We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Vibe Knysna

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Island Vibe Knysna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Start your review of Island Vibe Knysna
 Click to rate
Muenster, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Main problems: the bathroom of the room had a very bad smell and the room was facing the loud main road. The advertised pool is not worth talking about it... It is cheap there, but you can get more for your money! The staff was friendly though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 65nathaliee
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sad to leave my first bad review in SA. Upon arrival, we were informed our room was going to be in another house down the street, far away from the bar, pool and parking, unless we pay an extra for a room in main building. Argument was: "because you booked through another website". True, but seriously, these allow you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jigui A
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok hostel and very nice staff. Close enough to the center of Knysna, there's a mall at walking distance. 10 bed dorm was a little too crowded but then again you get what you paid for - we knew beforehand that it would be like that so ok. Overall a good option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael S
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with friends. Stayed in a 6 persons dorm. Comfortable stay and clean facilities. There is a communal kitchen which you are able to use. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They have a braai every evening, the only thing you need to do is bring your own meat. Would definitely return here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacobgoudsbloem
Management response:

Dear Jacob Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, it is with great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we try by all means to create a home away from home. Looking forward to see you in the future, enjoy the rest f your travels. Regards Knysna Team

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Island vibe so such awesome place to stay and hang! Everyone is friendly, helpful and in the evening you can have an awesome chat with the lovely Sue! This is not goodbye but see you soon <3 Muchi lobi Caitlyn & Kelvin

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitie88
Management response:

Dear libo, Cait and Kelvin Thank you for the great review, it is with great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, Sue is a very friendly person, we are lucky to have her on our team. Enjoy the rest of your travels, See you soon Kind Regards Bibby and the knysna team

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling in SA for 8 month this hostel try to steal our money by telling us lies and overcharge in several ways Bad service from the claners to the reception all bad vibes Not recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dor O
Management response:

Dear Valuable Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. It is with sadness to heat that you did not have a pleasant stay with us, the rates for the rooms are the same if you book online, through e-mail or phone, we do have a policy of no refunds, as we do inform guests on check...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 January 2017

very conviently situated. peaceful and quite surroundings. close to eater front is a plus. nice atmosphere with guests from all over. very friendly staffs. my thirs time at the resort. will recommend anyone .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassimd2017
Management response:

Dear Cassi Thank you for taking the time to review our establish, it is with great pleasure hear that you have enjoy your stay with us, it is really a good place to meet people from different countries and lean about different cultures. Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Bibby...

Durban
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The place felt like home away from home.definatly enjoyed our stay,close to the knysna mall and waterfront.Braai every day and a pool.The bar is superb with cold drinks served by friendly people 👍🏾.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 620faithm
Management response:

Dear Valuable Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, it is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive to create an atmosphere that feels like home. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Bibby and the knysna team

Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Very nice and welcoming staff, especially Gaby! I had a 2-night stay in a double room. Would appreciate daily maid service but was OK for a 2-night stay. Also a BAZ Bus stop and can organize tours and activities in the local area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank msagar
Management response:

Dear Msagar Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, we are very glad that you had a pleasant stay, we normally do service the rooms every second day, Gaby is a very bubbly person and we are lucky to have her in our team. Enjoy the rest of your travels, hope to see you again in the...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and left not only having experienced the best that this section of the garden route has to offer (thanks in large part to the incredible staff), but also feeling as though I became a close friend of everyone in the building. This staff is amazing, the location is amazing, everything is amazing. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christoph V
Management response:

Dear Christoph Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, we try to create an environment that is home away from home. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again in the future.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.0 km away
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers
22.0 km away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 19 in Sedgefield
246 reviews
1.1 km away
Knysna Backpackers
Knysna Backpackers
#24 of 102 in Knysna
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
2.4 km away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#16 of 129 in Knysna
224 reviews
2.9 km away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 129 in Knysna
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $27 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island Vibe Knysna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only saw our room....”
 of 5 bubbles 434sisf, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms are always great, but the dorms are also good.”
 of 5 bubbles nzwakie2016, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room on the poolside of the backpackers”
 of 5 bubbles 164kylieh, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The dormroom for 10 is good. You can hear people above walking but there isn't a lot of other noise because it is not on the streetside of the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles Marijke250, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Any room is good”
 of 5 bubbles 377krystalw, 17 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5