We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Expedia.comUSD 211*
View Deal
#20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa
 Click to rate
Paarl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Simola before and therefore invitied friends to join us with their family. We arrived on Saturday 29 April 2017 and they were excited with the venue and unit facilities. We occupied A6 and A7 which provide wonderful view of the Knysna area. After arrival we decided to hit the pool given wonderful weather and the prospects...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Talitha H
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good evening Talitha Thanks you for your review and very valid points. I do apologise for the bad experience you had at Simola - Kind regards Linda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As Manager and Executive of the North West Senior Inter Provincial golf team I would like to say that Simola as a venue for the SA Inter Provincial golf was outstanding in every aspect The accommodation,golf course,catering and staff were exceptional and of a 5 star quality Nothing was too much trouble for the Management and housekeeping team This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilma L
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good evening Mike Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting the Senior ITP Golf. We look forward in Welcoming you back to Simola in the near future. Kind regards Linda

Gariep Dam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, good accommodation, lovely view, friendly staff, clean, noisy fgolfers in the dining room whilst breakfast was disturbing, waitress during dinner did an excellent job. Will I come again? Yes

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank msP2868RG
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I apologise for the noise you experienced in our Dinning room during your stay. We were fortunate to host the Senior IPT Golf tournament (140 golfers) for a week. These Men truly enjoyed their stay at Simola and had great Team spirit amongst another. We hope to welcome you back at...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very friendly staff, The view from the room is breath taking. breakfast was excellent. We have recommended this hotel to our family member and friends as well and they were all happy with their stay as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suleiman E
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Sir Thank you very much your review. We hope to welcome you back at Simola Hotel & Country Club very soon. Kind regards Linda

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the beautifully decorated luxury apartments at Simola for Easter. Nothing to fault about the room, but the resort was disappointingly quiet. Other than an Easter lunch, nothing else was organized for the Easter holidays. The outdoor pool though slightly heated, was still freezing cold. It would have been attractive if kids were allowed to use...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fagmeedah
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good evening Mr Fagmeedah Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Simola Hotel & Golf Estate was busy over the Easter Weekend with Tour Groups that visited our Beautiful area. As mentioned to you in your email earlier today we do not allow any children under the age of 16 into our Spa facility except if they...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Simola is a lovely hotel in a stunning location and with a superb golf course. Unfortunately there can be a serious problem with the accommodation. This is mostly based upon 2 bedroom suites, very well appointed and many with great views. However if you book a '1 bedroom suite' for two people this will be a 2 bedroom suite but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobbieMac2015
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mr RobbieMac Thank you for the review that you submitted. We do "sell" the B-rooms as you mentioned in your review when Guests do not want to pay for the entire Luxury suite. I am sure you will agree that it is not profitable for any rooms to stand vacant when we can generate an income from it...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This is a spectacular hotel, especially if you enjoy views and golf! The restaurant was however, very disappointing for a 5 star establishment. Burgers, steak and pizza for supper. May as well have gone to the Spur in Knysna.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne O
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Wayne Thanks for your review. We have a Bistro menu as you experienced - we have found as a Golfing Hotel that our Guest prefer this kind of menu. (there are no Pizza's on our menu) We can recommend excellent Fine dinning restaurants in the Knysna area. Kind regards Linda

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Staff, Facility, Rooms, Value for money...all Excellent Golf course superb Pool and lounges was beautiful Breakfast was Fantastic Sight seeing and nature at its best Close to everything in Knysna Will visit again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 684khalilm
Matlock England
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We recently stayed in a suite at Simola. I can only describe the experience as 'Out of this World'. The suite itself was HUGE with great attention to detail. The views from the spacious balcony and from our bedroom were amazing - over the golf course and the Knysna lagoon. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golfgirl287
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon "Golfgirl" It is wonderful to receive such positive feedback about Simola Hotel & Golf Estate. We hope to welcome you back at Simola very soon. Kind regards Linda

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The apartment was out of this world, with the most amazing views. The staff went above and beyond, making our stay memorable. My partner found a worm in her lunch, while taking advantage of the March Spa special. A new lunch was provided, and the Spa Manager comped the entire treatment. Great save!!! Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shauntreed
SimolaGM, General Manager at Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Its nice to receive such positive feedback even if there has been a little "misshap". Thanking you kindly Linda

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
8.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
791 reviews
8.5 km away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
33 reviews
4.9 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.2 km away
The St. James of Knysna
9.6 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $242 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#12 Family Hotel in Knysna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Simola Hotel Country Club & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in Suite 6, but I would imagine all the suites have amazing views. Don't know about the hotel rooms as we haven't stayed in one.”
Golfgirl287, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to book a luxury suite to ensure a 5 star experience”
MDFMDF2014, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take a room with a view. It worth every Rand.”
297lamberts, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request for the sea view. if without young children - ask to have the first floor and not the ground floor.”
ranh2017, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“lagoon facing offers stunning view, forest facing over parking”
ik1957, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 211* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 211
Priceline
Hotels.comUSD 212
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates