We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

783 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 601: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Buffelsdrift game lodge ist a place in the heart of the Ostrich country, Just a few kilometers out of Oudtshoorn on the route to Cango caves. The luxury tents are buildt along the lake where the hippos spend the day. The restaurant serves great food and the safari is really worthed to join. We enjoyed our stay in this lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnieLee17
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed the unique experience of staying in our luxury tents and that you have enjoyed the meals prepared at our restaurant too. We are also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the...

Lake Country, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a pleasant surprise - this place was amazing...Tanya took us on a game drive that we will never forget - the views from the top of the mountain were breath taking! We saw so many animals and she was extremely knowledgeable and patiently answered all our questions. The food was incredible - the chefs know how to cook! Probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lpk1119
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you s much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every second of the unique experience of staying at our lodge. It warms our hearts to hear that our incredible staff, service and restaurant have been a highlight for you as you look...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed everything but when it was time to eat we were stuck to eat greasy, heavy food for children and adults in the 38 degree environment. We stayed 2 days, wishing we could go eat somewhere else but had paid for all inclusive. The chef was kind enough to reduce oil, frying and reduce sauces for our kids and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 558asandam
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge. We appreciate your constructive feedback on where you feel we need to improve the selection of meals we offer on our menu, this will be taken into consideration. We are also pleased to hear that this has not tainted your experience with us and...

Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really loved this place, the tent is perfect and the view even better. It was our most expensive stay. We also really liked diner and breakfast, with much choices and life cooking. I would suggest this to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlette V
Buffelsdrift, Owner at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us at Buffelsdrift! It warms our hearts to hear that you have enjoyed every second of your stay with us and that you were satisfied with your accommodation. We wish you both all the best on your journey together and we hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd visit as out first time was the previous February, very accommodating staff with great customer service who made sure that our request for the same tent and our meal requests in the gazebo were met. Nadia went out of her way to ensure everything went smoothly before we arrived and our booking went smoothly, her service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky C
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed this stay with us just as much as your first. Thank you so much for making special mention of our amazing staff ad service at the lodge, it warms our hearts to hear that this has been a highlight for you as you...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice get away for short stay. the lodge takes good care of the wild life. Sounds of birds and ducks making the nights special. a germ in the karoo. builders make noice from 8 am. should do upgrades in winter time. sundowner at bush safari ran out of beers. no wine or gin tonic (wich is AFRICAN) was offered.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank falkherrmanng
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your short stay with us and that our wonderful wildlife have been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay. Apologies for the inconveniences caused by the shortage of beverages during your safari, we appreciate that you have brought this o...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visite Buffelsdrift for the second time. We certainly enjoyed the stay and the game drive. However, it was not as pleasant as the first time. Service was not on top. The Rangers were very young and certainly lacked experience and enthusiasm we appreciated the first time. Already the first time we complained about faulty light illuminating your way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dieter S
Buffelsdrift, General Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your experience at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge. We are sad to hear that you have not enjoyed your second visit, please accept our apologies for the lack of service and inconveniences with your accommodation. We appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. We hope...

Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The ride from Knysna to Oudtshoorn was well worth the experience of the bush ride at Buffelsdrift. Lots to see, also up close, knowledgable guides and excellent service. Even during the afternoon ride we managed to spot Rhino, Giraf, Water buck, Springbok, Jackhall, Wildebeest, loads of birds and much more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guest I
Buffelsdrift, Owner at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at Buffelsdrift and for choosing to join us for one of our bush safaris. We are pleased to hear that our wonderful guides and rangers have made such a wonderful impression too. We hope that you will be back to visit again in future to experience...

Sunninghill
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I suggest that the air conditioner is switched on before guests arrive, it was 37 degrees when we arrived. Air conditioner was extremely noisy, cannot relax. Tent 10. Service was outstanding - excellent team. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 460susane
Buffelsdrift, Owner at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge. We appreciate your feedback on how we can improve Our guests experience when they arrive, especially in the warm Oudtshoorn weather. It warms our hearts to hear that our wonderful staff and service has been a highlight for you as you look...

Oudtshoorn
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a very nice trip for us as we were placed in George. A place where you also can go with little children. The elephant feeding was very funny and nice as you could go very close to them. Keep going on like this as it will be very important for human beings to have a view on the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan A
Buffelsdrift, Owner at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed the unique experience we offer in the area with our tented accommodation and onsite activities. Thank you for your recommendation, as well as your notes on where you feel we need to improve...

619 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (565)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (309)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.7 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
455 reviews
8.1 km away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
291 reviews
25.3 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
842 reviews
14.9 km away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
445 reviews
17.4 km away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $202 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Buffelsdrift Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a waterfront tent - got to sit and watch the hippos play!”
 of 5 bubbles Lpk1119, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beside the water is great ,but some people may be disturbed by the noise from the birds.”
 of 5 bubbles jcjohnston43, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a tent by the lake as close as possible to the reception building.”
 of 5 bubbles mlx11, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Tents close to the waterhole has the best views! The birds are noisy, but that's all part of the experience.”
 of 5 bubbles hannetjier, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“luxury waterfront are great , overlooking the dam”
 of 5 bubbles petra974, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5