We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stellenbosch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stellenbosch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Start your review of Stellenbosch Hotel
 Click to rate
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent service from friendly, helpful, competent staff. Went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. We were walk-in customers after a disasterous booking at another edtablishment. Will definitely stay there again 😊

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gezinamaria
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gezinamaria, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our excellent service, competent staff, pleasant and comfortable stay. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great overnight stay while visiting the vineyards. Could have stayed longer! Staff were friendly and we ate in the Stellenbosch Kitchen in the evening which was delicious. Can't wait to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smm412
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smm412, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our friendly staff. We would also like to thank you for your lovely comments on our delicious food. We would be grateful if you could submit these comments separately on the Stellenbosch...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stellenbosch Hotel is a three star hotel which offers good accommodation in a very central location in the charming town. The staff were particularly helpful, professional but friendly. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast - plenty of choice and all fresh. Take care when reserving your room. Some of them are very small. Too cramped for two average sized adults.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda R, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our good accommodation, delicious buffet breakfast, central location, helpful and professional staff...

Saintfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 4 nights during my visit to the Western Cape and its winelands. It is clean, well maintained and comfortable. Most importantly, the staff are friendly and the food is 1st class......I have travelled a fair bit around the world and the dining experience here rates amongst the best. I ate like a king with everything fresh,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capt007Pugwash
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Capt007Pugwash, Thank you for your lovely five star review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our clean, friendly staff, well maintained and comfortable hotel. We would also like to thank you for your lovely comments on our first class food. We would be grateful...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was a typically three star hotel. Nothing to get excited over and nothing to get disappointed about. Breakfast OK. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situatde good in Stellenbosch, close to restaurants and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hellobello68
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 1 week ago

To position this hotel as a 3* is ridiculous. At least 4*. They have to cover the inner yard with the glass roof - and pretend to be 5*. Good breakfast, tasty dinner, friendly service, perfect location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeituni
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zeituni, Thank you for your beautiful five star review. We were more than delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our good breakfast, friendly service and perfect location. We would also like to thank you for your lovely comments on our tasty dinner. We would be grateful...

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a couple of nights. Great location in town. The rooms we had were not the biggest but had recently been refurbished. Breakfasts were good with a decent choice from the buffet. Staff were friendly and helpful. To conclude, good base for wine touring!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kilwinnkie
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kilwinnkie, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our great location, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Stellenbosch Hotel is really nice, I will definitely stay there again. Friendly staff, good ammenities, amazing breakfast and really close to the center of Stellenbosch. Would recommend to anyone travelling in the area!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathi581
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kathi581, Thank you for your stunning five star review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments on our friendly staff, good amenities, amazing breakfast and the central location we are situated in. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests....

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We were able to check in early and start seeing the sights of Stellenbosch. Secure parking in underground garage. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philtanner
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philtanner, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Stellenbosch Hotel and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. We would also like to thank you for your lovely comments on our Restaurant. We would be grateful if you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a three bedroom apartment at this hotel. Apartment was clean and centrally located. Great atmosphere at night - was quieter in the day however it was good Friday so a bank holiday. Good menu - Food was really nice in the hotel. A good choice for breakfast. Would stay again - highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cjones7

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
360 reviews
0.1 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
583 reviews
5.8 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
561 reviews
3.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $84 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stellenbosch Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stellenbosch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was in the courtyard...don't be put off. Noise was not an issue”
Capt007Pugwash, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not overlooking the courtyard would be quieter”
kathrynnel2017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Superior king room”
robertbakewell, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apartment 2 bedroons”
, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room and also the bathroom are very small. The hotel is too expensive”
444abek, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5