We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Princesa Maria

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal Princesa Maria
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal Princesa Maria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We arrived very tired, but Maria quickly got us checked in and showed us to our comfortable room. She is a wonderful resource for things to do and places to go in Banos (which buses to take, which bakery is the best, places to eat, tour guide services, and all things Banos in general). She speaks English, something we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrippinBohemians
Auckland
Reviewed 16 April 2015

This was the perfect hostel for us. Victor was very friendly and helpful and did a lot to ensure that our stay was comfortable. He made sure we knew where all the local shops were and also where some good walks were. Would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. This was one of the reasons we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABritInNewZealand
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

2 friends and I arrived off an early morning bus, no reservation but this hostel was recommended. Though the gates were closed the owner quickly let us in and set us up with a room which was clean and bright with a nice bathroom and hot water. Good price, and while it's not in the middle of the town it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailbhe H
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Maria the daughter of the owner welcomed us warmly and explained us what we could do in Baños. If you need it: she does speak English. Her parents were very helpful as well and inquired about spa treatments and prices for us over the phone. This hostel has a good location: you can walk to the busstation in around 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love_to_travel1237
Banos, Ecuador
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This place is cozy, the atmosphere is good, the owner always tries to make you feel comfortable, the prices are just right, be sure you call or write them to have a room as they are always booked, the owner speaks spanish only, but the daughter speaks perfect English, and the son happened to speak five languages surprisingly russian, french,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supermuzhik
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

We Loved Princesa María so much, we came back after visiting other areas ( otavalo, quito, archidona). It's an easy walk from the main square, right next to a beautiful fresh produce market and very homy. It's clean and friendly (family run) and you can use the kitchen which is very well equiped. Perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanaFromChile
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2015

It's a steep uphill from town and the owner will try to charge you DOUBLE if you don't have a reservation. There are far better options in town with more forthcoming and less scam-like staff. The hostel itself is ok, but a tad dirty and run down.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SVegard
mariadelcarmen035, Propietario at Hostal Princesa Maria, responded to this review

You never stayed at our hostel, because you talk about the hostal looking good from the outside but the rooms inside are dirty? to whom you want to deceive?. . . . And you talk about the geography of our city as if it were something bad? talknig about our hills as if they were something terrible? please if you...

Atlanta
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Pleasant, affordable rooms. The manager was welcoming and helpful (spanish speaking only) and ensured a pleasant family friendly environment. The place was clean and quiet time was enforced. Located in a quiet dinner and yet still walking distance to the main square.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e-atl
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed at Princesa Maria for 8 nights in total, although originally we only booked 3. Extended 3 times. All staff at the hostel are very nice and super friendly, Victor, Maria, Yolanda and even the cleaning lady. Rooms are spacious with good bathroom and everything is nice and clean. There is a kitchen available for use and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarkaadegboye
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2015

All the positive reviews about this place are true! Good location just outside of the noisy places, very comfortable spacious rooms, and overly hospitable staff. We had the bad luck of having someone smoking in one room next to us, a crying baby in another, and relatively early morning bathroom renovations all on the same day. The owners had warned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshGellman

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banos hotels
0.0 km away
La Casa Verde- Eco Guest House
0.0 km away
Hosteria Finca Chamanapamba
0.0 km away
Great Hostels Backpackers Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Plantas & Blanco's Hostel
0.0 km away
La Casa del Molino Blanco Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Hostel Erupcion
Hostel Erupcion
#3 of 42 in Banos
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Princess Maria is a 3 floor building, with wooden floors, well equiped kitchen, large spacious rooms, hot water private bathroom and much more...The adress of our hostel is Rocafuerte y Mera (esquina)To find us you have to walk 3 blocks straight to the park and 3 blocks to the right following rocafuerte street Up The Hill, we are a blue building right on the upper corner of Rocafuerte street.If by any reason you cant manage to see where are we located you can call us and we will be ready to tell you an accurate description of our address.Princesa Maria is not a party hostal, we are a small and cozy business, we offer the basic services for you to enjoy your stay in Banos/Tungurahua, Nothing Luxurious, we just give you enough things to feel at home within an environment of respect and happiness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Princesa Maria

Address: Rocafuerte and Mera (up the hill at the corner), Banos 010151, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Price Range: $14 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Princesa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Princesa Maria Hotel Banos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Princesa Maria staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, WA
Quito, Ecuador
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Princesa Maria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles d31thomas, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a few rooms with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 1scottie1, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor!!”
 of 5 bubbles J9975JHjohnp, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I only stayed in the single room”
 of 5 bubbles dreid73, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The double room on the second floor (third floor in the States) was great value at 20 USD per night, and had a really powerful warm shower. You'll need it after a day of trekking!”
 of 5 bubbles WaddamsUK, 29 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5