We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 315: English reviews
Start your review of Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
 Click to rate
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This has been my second stay at Devonvale and once again, i definitely enjoyed my stay and the facilities. Fairly centrally located to Stellenbosch city center and may of the wine farms. The golf course is a nice addition to the wine farm stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 766vassar
Annie P, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment We are pleased you enjoyed your long Weekend on our Estate, the wine, and the situation which, as you say, well situated, and in the heart of the winelands, with many lovely wine farms to visit too. Kind regards, Annie P

Rustenburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comfortable accommodation in scenic countryside. Restaurant and staff service also very good. Will return at some stage in the future. Good accessibility to surrounding wine farms and other places of interest.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helga S
Annie P, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you appreciated your holiday on our Estate, and enjoyed the tourism available in our beautiful area. We look forward to welcoming you again, to visit the many places of interest still to be seen, and available in one-day trips. Kind regards, Annie P

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 1 week ago

The furniture in the living room and kitchen are substandard. Armchairs could not sit in when the padding was completely worn down or away. The couch was uncomfortable and rundown and we used the garden furniture instead to sit in because they were more comfortable. Kitchen furniture is hard and should have pads on which they are made of wood....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank perl193
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice, very secure hotel with comfortable suites and a good restaurant. It has a golf course and they make their own wine. The food is very good. The wine is absolutely stunning. Very happy stay with beautiful views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
Annie P, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on your holiday on our Estate. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel suites, restaurant and our wine. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Annie

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good service, very good facility. An African lady at reception tried to get us rooms during the busy period at the Estate, and she called us to follow up and made sure we get the venue. Good service, keep it going.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymond_shazi
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. We are proud of our staff and always ask them to do their utmost to satisfy our guests.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over during business trip as a group. Reception was well prepared for arrival and staff was friendly and efficient. Reception in restaurant was friendly and professional with good food. Food took a bit of time to arrive, but it was worth the wait (maybe I was just hungry, but the food was still good).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlM3937JO
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment, we are pleased to know your business trip on our Estate was a good experience. We are proud of our Chef who loves looking after holiday makers and conference clients. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Played golf here with some old friends last month and enjoyed the course, really well designed and pretty open. The greens and fairways are superbly maintained and green even during this terrible drought. It is very busy but it was during the festive season. The staff at the clubhouse & pro-shop are friendly and helpful, half way house was quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougCapeTown
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our course even with the terrible drought we have this season. Looking forward to welcoming you again for another great experience.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent four. Weeks on the Estate.over all very satisfide with the apartment, service and restaurang, brekfast and dinner. The location close to the City of St ellenbosch is perfekt . All the wineyards in the area is also fine. 45 minuters drive to Cape Town is Great. We Will return to Devonvale

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 768leifj
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a very satisfactory holiday on our Estate and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards,

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on 23 Feb for a round of golf. The course has suffered due to the drought with the fairways bare and water features empty. Having said that the course was still playable and enjoyable with the tees and greens in an excellent condition. Would definitely return and play when it has recovered as there are a lot of interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186534Skc
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments even if we are suffering a bad drought, you still enjoyed our course. We look forward to welcoming you again, especially if nature spoils us with beautiful rain. Kind regards,

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Very good golf course though fairway was in bad shape. Nice and clean apartment and very serviceminded staff in the restaurant. Pool area is not very cosy. The estate is very cose to Stellenbosch and nice wine testing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V2524MZrogers
Annie W, Marketing Employee at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments. As you know we are suffering a great drought. We are the only golf course in the cape that is self sustainable. We make use of our own grey water and our dam resources. We are the future of how golf courses should be run. With water becoming such scarce resource in the Cape...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.6 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
2.4 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
547 reviews
10.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
591 reviews
8.1 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
8.1 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $125 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on a higher floor have a better view of the mountains and golf course”
 of 5 bubbles tarrylion, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floors are nice”
 of 5 bubbles 776rinam, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are great with braai area and access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles ianhD9743QL, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“direct golfcourse facing cottage for better views”
 of 5 bubbles capsud2015, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5