year because we are inside a forest and because we are in rainy season things are bit humid but we are always improving and renovating the resort. Toads are everywhere but the quality of the water of the pool is always under control. Toads come only at night when the...

Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here for a quick staycation get away. The location is remote, it's in the jungle through a beautiful little Costa Rican village. Here you won't find any commercial business or hotels, just quaint and peaceful critters and trees with a beautiful river flowing along side of the road. Upon arrival the owners niece Magda greeted us at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeyndiana
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We spent a wonderful 2 1/2 wks. in the wonderful garden setting of LaPalapa. I don't think a person seeking to find a truer rain forest experience than the immaculate gardens of this quaint location. Not in the middle of the rain forest, but on the fringe of the mountains around Portalon. The forest seems to start at the eco-lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackreyn0lds
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Wonderful ecoresort! Near a small village, Portalon, and right in the middle of a rainforest lies the La Palapa. Simples but very comfortable bungalows are surrounded by beautiful gardens. We can relax on the private balconies or near the pool. Manuel, the owner, makes sure that we have wifi only in public areas so that guests can socialize and exchange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FClemente
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Unpleasant and rude owner, who acts as if guest are a nuisance he has to put up with. Everything here is beautiful, rooms+ garden. But the owners' attitude ruins it all, Will not recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hanna2211
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

The reason for this review is due to the fact that this couple were playing a football game with their 2 children and for that it must be introduced a coin and we found out from other client that they block the system so that they would play without paying. This game is to help the local children of the...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I definitely recommend this place to stay! If you are looking for a place to rest and be surrounded by a magnificent landscape full of animals this is the place! The hotel is situated outside of Quepos but is close to everything you are looking for when you are on vacation. The owner of this place is always available to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SofiaCorreia212
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Reviewed 30 June 2016

A nice located Eco Lodge with bungalows and normal rooms. There is a swimmingpool. The bungalows have a seperated sleepingroom and a kitchen. You can have dinner, but there is no menu only a plate of the day. Nearby are several good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan104
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

UK
Reviewed 21 June 2016

I came in June with my husband. We chose to sleep in the single beds in the main room. To my disgust when I pulled back the sheet to get into bed I found someone else's hair and toenail in the bed. The management is not staying on top of the cleaning. The floor had not been swept and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillyanneSR
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear your comments which are not common at all in our resort. Rooms are cleaned every single day, and I'm shore something went wrong and for that reason we sorry. Thank you for your kind review and we will take measures to see that this will not happen again.

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Just off the mail road and 20 minutes +- south of Quepos, this lodge has some roomy bungalows with kitchens and sleeping for 4. A good option for families. The closest supermarket is in Dominical about 20 minutes away. Swimming pool for the kids. Some deep cleaning and maintenance needed to make it more presentable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey38
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

The leaves from the trees keep on failing on the pool and we clean the pool many times a day. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

Hod Hasharon, Israel
Reviewed 4 June 2016

This is an ecolodge. The grounds are a paradise, a Garden of Eden in the middle of the rain forest, the attention devoted to the gardening and outdoor milieu is remarkable, the work of a lifetime and of love. We highly recommend staying here, extended our initial two nights to four. For the price it is an absolute steal. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 966chuck
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know how you feel. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and I hope to see you back in the future.

2,184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
5:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (178)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1870)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (588)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (118)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1040)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
18.9 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
899 reviews
18.4 km away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
19.1 km away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
425 reviews
17.0 km away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
93 reviews
21.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Address: 800 meters from main road | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Price Range: $52 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Santa Cruz, California
over a year ago
Englewood, Florida
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Birmingham, Alabama
over a year ago
El Sobrante, California

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins 1 through 5 are close to the pool The turn off to La Palapa is well marked at What3words PIN "releasing.revalue.upturn"”
452davidh452, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want to cook they have rooms with kitchen. If you not they have breakfast and dinner service.”
DanielCMF, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great rooms and tasteful decoration, with kitchenette, lots of space, very clean!”
, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for the Bungalows”
mikeyndiana, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All of the bungalos give the feeling of isolation and one with the rain forest. On rainy nights the sleeping is out of this world.”
jackreyn0lds, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 13* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 47
PricelineUSD 39
Orbitz.comUSD 47
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates