We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Majeka House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Found it a little far from the best wineries and also too expensive at that price. The staff were very polite and friendly, although I thought the guy that shows you to your room speaks too much, we ended up trying to avoid him if possible. He meant well. A great service was free laundry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afees S
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Afees S, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our location is very clear on Booking.com which you booked on. However we have one of the best winery in the area at walking distance, and about another 5 within 3km. Wonder, our Duty Manager, will be distraught to read that you did not enjoy all the efforts...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

One of the few hotels in the wine area where the hotel staff actually know something about the area in which they operate. Good advice about wineries to visit. Staff professional, helpful and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcdefg999
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear abcdefg999, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Majeka House. We are glad that you appreciated our service and that you noticed our staff's hard work at being knowledgeable of the area. We looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Karine

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely relaxing time Our room was large with its own lounge area and had its own patio & pool which was lovely and warm Had the best massage ever and we also had a complimentary salt treatment which was included in our room rate Breakfast was great with home made energy juices and a cold buffet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Sean W, Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon back at Majeka House. The entire service and kitchen team is overjoyed by your comments on your experience at Makaron! Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 2 March 2016

I stayed at Majeka with my son form 26 - 28 February and it was an excellent stay. The staff are great and the food is good. The only thing is the bar closes rather early at 23 Hours. We attended an information session at USB and enjoyed a rugby match between the Stormers and the Bulls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M3325KEandrewc
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear M3325KEandrewc, Thank you very much for leaving us such a nice review. We have made a note of your comment about the bar closing early, however it is related to liquor laws and not to our choice. We hope to welcome you back at Majeka House soon. Kind regards Karine

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

This property is well situated being close to Stellenbosch. It has beautifully landscaped gardens and all the rooms are designed in a way that nobody looks into the room of anyone else. The room itself was very well equipped with everything you could possible want. Even a sliding door on the bathroom so you could watch t.v. from the bath!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Kate, We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and our facilities. Janice, Flloyd and Cristabelle as well as the entire team join me in thanking you for leaving us such a fantastic review about your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We were booked into this hotel by a travel agent so weren't sure what we would find, however we could not have been placed in a better spot! The room was fabulous, and the private pool a bonus. The restaurant was excellent and the breakfast which was included an absolutely great way to start the day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BCtravelstheworld
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear BCtravelstheworld, Thank you so much for sharing such a great review on your experience at Majeka House. This is the best reward for our team's hard work. We hope to see you back at Majeka soon. Kind regards Karine

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I stayed in Majeka House for 3 nights over my wedding a few weeks back. It was the most incredible hotel experience I have ever had. We booked out most of the rooms at the hotel which meant that we felt our own private hotel for the weekend! The staff could not have done enough to make our stay perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Sam G, Congratulations again on your wedding! Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad that your time with us was memorable! Our team is delighted that you enjoyed their efforts and frankly we can return the compliment to you and your family - you were the easiest wedding party we have had to welcome! We...

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

***** Majeka House Five Stars and oh boy did it live up to every one of them. From the time that we checked in, until the sad time to leave, we were looked after like movie stars The first person that we met was Janice at reception, she is a powerhouse, not only did she escort us to the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND B
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Raymond & Kate, Wonder just arrived in my office with a big smile as he had just read your comment you left about your experience at Majeka House. This is surely the best way to reward our team's hard efforts and Lloyd and I would like to thank you very much for naming those who made your experience memorable....

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2016

A wonderful hotel just outside of Stellenbosch. Rooms are large, contemporary and well thought out, with beautiful bathrooms. Our room had a pool shared between 2 rooms, in addition to access to the main pool. The lounge/bar area is very trendy. Restaurant - Amazing food at extremely reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAbbott83
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear JAbbott83, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. The entire team at Majeka House and Makaron join me to thank you for such kind words, it makes all our efforts worth it. We look forward to welcoming you back at Majeka House in the near future. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 9 February 2016

What a wonderful place. Staff was amazing, rooms were amazing. We had 2 rooms together with our own private pool. Great lounge area. good for wine country tours and going downtown. We stayed there 2 times on this trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, First of all the team joins me in thanking you for your loyalty to Majeka House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and what our team has to offer! Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Karine

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,481 reviews
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
498 reviews
5.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
778 reviews
6.1 km away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 114 in Stellenbosch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $288 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Majeka House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pool rooms have their own pool to share between 2 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RadiaS, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!”
 of 5 bubbles ErnRam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be great but suggest you e-mail / call reception so they can meet your requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles richardrH1356DL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Villas with private pools are amazing -”
 of 5 bubbles 318vivienned, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room over price .... will not suggest to travellers to stay , far better places at better price”
 of 5 bubbles 404Charmain, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay