We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monkey Valley Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noordhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Monkey Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monkey Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Eye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We had been recommended to try the Monkey Valley Resort Restaurant and our first impressions were very good, as the outdoor deck was beautifully positioned to look out over the Noordhoek beach and to watch the sunsets. As a strong breeze blew up we requested a move inside and this was quickly done. However, from that stage things started to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DenisWendy
Darren B, Manager at Monkey Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi Denis Thank you for taking the time to write this review and its always good to get feedback so I can relate back and improve the service. I will speak to the chef and my floor managers, if possible can you please email me on restaurant@monkeyvalleyresort detailing your time of visit. Kind Regards Darren

CApe Town
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stunning Beach views. Log fires with wood provided. Spacious. Winter Special prices. A getaway in Cape Town that was a spit away from home but made us feel that we had traveled all the way up the Garden Route. What more could we want for my mom's 80th birthday weekend. In fact the only hindrance was that we had planned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank modiCT
Reviewed 11 June 2016

I had an awe-inspiring experience at Monkey Valley Beach Nature Resort. It exceeded my expectations. My thatched, log type cottage room, bathroom and balcony overlooked the lush fauna, breath-taking infinite silky white sand and sea view, were one could hear the soothing sea waves cascading in the foreground. It was a perfect combination. The unit included another of my favourites;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 31 May 2016

An African classic. Spacious, clean, classic and classy cottages. Privacy, an amazing beach and a solid restaurant away from the hustle and bustle of Capetown yet not too far away. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLOWBOATFILMS
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We where hoping for a romantic weekend all snug in between the trees. But what we got was a bathroom window overlooking the nabours lounge. We got rained on during the night as the roof was leaking and was moved into another room. The new room was also leaking and they didn't seem to bothered by it. We asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marlenevanzyl
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Celebrated my one year anniversary overnight here and it was everything we expected. Really romantic and our room was incredible and more than decently priced (we stayed in the Crowned Eagle Suite) We will definitely be back to stay overnight. Service in restaurant is lacking, that would be my only complaint but it's still definitely worth going.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JuliaLopesZa
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2016

What could have been an amazing stay, with guaranteed recommendations, turned into a case of "I would not be recommending this to anyone I know". The resort itself has seen better days, however, the worn look gives it character which I particularly liked. I loved the room and the view is incredible. The cabin was charming and would be awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G1-All-Over
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Checked out this place because of the superb location and because I needed a place where my friends can visit and enjoy the Cape Too. Location couldn't be better. But!! Oh Goodness me, especially as I do hate writing poor reviews but people need to be warned off poor value hotels. If you are going to run one, at least...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank c0nnysir
Darren B, Manager at Monkey Valley Resort, responded to this review

As much as I don't like to be drawn into a debate and seem like we are making excuses for a "poorly run resort" but feel like I should respond to this review on behalf of 96 staff members and re-assure the hundreds of clients that have booked international weddings and conferences for the next two years. Our house keeping...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2016

My first impressions checking in was a mouse that ran over my feet,after this experience I thought I would have a quiet dinner however the owners have their dogs in the dining area.two of the dogs came to sit next to me moaning and begging for food which is completely unacceptable!seeing that I paid R180 for my meal you would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cerone S
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Been here a nuber of times usually on a Sunday for lunch, and is usually very nice however on this occasion the food was poor and the services only moderate. Its a wonderful outlook over Noordhoek"s magnificent beach.Even though its well worth the visit for the view only we will be reluctant to eat here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeswallow01
Darren B, Manager at Monkey Valley Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. As you stated you have been here a number of times and it is usually very nice. Every restaurant has a bad day please don't judge us on one bad day and please try us again. Regards Darren

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
13.1 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
5.3 km away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
197 reviews
12.7 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
208 reviews
3.6 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
395 reviews
2.5 km away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst ancient Milkwood trees and overlooking 8 kilometres of Noordhoek beach is Monkey Valley Resort. World's apart from city living yet only 25 minutes to the centre of Cape Town - Monkey Valley Resort is an atypical splendor tucked onto the southern slopes of Chapman's Peak Drive. The resort offers a blend of self-catering old world log and brick thatched luxury cottages and bedrooms. Each is hidden in private alcoves within the rare milkwood forest, ensuring complete seclusion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monkey Valley Resort

Address: Mountain Road | Off Beach Rd, Noordhoek, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: $152 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monkey Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Monkey Valley Beach Nature Hotel Noordhoek
Monkey Valley Resort Noordhoek, South Africa - Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monkey Valley Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Monkey Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose far from restaurant and bar”
 of 5 bubbles Tierfontein, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Visit Monkey Valley before you select a room.”
 of 5 bubbles cherylv290, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Crowned Eagle suites private and excellent views.”
 of 5 bubbles ronelstreicher, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Bux019, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay would be my recommendation”
 of 5 bubbles Manc61, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5