We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel 502

CancelonUSD 81*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 136*
USD 81*
Great Deal
USD 100*
USD 100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 502
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel 502
 Click to rate
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

DO NOT STAY HERE! YOU RISK BED BUGS! I went to Hotel 502 to recuperate from lung cancer surgery. My daughter and I discovered a bed bug in our room, and we were bitten on our wrists, backs and necks. To add insult to injury, Hotel 502 overcharged me hundreds of dollars for my stay. Forget trying to negotiate with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notoriousnana5
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We check in at 3:00 to find out there is no running water. Our room didn't have a functioning refrigerator (it was filled with little dead bugs) so we requested a different room. This room smelled like cigarettes and had no coffee maker, When we contacted the front desk about this, they acted as if we were being too demanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 754bobgreen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From when we arrived and thought by its condition outside that it was abandoned to find the only car in the car park was the reception car. The front office was very poor in condition with ply wood behind the desk. The foyer was so so. The decor was 70's in poor taste and condition. The floor we was on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graeme H
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Besides agreeing with the recent reviews of this place being disgusting, I paid for my room in advance booking through trip advisor and when I left, they charged my credit card again for the room. After multiple calls and emails, they were "so helpful" on the phone, but NEVER REFUNDED the second charge. This place needs to go out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendakisling
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2017

this is a very run down hotel, phoenix has left it behind. the rooms smelled bad, the passages smelt bad, the airconditioning whizzed and didn't do much. the bed wasn't good. the carpet is dirty, this place had a tripadvisor award for 2015, how has it fallen so far? the pool is a good size but is dirty, the concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Drove up to about 5 cars in an unlined, gravel parking lot. (2 of the 5 looked abandoned...) Multi story hotel, had 2 lights on, one at the front desk and one room several floors up. It looked abandoned. There was a couple with a pitbull in the parking lot, not sure if she was a working girl or it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Good day Erin, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel 502. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad stay at our hotel. Please feel free to call me at your convenience to discuss.

Monument, Colorado
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the renovated part of the hotel where they have removed the carpet in the room leaving bare concrete with these odd Velcro strips that I guess held down the old carpet. Weird and disconcerting to step on especially with bare feet. Bathroom renovation was poorly done as the sink hole didn't match up with the sink. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen S
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your room was not clean. Please contact me at your convenience to discuss.

Reviewed 24 March 2017

I should have known to walk away when we pulled into the parking lot and there were hardly any cars there. I will say the front desk lady was nice and that is where the good things about this place end. The first room we went to was awful. The blankets were threadbare. Only one light worked so it made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer S
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, Thank you for reviewing Hotel 502. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please contact me, Dorothy at your convenience to discuss.

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The receptionist was a great guy. He checked us in and while I voiced my concern because the lobby smelled like cleaning solution, he convinced us to give it a try. We selected this place off trip advisor for the rate and location. Besides having Jimmy Hendricks stenciled on the walls, the halls were grimy and dirty like a vacuum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, Thank you for your review. Our hotel is quite a bit off the road, so I am sorry the first room was too loud for you and I am glad the staff accommodated your move. I am sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. I would love for you to call me at your convenience to discuss.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I've been to many rehabbed old hotels that were perfectly fine and inexpensive in other cities. The people here were reasonably helpful, but the place is really run down and not in a good area. I had to cancel on arrival and found a fantastic Airbnb for less $ in a better area of town, much closer to downtown. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PandMandR
Dorothy S, General Manager at Hotel 502, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for review. Our hotel is still being redone and has come a long way. I am glad you found a change of stay since you were not happy. And I am more than happy to discuss with you if you like.

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#69 of 174 in Phoenix
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 502 is at the heart of The Melrose District just 7 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Conveniently located just 1 block from the 7th Ave. Metro station, providing access to all points of interest including The Phoenix Convention Center, downtown sports and theater venues, museums, shopping, and Sky Harbor Intl. Our enormous pool area provides a great space to relax and soak in the Arizona sun. Rooms are furnished with plush mattresses along with all the pillows you could want, flat screen TV's, in-room Keurig coffee makers. We have meeting space available that can accommodate up to 350 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 502

Address: 502 W Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85013-2202 (Formerly Camelback Sahara Hotel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: $79 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel 502 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 502 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Camelback Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Red Roof Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Red Roof Inn
Hotel 502 Phoenix, Arizona
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#37 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#40 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 502 staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 502 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay far away!!”
brendakisling, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a higher floor so you can open the window to ventilate the room.”
951bruceb, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else, anywhere else, to stay”
jennifersI107TF, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pick an upper floor its safer”
  • Beds are basic, but light above is kind of cool
  • bedside table and power strip
mmmduffser, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No comment.”
JRLxGreenbriar, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 81* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 100
Expedia.comUSD 100
AMOMAUSD 136
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates