We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

America del Sur Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
America del Sur Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

637 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Start your review of America del Sur Hostel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 1 night before getting a flight. I found the staff uninterested and busy chatting amongst themselves which made it awkward to ask them anything. The 4 bedroom dorm had a bathroom and was fine, nothing special. The atmosphere felt cold, a lot of solo travellers, but no one really talking to each other. It was ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherNolan1
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 1 week ago

We first stayed at America del sur in Calafate and had very good experience, met good people and had great time in the Hostel. when we traveled back to Buenos Aires, America del sur was our first choice. and it did not let us down, still very comfortable and convenient!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChuanYinng
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hostel in January and are now here again in March. I have also been to the Millhouse hostel and we decided on America del sur because it is better! Whilst it isn't a 'party' hostel, we definitely had some great parties here. It is really clean and new, the staff are very helpful and the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrystalA86
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Negative points: unfriendly staff, leaking sink. A friend and I arrived quite late (4-5 AM, Feb 25 2017) and the attendant was sleeping. We manage to wake him up so we could get in the hostel and check in, but he seemed really, really, really pissed off on us. He made us feel very uncomfortable. Gave us no information at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmanuellaSueto
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice room, comfy bed, air conditioning, amenities, TV (the fact that the sink is the room rather than in the bathroom is the only negative point here). Common areas at the entrance and at the basement are nicely planned, clean, comfortable and practical so you enjoy spending time there and meet people from all around the world. The receptionists are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Figen D
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Only positive points: super clean, great breakfast, friendly and helpfull staff, they organize activities from the hotel, they have a basement to relax (netflix, espn) and computers to use, room is cleaned every day! Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StefanGuirten
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Hostel is a great location. The communal areas are great especially the terrace outside. The room were good but walls needs to be repainted soon as the paint was peeling off and some large patches of mould were on the walls. Beds are super comfortable! Bathroom was tiny but we didn't mind. It had hot shower and ok pressure. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecile M
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Ignore the initially sterile interior, the dorm rooms are great, 4-beds en suite. There is no bar so you can bring in your own drinks, and there are usually people around in the main area or the lower level relaxing with a movie. They also have a variety of activity recommendations and walking tours that start from the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ditha311
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review!! We're happy yo hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

So there are few things which were really annoying and many were good. Overall a decent experience in terms of location of the hostel, look n feel, staff, amenities, breakfast, information desk, day reception staff however, was really disappointing when they hostel charges us additional 50 peso's for pub crawl, in return for nothing, not even transfer. Thats not ethical!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yu S
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

Hi!! Thank you so much for your review!! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. About the pubcrawl, just wanted to tell you that the price is the same if you pay here in the hostel or at the bar, is not that we charge a fee of AR$ 50. We apologise if there was...

Reviewed 20 January 2017

I had a week travel to Argentina, couple of days for business, the first days I stayed in belgrano in and hotel payed by the company, and the next 3 days I stayed in America Del Sur Hostel in San Telmo just to know a little more about the city... Amazing staff they know the spots for everything, for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin P
AmericaHostelBA, Front Office Manager at America del Sur Hostel, responded to this review

You should come back!! Now you have to teach everyone back home how to drink mate! :)

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Suite Room (34)
Viewed
Four Bed Shared Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#60 of 450 in Buenos Aires
1,313 reviews
Hotel Rey Buenos Aires
#187 of 450 in Buenos Aires
214 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 484 in Buenos Aires
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 484 in Buenos Aires
662 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#6 of 484 in Buenos Aires
731 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#7 of 484 in Buenos Aires
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Telmo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Telmo
Characterized by cobblestones and narrow streets, San Telmo is defined by the tango, the dance that made Buenos Aires world-famous. Tango is a fusion of many different cultures: a true child of immigration, much like the city itself. Nowadays, it comes alive after dark in the milongas (dance parties) attended by both locals and visitors alike, who dance until the wee hours of the morning. During the day, the antique shops and classic cafés and bars around Plaza Dorrego dominate the scene. The emblematic Bar Plaza Dorrego, with its green awnings, checkered tile floors, and wooden interiors, takes you back in time the moment you step inside. For true porteño traditions, San Telmo is the place to be.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about America del Sur Hostel

Address: Chacabuco 718, Buenos Aires 1098, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Price Range: $20 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America del Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your America del Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Del Sur Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from America del Sur Hostel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from America del Sur Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 5th floor seems to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles EmanuellaSueto, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be careful with the price... Ask, ask, ask... and ask to write it down... Do not expect it to be true...”
 of 5 bubbles 511robsonc, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a higher room, common area in the basement and music can be loud. It didn't bother me since im a heavy sleeper but just an FYI”
 of 5 bubbles espijuli2014, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“4 bed dorms are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles bearchri, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“clean rooms everywhere”
 of 5 bubbles spilungo23, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5