We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 142*
View Deal
#13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lofts Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Anyone wishing a pleasant place to stay in Knysna in easy walking distance of numerous good restaurants and in a central location for Knysna and the surrounding area, need look no further. Very pleasant and helpful staff headed by the manager Carla who goes the extra mile to help with any problems or assistance required , a couple of rooms...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
Management response:

Dear James F, Thank you for taking time to write a review for The Lofts. It was wonderful having you, your wife and your friends stay with us for a month. You guys were lovely guests and we loved your honesty and the constructive notes that you had made. We believe that we cannot improve unless we are informed of...

Bristol
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We stayed here for two nights and had one of the suite rooms which included a lounge and a kitchen. As we were travelling in SA for quite a long time we originally thought we might use the kitchen to cook to make a change from eating out, but when we saw how poor the kitchen was and how poorly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
Management response:

Dear TravelNutBristol, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We would love to know in which room you stayed and what specifically was lacking from the kitchen as we would really like to improve on this. It is always good to know what guests would prefer to use in a kitchen as everyone is...

Wistow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2015

On being shown to the room our first impression was ITS HUGE !! Long long lounge with separate bed room ( which is v nice ) as we were only there for the one night this was probably wasted on us ( longer stays would maybe spread out more ) Thyssen island is tiny so you can't have a bad...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G8865UUstevew
Management response:

Dear G8865UUstevew, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. Our self-catering units are perfect for long stays your right and we do have 2 other room types (luxury lagoon suites and luxury loft rooms). It is just dependant on your booking choice for which room type you get. ile de pain is a very...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We had a wonderful with panoramic views over the lagoon. The only downside was the wi-fi was a bit restricted and the breakfast arrangements were in a local cafe (Ile de pain) which is very busy with long waits in summer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris J
Management response:

Dear Chris J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. We have had several mentions that guests are still not happy with the wifi at the hotel and I have contacted our Internet Service Provider. They are working on a completely new system for us which will hopefully work much better than the current...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Everything was pretty much as expected based on reading trip advisor reviews. We had one of the Lagoon View suites (the one right above the lobby). Excellent view over the lagoon and a fantastic space. We did not ever hear any noise from the lobby, other than the light sound of music during the day when we had our patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveInVancouver
Management response:

Dear steveinvancouver, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Lofts. It is a very honest and true review and it is always great to read a lovely review like this. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

Reviewed 4 January 2015

We were excited to go here after seeing pictures of the Hotel but when we arrived we were given an awful room above the downstairs Bakery. It was the middle of summer, super hot and no air whatsoever in the stuffy room. One small window lead onto a busy street outside with noise all night from party revellers. Really had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Management response:

Dear Andrew B, Thank you for writing a review for The Lofts. It is a pity you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'm not sure in which room you stayed but I can say that all our rooms have doors and windows opening to the outside and all rooms have aircons and if there are issues with the...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We stayed at The Lofts for two nights and it is a really nice boutique hotel. Staff is very friendly and always ready to help and the views are pretty. This is a very nice hotel for resting and relaxing and not too far from places tourists would go.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EraneJoubert
Management response:

Dear EraneJoubert, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for The Lofts. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We had a stunning view from our room overlooking the lagoon, which really made the stay for us. The service is attentive when required, or you can be left to savour the surroundings without too much interruption if that is what you are looking for (which suited us just fine). The building suits the area and you really do melt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul_H_Ldn
Management response:

Dear Paul_H_Ldn, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for The Lofts. It is good to hear that you were relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Lofts in the near future. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team

London, England
Reviewed 22 December 2014

We stayed here for three nights last month. The room was really lovely, with an extremely comfortable bed and a private sun deck complete with loungers. The hotel is really interesting, with several shops sharing the old boathouse with the hotel. We especially enjoyed breakfast at Ile De Pain, the neighbouring cafe, which was really outstanding - the best toast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMariaB87
Management response:

Dear AnnaJones87, Thank you for writing a review for The Lofts. It is good that you mention our short comings as without knowing we will not improve. We have however contacted the plumber and he has looked into the hot water issue. We will also be looking at another resolution for our free wifi system that we currently have. We...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is a true boutique hotel. It is an old boathouse that was ingeniously changed into a hotel. It feels like being on a enormous ship with wooden walkways hanging in the air to reach your room. Fantastic interior decorating. Good quality finishes. Feel like a kid all over again with rooms built around the existing beams. The beams necessitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steyn V
Management response:

Dear Steyn V, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderfully honest review of The Lofts. It is great to hear that The Lofts awoke the kid in you with the unique architecture. We hope to welcome you and your family back here again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Lofts Boutique Hotel

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.8 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
791 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
10.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $134 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lofts Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“East-facing rooms offer stunning views over the Knysna Lagoon.”
  • View of The Lofts Boutique Hotel from Thesen Pier.
B9406LCsaraht, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“definitely a view on the lagoon is a must (but probably all rooms have that view)”
  • view from The Lofts
  • Evening view from the pool terrace.
  • Even in the tub one can enjoy the view...
SielVdD, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Luxury Loft rooms with great views.”
Oudtshoorn1, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be very specific when reserving whether you want a lagoon view.”
rweisfe, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The suite with view over the lagoon”
wilnaventer, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 142* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 148
Orbitz.comUSD 143
TravelocityUSD 143
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates