We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Majeka House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Majeka House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Majeka House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Maidstone
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Excellent facilities and service, difficult to fault. Room rates for couples expensive is only negative comment. gym is small but good quality eqt (Concept 2 rower with PM3, plus adequate treadmill and small selection weights and normal gym stuff. Nice covered heated pool together with nice Sauna - down side is that you need tog et ti turned on 20...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen T, First of all we would like to thank you for your great review on Majeka House. You did mention that it is more expensive for couple, but this is how all hotel rates function in South Africa, the idea being to be able to assist single travelers with a better rate! We have made a note of...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The welcome was very friendly. Staff are nice and helpful. Room is spacious with vibrant attractive colors makes it different than other boring hotels. Bathroom is amazingly well-designed. The backyard pool area behind my room is very chic, channeling a french riviera style. Breakfast was good but not so happy with the dinner at the restaurant. Altogether the interior designs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceeyacihuyy
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Ceeyacihuyy, Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time at Makaron but delighted to read that you enjoyed all our other offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Hotel is absolutely beautiful it's a little gem, management went the extra mile and did everything i requested the staff is very helpful and friendly, excellent service, we will definitely visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcosramon
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Marcosramon, Thank you very much for such a lovely review, the entire team is delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Karine

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

A really nice boutique hotel with excellent service. The hotel is located well for both the town and for visiting the local vineyards and restaurants. The restaurant is very good but not excellent like some others near by, although the breakfasts are fantastic. Best thing about the hotel is the service, especially Wonder the Duty Manager (I think), nothing was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Stuart N, Wonder and the entire team join us in thanking you for the lovely review you left us. We are so glad you appreciated our service efforts and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Comfortable classy relaxing accommodation. Staff well informed and friendly. Restaurant better than ever. Would have to do a course to be able to operate the in room coffee machine. Enjoyed early morning swim in the pool. Hope to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilekruger
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Emilekruger, Thank you very much for your lovely note on Majeka House! We will most definitely show you how to operate our Lavazza coffee machine in the room during your next visit!! Kind regards Karine

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed at Majeka house last night. The arrival was extremely impressive as we were warmly greeted and shown around by an extremely knowledgeable man named Wonder. First note to self was that we had not remembered our swimming costumes to swim in the indoor pool. The room was on the small side but a bonus was the complementary still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathy6782
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear cathy6782, Thank you so very much for leaving us such a nice review on Majeka House. The entire team joins me to thank you for your appreciation of our services and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Kind regards Karine

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We were a bunch of 7 friends, and took five of the rooms. Four of the rooms each shared a swimming pool with another room. Despite it being summer, the pools were heated so that it was pleasant to chat, all seven of us, late into the night, in, out, and around the pool, with some excellent Chenin Blanc or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intrepid1406
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Intrepid1406, Thank you very much for reviewing Majeka House with in such details and we are delighted that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us! We did take our restaurant manager up on your comments about the service and are re-enforcing our training on both kitchen and service side in order to avoid such awkward experience. Regarding...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We stayed at Majeka House as part of the second leg of our honeymoon in South Africa. Overall the hotel is very clean and the staff attentive. The breakfast had good options available, including green juices. The pool and outdoor lounge areas were top notch. And while the hotel is in a more residential area, the hotel easily arranges affordable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas V
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas V, Thank you very much for the review you left us, we are really glad that you enjoyed our facilities and services. As you did mention you were at the height of the heat wave which we had not suffered in over 40 years in our region. No matter how strong the air condition's BTU are there was...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This is really one of the best Hotels in Stellenbosch we have visited in the last few years. Thank you Karine and Wonder and the Little, strong Judith from the SPA. We had a lovely stay and we will be back for Sure.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RomanMelze
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear RomanMelze, Thank you so much for such a lovely review! Judith is specifically delighted to see her name on your review and she is awaiting you for your next strong massage!!!! Kind regards Karine

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The resort is located in a quiet area of Stellenbosch approximately 5 km from the enjoyable city center of Stellenbosch. It is a well equipped relative small hotel with a personal treatments and offers all services one might need. It is recommended to reserve spa services upfront. Swimming pool with fresh water is inside. Breakfast is excellent and offers plenty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterV8700WZ
kdequekervandermerwe, Owner at Majeka House, responded to this review

Dear peterV8700WZ, Thank you very much for sharing such a positive review about Majeka House! Our entire team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated their hard work to make your stay memorable. Hoping to welcoming you back here in the near future. Kind regards Karine

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,536 reviews
3.2 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
315 reviews
4.4 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
797 reviews
3.3 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Owner-managed and blissfully private, Majeka House is an ideal base from which to explore the historical town of Stellenbosch with its interesting shops, galleries, museums, and alfresco café culture. Numerous famous vineyards and award-winning restaurants, dotted along the Stellenbosch wine route, are within striking distance. This prime location combines with luxurious accommodation, thoughtful service, a sophisticated bar and restaurant, a professionally run spa and spacious grounds to create what is undoubtedly one of the most stylish boltholes in the Cape Winelands.After extensive renovations and a designer makeover in 2011, Majeka House now boasts 22 rooms and sophisticated yet witty interiors. There are two new luxury mountain suites above the main hotel with large mountain-view balconies, and three new junior garden suites overlooking a shared, exclusive-use pool area. And, while the entire hotel is ‘parent friendly’, there’s also a fully self- contained villa – set apart from the main hotel and with a large private pool and garden – that is designed specifically with families in mind.The new suites were all conceptualised and decorated by interior design wunderkind Etienne Hanekom, who is also responsible for the award-winning interiors of Makaron Restaurant, the lobby and bar. They capture a sense of drama with boldcolours, rich textures and eye-catching custom-designed wallpapers but are also comfortable, inviting spaces for complete rest and relaxation.All contain thoughtful extras, such as comfy Crocs instead of hotel slippers, a Lavazza espresso machine, Wi-Fi internet and a DVD player with a wide choice of movies. The spacious and cleverly designed en suite bathrooms are fragrant with local toiletries made with indigenous plant extracts.In Makaron Restaurant, a stylish, contemporary interior using a clever mix of repurposed and recycled furniture complemented by modern statement pieces has been created. The result is a visually stimulating space that offers extreme comfort and encourages complete immersion in the dining experience. The overall effect is an understated feeling of luxury.Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Tanja Kruger presents her menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Majeka House

Address: 26 - 32 Houtkapper Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $256 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Majeka House 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Majeka House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majeka House Hotel Stellenbosch
Majeka Hotel Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Majeka House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pool rooms have their own pool to share between 2 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RadiaS, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suite 502, the devil is in the detail!”
 of 5 bubbles ErnRam, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be great but suggest you e-mail / call reception so they can meet your requirements.”
 of 5 bubbles richardrH1356DL, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Villas with private pools are amazing -”
 of 5 bubbles 318vivienned, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room over price .... will not suggest to travellers to stay , far better places at better price”
 of 5 bubbles 404Charmain, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay