We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Knysna Riverside Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Knysna Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knysna Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed over in Knysna during July. Although about 5 km out of town the lodge has a beautiful location with easy access. The owners are very helpfull & friendly. The rooms basically consists of a bedroom & bathroom. Nothing fancy but very neat. I believe the lodge to be child friendly (families). Be sure to dine at the in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Our stay was awesome. Friendly staff and amazing facilities. Beautiful views with warm comfy beds. Suitable for summer and winter adventures. Will definitely be visiting again and will recommend to everyone I know.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank courts155
George, South Africa
Reviewed 1 June 2015

My husband and I was at The Gieter for a 40th birthday party, what a lovely restaurant, with the best food we had in a very long time. We stayed over at Riverside Lodge, just as nice. The room overlooks the Knysna forest. So peaceful. The whole experience would not have been the same, if it wasn't for the owner...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We were only here for a single night but had a great stay. Remy and his family were very friendly. I see a lot of bad reviews but bear in mind they are giving a very fair price via groupon while they renovate. We booked through another site and had a booking that included breakfast. Breakfast was excellent. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mokeweb
Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Groupon stay. When we arrived, the lady working at check out seemed super nice, and things were off to a great start. We didn't have time to check in as we were in a rush and needed to get to a tour, so we got our key and moved on. We came back at about 9pm and went into our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEH87
Owner D, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, you and your partner are posting this bad review on a quite regular basis now, (the last was from april 16th) about your stay at the lodge on feb the 25th. To close it, i forward bellow the last response i did, and whish you a pleasant day Regards Remy Our answer for your review on april 16th...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We used a groupon voucher for a 3day stay. We stayed in a forest suite. The facility is old and tired. Rats/mice in the ceiling and as the ceiling isn't sealed off properly dust and bits end up on the bed. Towels need replacing. Hand towel had holes in. We had a power outage on the Friday night and arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diane2355
Owner D, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make a review regarding your stay with us. Guests feedback are very important to us and help us improving our service. I am really sorry your stay was not as memorable as it could have been As you mention the place is quite old, we took over 6 month ago and are still...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We took up the 2 night Groupon special and arrived to find the room looked nothing like the photos advertised. Everything in the room was old and the shower and bed was dirty enough to request another room. On request the manager/owner, Remy, threw a fit and complained about "fussy people". I find it hard to believe that someone working...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GL_CT01
Owner D, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the Lodge You were given a nice Forest room with river view and king size bed, the bathroom was with a Shower, which obviously upset your wife as you wanted a room with corner tub and Jacuzzy but just paying R800 for 2 nights for 2 people!!! About cleanness I showed you when I...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 May 2015

What a wonderful stay we had! I was amazed at the excellent food we had every evening. The owner and her sons are busy renovating the accommodation and even though there is still a lot of work to be done, the environment makes up for whatever there is lacking.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swanepsc
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Booked this lodge after finding a Groupon at a reasonable price, it turns out this wasn't much more than the regular cost of the room, less breakfast. When we arrived, found the room we were staying in did not look anything like the pictures we'd seen but we figured for the cost we could suck it up. We later learned...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Courtney B
Owner D, Owner at Knysna Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing, I found however strange to read such a review posted more than 2 month after your stay. And the reality is quite far from your comments. The Groupon offer was 50% of the rate and not “regular cost of the room, less breakfast”! you just refused to pay your breakfast in the morning, even though on your...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Beautifully nestled in the Knysna forest overlooking the lagoon with stunning sunrises and monkeys playing in the trees. We loved the natural setting, perfect for a leisurely stroll, and pool/braai area among the forest trees. The property is massive and we enjoyed a 2 km forest hike on the property itself. The restaurant is a huge draw card with exquisite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue_ann_nicholls

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
8.8 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 102 in Knysna
301 reviews
15.7 km away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 14 in Sedgefield
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Knysna River Club
Knysna River Club
#26 of 102 in Knysna
152 reviews
5.2 km away
191 Nirvana
191 Nirvana
#37 of 102 in Knysna
28 reviews
5.7 km away
Knysna Inn
Knysna Inn
#40 of 102 in Knysna
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country style river and garden view suites available in Knysna on the Garden Route, situated on a private nature reserve of over 25 hectares, overlooking the Knysna River and Knysna Lagoon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Riverside Lodge

Address: 5 Phantom Pass Road, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $34 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Riverside Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Knysna Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book in advance for their popular dinner-time seating. The Forest Suite Cottage can get some noise from cars entering the property. Book for at least 3 nights to fully enjoy the Lodge and surrounding area.”
  • Sunrise on the lagoon.
  • Water Pond in front of Riverside Suite.
  • Lagoon view from lodge.
  • Forest view from Riverside Suite.
  • Riverside Suite Bedroom.
  • Riverside Suite front room.
 of 5 bubbles Sue_ann_nicholls, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Best views are on the rooms up next to the restuarant.”
 of 5 bubbles Khumbulani, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 was large and had a jacuzzi”
 of 5 bubbles LynnT873, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Chalet/room 14 was absolutely fantastic, great views and very intimate/private.”
 of 5 bubbles Brobertson86, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Corner suites are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles 986magdah, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5