We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Vibe Knysna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Island Vibe Knysna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island Vibe Knysna
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Great location, everything a good hostel should have. Clean rooms (private rooms, not sure about the dorms). The staff are awesome, super friendly. The Township tour was a little disappointing but it could be that I was South African maybe the international tourists found it more interesting. I would have liked to meet some locals maybe shared a drink or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lize_Roodt
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Lize, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the time taken to write it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you found the tour a little disappointing as The township tour is always a hit. I will mention to the guys about the interaction etc. We hope you have a safe trip. Regards Dallas...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I booked and paid for 2 nights but left as soon as it was bright the next morning. Most uncomfortable sleeping things (can't call them beds). Bathroom basin tap was fitted with an old shower head. Dirty and just unpleasant. Window was broken and could not fully close. Loud noise most of the night (drunks laughing and wearing, loud music)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bhaw1975
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Good things are: Easy to reach, cheap price, friendly staffs & joyful atmosphere. Bad things are: Rooms were congested and no TV or Fridge, kitchens and surroundings were not clean and sticky floors. Very few parking facilities. Overall good for 1 or 2 days of stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 470mithunr
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. We do appreciate our guests taking time out to review our establishment. Thanks for the positive comments. We will definitely look into some of the negatives you have mentioned. Regards Dallas

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Really friendly hostel! Stayed there for two nights. Megan and Moses are wonderful. They both make you feel really welcome and at home. First night Moses helped us braai and we played pool and chilled. The bar is also great, lots of drinks and shots to choose from, ask Moses to make you the Moses special if you're brave! 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherbelling
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thanks for taking time to review us. We are glad that Moses and Megan made sure you had a memorable stay. We hope to see you again soon . Kind Regards Dallas and the Island Vibe team

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I did not stay personally in the backpackers. l The report from our team was the following: They liked the venue and thought it was value for money Nice property and clean beds, bathrooms etc The disadvantage was that most of the guest and staff were smoking dagga Our team were given money for subsistance and often found that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette & Trevo... M
Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Decent stay in a solid but unspectacular private room in a decent location near the waterfront in the centre of Knysna. Service was mostly good and the staff were very pleasant, but the wifi barely functioned (and was so slow as to be next to useless when it did) and was completely unavailable in the private rooms. The outdoor barbeque...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandermL6987DR
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, Thanks for taking time out to review our establishment. We are sorry that you did not find our place to be exactly what you expected. However we are glad you had a decent stay. We are busy working on the wifi as we have had some issues with it. Kind Regards Dallas and the Island Vibe Team.

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The people are very freindly and the vibe around the pool is very nice. There is a bar where you can buy drinks and chillout. A pool table and free wifi is available. The big dorm is a little bit a hole and if the dorm is full i could imagine there is not enough space for everybody. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joprei
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time out to review our establishment. We are glad you found the vibe to be good and that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again some day. Kind Regards Dallas and the Island Vibe team,.

Reviewed 30 January 2016

We stayed in one of the double rooms for 3 nights and we really enjoyed it! The staff is friendly and make sure there's a perfect relaxed vibe. There's a daily Braai and they offer a great township tour. Location is also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne V
Dallas L, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate our guests taking time out to review our establishment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at island Vibe. We hope to see you again some day. Kind Regards Dallas and your Island Vibe team

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2016

had a lovely stay at the island, great staff well mannered and always at your service and always willing to help where they can. Clean and neat room, very welcoming backpackers which is very safe and central. I definitely recommend it and will most definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzwakie2016
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Nzwakie Thank you for choosing Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. It is great to hear after a week long stay over new year's you guys had a wonderful time as we had a lot of fun too. We are happy to hear you'll be coming back and it will be interesting to see if Siya can...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed here just one night in a downstairs dorm that smelled a bit like petrol and was a bit grungy. The bathroom and hall light were broken. And there were only two showers/toilets--one en suite in the 10-bed dorm and one in the common area. Not recommended unless you can check out your room first.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ditha311
Ivibe K, Manager at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review

Dear Meredith Thank you for choosing to stay Island Vibe Knysna and for your valued feedback. I would like to apologize for your bad experience the smell was in fact not petrol rather the wood the beds are made off (sleeper wood) very few people are sensitive to the wood. After the Light bulb fused the night before, we did...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 km away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#27 of 101 in Knysna
78 reviews
1.0 km away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
2.9 km away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#36 of 127 in Knysna
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.6 km away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#39 of 127 in Knysna
214 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#8 of 127 in Knysna
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $25 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island Vibe Knysna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only saw our room....”
 of 5 bubbles 434sisf, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are always great, but the dorms are also good.”
 of 5 bubbles nzwakie2016, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room on the poolside of the backpackers”
 of 5 bubbles 164kylieh, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The dormroom for 10 is good. You can hear people above walking but there isn't a lot of other noise because it is not on the streetside of the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles Marijke250, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Any room is good”
 of 5 bubbles 377krystalw, 17 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay