We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cultivar Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cultivar Guest Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 46: English reviews
Start your review of Cultivar Guest Lodge
 Click to rate
Köln
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this accommodationfrom germany and we were surprised about the nice room. Esmé Kotzé ( yes that is the name of the general manager) was very kind. She help us in all situations. In the rooms are no TV , but in every area we got free WIFI. The breakfast was perfect every day. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnjaundJuergen
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at Cultivar and will never again stay again! First of all the room is displayad on websites (booking.com) is not even close to what they offered in real. We had a room which was almost as big as a regular toilet in a hotel. After confronting the receptionist with this fact they offered us a much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart L
Barbara F, General Manager at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

It is a pity that you do not reflect the true happening in this matter. You called our office and requested a cancellation for the 2nd night and was informed that the manager is not here, but that you should send an email with your request, upon which you will receive the process to follow. The next day you received...

San Candido, Italy
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We stayed at Cultivar Guest Lodge during our honeymoon in october 2016. It was wonderful. The lady at the reception (i think she must have been the owner) was very friendly and gave us good recommendations for dinner. Everyone was very friendly and the room was very clean. Thank you for everything! :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anna_wachtler
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Anna! Thanks a lot for your feedback, we´re happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again at Cultivar Guest Lodge. Best Barbara

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 22 December 2016

It looked very nice on the homepage, but it seemed to be quite old. The breakfast was ok, but not worth the money. The rooms were nice, but old fashioned and darker as on the pics, everything quite old. The garden is beautiful but that doesn't help, to think, that it is not worth the money. The staff was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 943eddie
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you very much for your feedback which is very important to us in order to improve our service and enable the best experience to our guests. We have just worked a lot on our breakfast - taking into account varieties as well as equipment and I am sure that we now offer quite a nice breakfast for...

sydney
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Really nice place. We were lucky to get newly renovated room which was perhaps a little over done with decor. Staff friendly, stunning environment just out of Stellenbosch, made this a place that can be highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank didot
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks a lot for your positive feedback, we really appreciate this and hope to see you again! Best regards Barbara

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Really nice looking hotel, friendly ownet and well furnished clean rooms with a nice view on the pool and hills. Breakfast was relatively poor to be honest. The hotel has bikes available for R100 for a half day. All in all an okay lodge like there are so many in Stellenbosch. Please note that it is not a wine estate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maud1986
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks a lot for your feedback. I am happy to inform you that we have just worked very hard on improving breakfast - taking variety, offer and also equipment into account. I am sure that we have made a big step now and maybe you can take the chance sometime to enjoy it! Best regards Barbara

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We only stayed here one night. It is a nice bed and breakfast, family run. Our room was fine, but we didn't stay in a room with direct access to a terrace, so those rooms for sure are nicer. The outdoors area is beautiful, great views on the vineyards and mountains, there is a beautiful pool where guests were relaxing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Silvia F
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Silvia, thanks a lot for your feedback, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe you can visit again and then also have breakfast :-) Best regards Barbara

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Had a one night stay in Stellenbosch and decided to stay at Cultivar. Staff and management were friendly and very helpful. They do not offer supper so I had to get take aways. I was surprised there was no TV in the rooms but they said they mostly cater for leisure traveller. Probably not ideal for single business traveller. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaunrivalland
Barbara F, Owner at Cultivar Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you very much for your feedback. Yes, we have mainly leisure traveller, however, we also always hope to make all of our guests happy, especially when they need to relax on a business trip. We consciously opted for no TV in the rooms - as we have such beautiful surroundings that we think it is nice to...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed in October for a couple of days to explore the wine region and found this lodge to be as good as the reviews suggested it was. The welcome was friendly and lots of local information available if needed. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom just as impressive, very modern. The views from the back of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smaske1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Arrived here for a 3 night stay as part of our honeymoon and did not want to leave. This place is stunning, set in a peaceful countryside location not far from Stellenbosch centre. Our room was the Petit Verdot overlooking the swimming pool and fields and we loved nothing more than sitting on our patio of an afternoon /evening drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,607 reviews
2.4 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
7.3 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
520 reviews
4.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
1.4 km away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If homelyness, exquisite location, professional and sincere South African hospitality is what you are looking for in a property – Cultivar Guest Lodge in Stellenbosch offers all this in one package wrapped with the added feel of luxury and elegance. Nestled between the beautiful Stellenbosch mountains and luscious vineyards, perfectly located and less than 7 km from the town centre, lies the majestic Cultivar Guest Lodge & Multi-Venue. This 12 000 square meter property with its naturally welcoming feel, endless green lawn areas, exhumes a feeling of utter relaxation and astonishment experienced by all visitors to the property. The unique building style and design of the main house, outside wings and balcony is in perfect harmony with the surrounding backdrop of greenery and mountains around. Cultivar consists of 11 uniquely & individually decorated rooms that have all their own look and feel, still keeping in perfect harmony with the ambiance of this great property. If it is an overnight stay, a special function, wedding, conference or just a day visit, Cultivar Guest Lodge still remains the most exclusive gem, your little piece of heaven, right in the heart of the Cape Winelands. We are looking forward to your visit! • Dining options: ◦ Full Continental Breakfast served daily ◦ Picnic lunch on reservation only ◦ Cold dinner on reservation only ◦ Picnic baskets can be arranged • General: ◦ Free WiFi in all areas and rooms ◦ Outdoor swimming pool ◦ Free secure parking ◦ Beautiful gardens ◦ Children welcome ◦ Accommodates groups ◦ Credit cards accepted ◦ Cell phone reception ◦ Daily excursions can be arranged ◦ Airport transfers can be arranged ◦ 25km from Cape Town International Airport ◦ Shuttle service can be arranged ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cultivar Guest Lodge

Address: M12, Bonniemile Road, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: $119 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cultivar Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cultivar Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cultivar Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cultivar Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the rooms/lodges near the swimmingpool”
  • nice bathroom
 of 5 bubbles AnjaundJuergen, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“not worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles 943eddie, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with direct access to outdoors/terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 546silviaf, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a spacious room with a view. Rooms do vary considerably.”
 of 5 bubbles Nannytanny, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look onto either the gardens or the swimming pools which are a short distance from the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles Truter, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5