We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located in the beautiful Little Karoo, conveniently close to both the Garden Route and Route 62, we offer a unique base from which to enjoy and explore the beauty of this region. For the sophisticated young at heart, we offer an African experience with comfort, tranquility and style, furnished with hand-picked Karoo interior. We offer 4 double or twin bedded rooms with private entrance and patio each with own bathroom plus shower. All rooms are equipped with DSTV television, overhead fans, air conditioners, heaters, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Beautifull enclosed indigenous garden and Private Swimmingpool. All this for you to enjoy! We welcome you!
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
133Reviews
32Photos
1Q+A
9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 40
  • 9
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Everything was perfect the hospitality was amazing the service we got is of excellent, the breakfast was nice the room evertything of the place felt me speechless i would choose you 100x100 again. keep up with the great work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We stayed in unit 1 and 2 which offered great accommodation and comfortable living areas. Unfortunately we had to share the pool and braai area right in front of the bedrooms of Unit 2 with 16 other units!!!!! I did not see this on the description of the facilities
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Clean rooms with a good breakfast and plenty of secure parking. The rooms are lovely and fully equipped, beds are very comfortable with decent aircons which work well. Overall we had a very good experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Karooretreat238, Owner at Karoo Retreat
Responded 12 Jan. 2019
Thank you so much for a great review!!! So glad you enjoyed Karoo Retreat and our beds and safe and secure parking. Would love to see you again. Kind Regards Este
Read more
The Villas of the property are brand new and thus a beautiful and comfortable stay. However, we stayed in the cottage/wendy house which was a disaster. A disgrace compared to the villas. It was super hot, the shower did not work properly. The wendy house falls apart and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Karooretreat238, Owner at Karoo Retreat
Responded 12 Jan. 2019
Dear Sir The old farm house and cottage has been there many years and are on the property next door. The rustic cottage that you have booked is our lowest rate for accommodation at Karoo Retreat and cost half of our latest new Luxury Villas. You could have booked a villa no one stopped you but you have booked the rustic cottage instead . Alot of guest loves the rustic romantic little cottage. We have a brand new aircon in the cottage and it works you could have put it on for the heat of the Karoo and infront of the cottage is the pool where you could have taken a dip to cool of. You are most welcome to book a villa next time. Kind Regards Este
Read more
We were a group of 5 adults planning a reunion for New Year so we booked a 4 bedroom villa on 1 July 2018 and paid the required 50% deposit to airbnb. In November we contacted the owner to enquire about adding 2 people to our booking - making a total of 7 adults, only to be told
Read more
Response from Karooretreat238, Owner at Karoo Retreat
Responded 13 Jan. 2019
Dear Neil Now for the hundreth of time. Long story short. There was a double booking which happens in our industry. I wanted to cancel many times and you have begged us to keep the booking. We have upgraded you without an extra charge from standard double rooms to 2 luxury selfcatering villas plus 2 rooms. You were fine with it. You booked for 5 people and told us you were now 7. Again we tried to accommodate you and tried to be polite. I still wanted to cancel because the place you have booked was taken and yes it is our fault completely. Because in this industry in 27 years I had my guesthouse it does happen some time. I bended backwards to accommodate you. You were happy with the rooms plus you ask for free breakfast as well. After you have slept and eaten you threaten us that you want everything for free otherwise you will post bad reviews if we dont do what you say, you sweared at us and use terrible language and told airbnb you want a refund after you have stayed and eaten for free. That my friend is low and cheap. So you got your refund and stayed for free and had breakfast for free and put bad reviews. You abuse the industry to get freebies. Poor other guesthouse owners that must sit up with you. Hope you got what you want and are happy my dear Neil with all your freebies!!!!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementKaroo Retreat
Luxxury selfcatering villas
Room
Challet Room
Bathroom
Room
PreviousNext
123
"Do Not Book Here"
"We stayed in Room 02 off the main dining area, but there are apartment style rooms as well that look great for families."
"Room number 3 is great, with a big queen bed and a patio overlooking the pool. The room was big and very spacious."
"Book the larger house as you only pay per person and if you love to cook the kitchen is lovely"
"Rooms in the main building are more spacious and have access to kitchen units. The separate unit does not."
PreviousNext
12
PRICE RANGE
USD 48 - USD 86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOudtshoorn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing