We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Country House

Show Prices
#19 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Knysna Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Knysna Country House
 Click to rate
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We vere travelling the Garden Route and arrived at Knysna Country Hotel on the 25th of January. When we arrived we felt that the room we got did not qualify as the luxury room stated in the itinerary from African Eagle and compared to other location chosen with same room classification. The booking was made in August last year. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjorgkh
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Bjorg, Let's first establish that the agent booked standard rooms with us and because we only have 3 of those rooms, we had to upgrade some of your friends. When I asked for a booking voucher, in order to establish that you were under the right impression that luxury room were booked, that voucher was not given to the...

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place with stunning views and wonderful breakfast. We were upgraded to the private 'honeymoon suite', a separate room built near the pool, which obviously was awesome. Very nice owners and staff who know hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter_0808
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Maybe we had to many expectations after al the beautiful hotels we had till now. They try to be really helpful and kind and also it is situated in a very nice area. The swimmingpool is ok..... But in common the house is dated. No airco, bad condition, fungi in the shower.... not what we expected (when you book the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoelNL
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Noel, We are not angry with you, it just the classic example, coming from our experience, seeing you walk into our guesthouse, knowing immediately we cannot please guests like you and we will see a bad review somewhere. And indeed. Our guesthouse is dated (just as everything else that is built) and, more specifically, your room was built 9...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We spent the last two evenings of our vacation at the Knysna Country house. Very welcoming staff and management, warm, comfortable stay.. it is very apparent that there is alot of focus in the detail. Breakfast was very welcomed and went down well.. Thank you for the great stay! We will be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We enjoyed a great stay at Knysna Country House. It was a quiet, lovely country house situated on the hill away from the city centre. Rooms were excellent, soft beds and spacious bathroom. We stayed in the luxury double room which was exactly that, we also had our own private deck. Breakfasts were brilliant, wide selection of food and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-pierre L
Paris, France
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Owners are very kind and helpful. We spent 2 greats night. The place is very peaceful and quiet. Room are clean and big with everything you need : TV, little fridge with drinks, coffee, tea. There is a "honesty bar" one the lobby which means you can take wine, beers and write it down on the notebook what you took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah2998
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewed 23 November 2016

It is really a excellent site, nothing to complain about staff and host. Breakfast is excellent. I would recommend to care a bit to the rooms which could be quite nice. But: rusty dustbin in bathroom, holes in the wall of livingroom, not 100% cleaned bathroom at the beginning (improved after the 1st. night) Such peanuts decreasing the overall impression...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelvio2004
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed in the familyroom, next to the pool. small sitting area and 2 good sized bedrooms. very friendly staff. we gladly would stay here again. beautifull views in the morning and a lovely garden. the owners and the dogs are very friendly as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Titia S
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 16 June 2016

it is not far from the heads and a short drive from the town and waterfront area. We arrive late and immediately ushered to our room for rest. the room are big and nice, with a balcony. the bathroom even have double shower. Morning was great, with outdoor breakfast and great view. Tara, the friendly black labrador make another good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank limwiehan
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We stayed in a standard room. The place was not very impressive, not to tell disappointing - the bedclothes was not smelling very fresh, an air extractor in the bathroom was like never cleaned, mould around the shower door and sink, walls cracked in the bedroom, a hinge of a closet door was broken, - with other words - this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mada1234
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Mada, Pity you did not like your stay with us at the Knysna Country House. We are trying our best to ensure that all of our guests have a relaxing stay with us, but we seem to have failed you. It is a pity you did not come to us, since most of your problems we could have solved...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
14.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.0 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
732 reviews
6.7 km away
The St. James of Knysna
5.8 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Sussex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony facing directly to the view will be great, but it may offred at higher price”
 of 5 bubbles limwiehan, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard rooms are noisy - you hear every single move of the other room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Mada1234, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main part.”
 of 5 bubbles Liza_Blackman, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best views will be rooms 5 and up!”
 of 5 bubbles Anneke_botha, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go for the luxury rooms, the little extra is so worth the view.”
 of 5 bubbles IndigoSoulStar, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5