We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

TravelocityUSD 101*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 101*
USD 101*
USD 100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 60: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

A nice old style hotel in a country town. Very relaxed, secure parking and good service. meals were also very good. A great place to stay if travelling and looking at the sights outside of the busy wine regions. Definitely worth the effort to travel a little further to see more of the country side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I stayed in Worcester as part of a cycling tour from PE to Cape Town. The Hotel and all staff were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were nice, and my bike even got to stay in a conference room over night. Despite the somewhat sketchy area the hotel was in I had a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darol H
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

After my last unsatisfactory visit to Worcester in December, I wasn't looking forward to this trip. I'm happy to say that I did get a good nights sleep at the Protea Cumberland. The room was quiet, it had an air conditioner, the mattress was adequate, and the room clean. There seemed to be more facilities such as a pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
EGICAR, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Candace M Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you for staying...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2016

My wife and I have just spent our third stay at the Protea Hotel Cumberland. We have been impressed with the ongoing improvements to the building and the facilities. The dining room area, in particular, is noticeably brighter and more welcoming. During our two day stay, we had all our meals at the Hotel. The breakfasts, especially, were a perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickyed888
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Vickyed888, GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete this review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the improvements of our...

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We are first time guests at this hotel. Tonight we had the most amazing sole thermidor and Pork belly in the restaurant. Compliments to Chef Edwil for the presentation, portion size and scrumptious meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lga61
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Lga61, Thank you for sharing your experience at the De Breede Restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you have had an amazing time at our restaurant. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and exceeding your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire...

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We arranged the reunion of our school function at the hotel on the 14th October - a dinner for approximately 23 people. The meal - a 3 course dinner was a big disappointment.At a rate of R180 pp one would have thought that according to the menu it was going to be good. What a disappointment. The starter was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezettem
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Ezettem, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. We normally pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience to our guests however it is quite clear that we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal on this night. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your reunion...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We went through from Cape Town to Worcester for a wedding on Sunday the 2nd of October 2016. We had breakfast at Cumberland Hotel and it was excellent. When you open the door to the Hotel the staff is friendly and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nstoltz
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear N Stoltz, Thank you for sharing your experience at our Gallery Restaurant. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Thank you to the staff of Protea Cumberland, Worcester. The service received was of a high level, spent the week in Worcester for work and all my requirements were attended to at all times. The room was comfortable and well maintained. I can't fault the hotel in any area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djbonez11
EGICAR, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

THANK YOU 1 Dear Dj Bonez11, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team...

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really enjoyed my time here in worcester! Staff is really great and love the new gym! Special thanks to reception team and manager you guys rock! Will definitely see you guys again, next time will be with the family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric v
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Eriv V, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

Awesome staff, Awesome food, Awesome room, and Awesome facilities!!! Thank you Cumberland you guys made our weekend very special will definitely see you again soon! Will definitely recommend this hotel to all friends and family!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Terence B, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
7.6 km away
Fairy Glen Private Game Reserve
38.2 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
175 reviews
0.0 km away
Aan De Doorns Guest House
Aan De Doorns Guest House
#1 of 17 in Worcester
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
19th Hole Golf Villa
19th Hole Golf Villa
#2 of 17 in Worcester
87 reviews
13.5 km away
Rawsonville House
Rawsonville House
#3 of 6 in Rawsonville
37 reviews
3.1 km away
Rendez-vous De Golf
Rendez-vous De Golf
#4 of 17 in Worcester
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cumberland - Experience the best hospitality in the Boland. The Protea Hotel Cumberland is located in the charming Boland town of Worcester, the heart of the Breede River Valley. Accommodation ranges from standard to deluxe, all fully air-conditioned, or you could spoil yourself and enjoy the luxury of the Presidential Suite. Wining and dining at the hotel is traditional, homestyle and elegant. We offer a variety of leisure facilities at the hotel, with a fully-equipped gym, pool, spa, sauna and steam bath, tennis court and a glass-backed squash court. Venture out of the hotel and explore the Kleinplasie Open Air Museum, Karoo National Botanical Gardens or the Worcester Winelands Wine Tasting Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Address: 2 Srockenstroom Street | City Centre, Worcester 6850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Worcester
Price Range: $109 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are older style but comfortable. Everywhere is quiet.”
gordonc54, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request Room No 121. It has a Jacuzzi and French doors that lead onto a lounge area.”
vickyed888, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We only had dinner there - so did not see the rooms”
ezettem, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get room with patio”
, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“perhaps something over looking the courtyard...”
32nicolettem, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 101* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 101
Booking.comUSD 100
Expedia.comUSD 101
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates