We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Show Prices
#13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall we were disappointed with this resort. We found the chalets comfortable and clean, but the furniture TV and fittings were of only average quality. We had a poor meal in the restaurant on our first night, which was refunded when we checked out. There was very little comfortable furniture in the bar, and the restaurant where breakfast was served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We're sorry to hear that our overall offering in regard to accommodation and dinner service did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused - we certainly do our best to offer a standard that reflects the reasonable...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed as part of Riviera Travel package. Fantastic room with high thatched roof . Lovely restaurant and great staff on the beautiful garden route. Highly recommended. Several swimming pools and very pleasant grounds. Well situated to visit Featherbed nature reserve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waterheating
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we are all thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay - safe travels home from all at Knysna Hollow!

Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third visit to Knysna Hollow and was as good as the first two. The accommodation is in beautiful, thatched roof chalets located around the grounds. Nice bar and restaurant and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_and_wife
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

What a wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we're simply thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed your return stay with us once again! It's always a pleasure for our Team to know that we are getting it right and we can't wait to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best regards from all...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had 3 nights here in a basic room. It was very clean and all the staff could not do enough for you, however just lacking on the small things like tissues etc in your room. But did get free water each day, we ate here at night as well and although a small choice the quality was brilliant. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernvines
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed feedback of your recent stay with su at Knysna Hollow and we're all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. This type of feedback certainly helps us to know where we are getting our service offering right and where we have room to improve! Thanks again and best regards from all at...

Reviewed 11 January 2017

The accommodation was a separate building which was big with a big bathroom. There was a good variety of food available for breakfast which was the only meal we had there. The staff were friendly. The hotel Wifi was not very good. The location is about 30 minutes walk from the Waterfront.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shailam S
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow, we appreciate the feedback and wish you safe travels back home. Best regards from all at Knysna Hollow.

Reviewed 10 January 2017

The hotel is located about 2 km from Knysna Quays and from the center. the location is right in the center of the garden route and it's pretty easy to drive to both eastern cape (Plettenberg Bay and Tsitsikamma) and western cape (Mossel bay). The restaurant is fine and the rooms as well. Reccomended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback of your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow and we're all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Best regards from Clive and the Knysna Hollow Team.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel with expectations of a nice stay with the price we had paid per night. It is really low value for money and not how the pictures look. Our room had a TV from 1970 that resembled an ATM. It smelt of damp, the toilet didn't flush and the water wasn't hot. It looked nothing like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enty07
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and honest feedback - we're all very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and will look into the issues raised in regard to your room and the service experienced. It is a very busy time of year for us and I would hope your issues with your toilet and the hot water...

London
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a 3-4 star resort that is close to amenities but has few of it's own. We had three rooms, one of which was a whole villa. The larger villas are carpeted and are quite musty. If windows are left open at night time its mosquito invasion time. The staff were very pleasant and worked hard to accommodate us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muffler
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Knysna Hollow. We're pleased to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay and sincere apologies if there were certain aspects that did not meet your expectations - we will certainly use your input to improve on our service offering where we can! Best...

Reviewed 22 December 2016

We were very impressed with Knysna Hollow Country estate because our stay was everything we wanted from our holiday. The location was so beautiful. Our place was clean, breakfast was good, the staff was very helpful and so friendly. Just the perfect place if you really just want to relax and unwind. A special thanks to the following staff: Martin,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronelle F
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it's always so encouraging to hear that our guests appreciate our personal service at Knysna Hollow. We wish you safe travels home and all the best over the Festive Season from all of us at Knysna Hollow Country Estate!

Reviewed 14 December 2016

It's not obvious that any client wants free, unlimited access to get online anytime in his trip? For me it is. I urgely needed to get online in this place for job tasks and much more and they could just offer 250MB PER DAY. No appeal, the only way to get more data is paying further for miserable 30 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana Marcia A
Clive B, General Manager at Knysna Hollow Country Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for advising us of your dissatisfaction with our free wi-fi offering. Unfortunately, as we are situated in a country area, we are limited in how much access to free wi-fi we can offer all our guests by the speed of our connection - we are currently making use of a 20MB VDSL line,...

278 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.3 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
7.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
5.1 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 2km from the picturesque town of Knysna, Knysna Hollow Country Estate offers comfortable accommodation and friendly service in lush and tranquil surrounds. Three swimming pools, a first-class restaurant offering contemporary Cape cuisine with an extensive wine list and a relaxed environment all combine for a memorable holiday for the whole family. Various room types to choose from including Garden Rooms, Garden Chalets and our new Superior Eco Estate Rooms, each room type offering various levels of comfort and amenities at different rates. Enjoy the lush, country feel of our indigenous gardens, yet only 5 minutes from Knysna town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Hollow Country Estate

Address: 5 Welbedacht Lane, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $119 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Knysna Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hollow Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Hollow Country Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalet 4 (standalone accommodation for 2 people)”
 of 5 bubbles shailams, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had Lodge 14 which was beautiful. I am sure all lodges are of excellent standard.”
 of 5 bubbles R2581YLmaryd, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Eco rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Tam494, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one of the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles johndO9317LN, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Accomodation is individual thatched roof bungalow type buildings”
 of 5 bubbles dav3com, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5