We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Homtini Guest Farm

Orbitz.comUSD 59*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Homtini Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of Homtini Guest Farm
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I expected a forest experience and wasn't disappointed. Hazel Forest Cottage is hidden in the forest and with awesome views of the forested valley and mountains in the background from the deck. The walk in the forest is also an amazing experience. Gabi, our Italian greyhound also enjoyed the deck tremendously.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 498christok
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Canopy Forest Chalet is very private, well equipped and has a beautiful view. Being literally in a natural forest makes your stay so much more pleasant. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and can definitely recommend this chalet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williec287
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Canopy Cottage. The highligt was the wonderful view! Service was friendly and helpful. It was a very relaxing atmosphere, secluded without feeling unsufe. We highly recommend a trip to Homtini Guest Farm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576ejs
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was more than we expected. The tranquil situation was what we were looking for. Nothing over the top, but all we wanted. The fireplace created a warm and cozy atmosphere. Would love to visit again. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemariev670
George, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the Family tents and we loved every minute of it. Everything was neat and the staff is extremely friendly! Lots to do with the swimming pool, sauna and hiking trails. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elmav2016
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The location is perfect with breathe taking views and great value for money. We stayed in the Wild Orchid cabin overlooking the beautiful forest. The cabin offers all you need for a self-catering stay. At night we star gazed while listening to the sounds of the forest. The staff were friendly, helpful and well organised. This is the perfect location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michdejongh
Homtini, Owner at Homtini Guest Farm, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the cottage was everything that you had expected. It is true that it is the perfect spot for nature lover's to enjoy the wonderful night skies and the sounds of the forest. we look forward to hosting you again if you find yourselves in this 'neck of the woods'....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The setting and forest walks were great and the view from our cabin could not be better. Value for money not so much. Compared to other stays during the same holiday at same rates it compared poorly. From arrival the impression was neglect and poor hospitality. Cabin very basic, furniture dirty (cushion covers in lounge and on patio need a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viola G
Homtini, Manager at Homtini Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Viola, Thank-you for your review and the chance that you have given us to answer your criticisms. Normally we would apologise for any problems and shortcoming however, in this case we find it very hard to do so. From the outset your attitude to the staff was poor to say the least they went out of their way to...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Accommodation was clean and neat, everything we needed for the night was available. Was such a relaxing and peaceful experience that would definely come again and recommend to others. The luxury tent was such an interesting experience . Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinebL8459WO
Homtini, Manager at Homtini Guest Farm, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for your lovely review and that you enjoy your stay with us. Hope that we will see you in the future again! Kind regards, Homtini Guest Farm

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Wild Orchid log cabin at Homtini. The cabins are fully set up for self catering. Beautiful cabins with the balcony sitting above the tree tops, very clean. We absolutely loved this place. The scenery is stunning, another picture perfect location, only 20 mins drive from Knysna. So peaceful & fantastic place to do a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia F
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Homtini. This place is amazing, so tranquil and relaxing. We stayed in the tents which were very comfortable and had everything you needed. Lovely welcoming warm staff. I had made a mistake on the booking, I had booked for March not Feb. luckily they were able to accommodate us with no fuss.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne H

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rheenendal
9.6 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
7.0 km away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 5 in Rheenendal
147 reviews
5.9 km away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
313 reviews
6.7 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
415 reviews
16.4 km away
Knysna River Club
Knysna River Club
#24 of 101 in Knysna
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Homtini Guest Farm with its stunning views of the Outeniqua Mountains is a 90Ha working farm nestling in the indigenous forest overlooking the Homtini pass. It lies along the old Seven-pass Route between Knysna and George and is very close to the Millwood Forest Reserve and gold mine. Accommodation consists of three luxury, self-catering cottages, privately situated all with their own tree-top veranda's one family bungalow and four secluded tented lodges:All cottages have stunning views and offer a great deal of privacy and tranquillity. It is a 20-minute drive to Knysna, 5 minutes from local shops and 15 minutes to the nearest beach. We are surrounded by several Nature Reserves whilst being situated in a friendly rural community.Two family lodge tents (each sleeping family of 4) on a secluded site with a campfire and a separate shared rustic kitchen but your own braai, fridge and tea-making facilities.Two private & fully self-contained luxury tents for couples, in the shade of the indigenous forest, looking down the Homtini river valley. Tents are on a large, secluded site, with en-suite bathrooms and a wooden verandah.Located on the edge of the forest with beautiful views, each tent is equipped with a fridge, double bed, a dining table, a wooden cupboard, with cups, plates and utensils. All linen and towels are provided, as well as an electric kettle for your cup of tea in the morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homtini Guest Farm

Address: Farm Portion 185, Leeuwenbosch | End of Rheenendal Road, Rheenendal, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Rheenendal
Price Range: $65 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homtini Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Homtini Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Homtini Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The website gives a clear and helpful description of the accommodation available”
royh859, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Canopy was our super chalet. However there are lovely tents too”
johnsU3830ND, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a luxury tent overlooking the Knysna forest tree tops - awesome”
KarenH106, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“You can't see any of the other units, each one in it's own little tranquil spot.”
elmav2016, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Wild Olive and the other wooden cottage overlooking the view”
FionaRecord, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 59* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 59
Expedia.comUSD 59
Hotels.comUSD 58
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates