We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Phantom View Lodges

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Phantom View Lodges
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
south africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the house we rent got carpet every where instead in the bathroom...old ones. dirty. no vacuum Cleaner available. sofa were sticky. impossible to use the towels after showering, there were like humide. when you are flashing the toilets, the water coming in the pipe was making a very huge noise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 906cedricc
PhantomViewLodges, Guest Relations Manager at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and taking the time to review us. Your feedback and comments are appreciated, are very important to us. We have attended to your note on the noisy pipe and the towels. Sorry if we caused you any inconvenience. Thank you and safe travels.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a Moroccan suite while staying here. Staff are really friendly and welcoming. We only ate one evening there as wanted to explore local restaurants. They do a six course tasting menu in the evening. Breakfasts are really good with a varied selection. With some nice pool areas to relax and enjoy the views. If you do the forest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These large, well equipped units are a pleasure to stay in. The view is spectacular and the location is far enough out of town to get away from the crowds but close enough to access all Knysna has to offer. Having 3 en-suite bathrooms in holiday accommodation is luxury indeed. Phantom View lodges suited our family perfectly .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 490joannep
PhantomViewLodges, Front Office Manager at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all the positive feedback. I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the time here in Knysna. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The log cabin was very clean, The location excellent with a good view. Good location between Knysna and George. Very close to Buffalo Bay beach.However there was a dripping bath tap downstairs that was very irritating. Plumbing needs attention.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiand2017
PhantomViewLodges, Front Office Manager at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Phantom View Lodges. All feedback is truly appreciated and finding ways to improve is important to us. Safe travels and hope to have you back in the near future.

Reviewed 20 November 2016

Excellent value for money. Lodge very clean and all rooms have an en suite which makes life vert much easier. Nice view of the lagoon and very private and quite location. All though some lodges have lots of stairs to climb its worthwhile. Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce k
PhantomViewLodges, Rental Accommodation Administrator at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

 Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. This feedback is always welcoming and helpful for future guests. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your return.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at phantom. The lodge is placed in a perfect location for most attractions and the view from the balcony is just stunning. This is also a good opportunity to use the free of charge washing machine.. On the cons, It was not easy to get hold of the managment for some help like how to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liorcarmon2015
PhantomViewLodges, Rental Accommodation Administrator at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us and that you enjoyed your couple of days, your feedback is always appreciated.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed two nights in the lodges. We hired two for two families. The setting and views are magnificent and the location very convenient. We loved waking up here. Every room has a shower or bathing facility, the kitchen is extremely well equiped.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6656LJlisak
PhantomViewLodges, Rental Accommodation Administrator at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Bussum, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 October 2016

we loved staying in the lodge, lovely view over the lagune from the livingroom, bedrooms and the balcony's, very quiet location, lots of room in the appartment, all you need is available, 15/20 minutes drive from The Heads, which are on the other side of the lagune, not much service because it is self catering

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bermadette
PhantomViewLodges, Rental Accommodation Administrator at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for the stunning review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We loved every minute staying at Phantom View Lodge and would love to come back and holiday there. What a stunning view ... the peace and beauty of it just seeps into you. The interior was nicer than the internet pictures...and bed very comfortable. Nice surprise that there were heaters in the bedrooms for winter. Would highly recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann R
PhantomViewLodges, Lodge Admin at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Jo-Ann, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive feedback. So happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back.

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Thank you for providibg a safe, clean, beautiful venue with stunning views for our matric after party. Staff was very friendly and understanding. I will definitely recommend Phantpm View Lodges to anyone who wants to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrizannes
PhantomViewLodges, Front Office Manager at Phantom View Lodges, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad that all went well.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
9.2 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
5.6 km away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 101 in Knysna
282 reviews
4.9 km away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
378 reviews
0.0 km away
Phantom River View Cabins
Phantom River View Cabins
#36 of 101 in Knysna
45 reviews
5.2 km away
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LODGES INVENTORY Our Lodges have exquisite views of the lagoon and mountains which can be enjoyed from just about anywhere in the Lodge! All Lodges are equipped with; KITCHEN Complimentary Tea/coffee Kettle Fridge/Freezer Oven/Stove Toaster Coffee plunger Microwave Water Filter tap All required cutlery including braai dish & tongs Ashtrays - (Strictly no smoking indoors, only on balconies) LIVING ROOM Flat Screen TV including a DSTV bouquet Cooling Fan Activities book - Proving our guests with contact details for restaurants and activities in the area as well as all emergency numbers. BEDROOMS ( QUEEN , DOUBLE, 2 SINGLES ) All linen provided + extra blankets Radio & hairdryer Complimentary Tea/coffee Kettle Portable Weber braai (Strictly only charcoal burning) Safety deposit box with unique code which is chosen by the guest (Only available 1 bedroom) Ceiling fans Heater Cupboards BATHROOMS (3 BATHROOMS PER LODGE) Most bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms! Shower OR bath Toilet 2 x basins Soaps Towels provided Toilet paper GUEST FACILITIES Shade-cloth parking bay for each lodge (Please advise if you are traveling with a boat trailer as we have a specific unit with a larger parking space which we would then allocate you to.) Communal swimming pool (Our swimming pool is fenced to ensure safety our young guests.) Laundry room with washing machines and ironing boards (Self use) DAILY CLEANING SERVICE AVAILABLE This service is only provided to our guests; Complimentary service Guests that book 6+ nights will receive a complimentary change of Linen & Towels every 4 - 5 days Daily cleaning service (optional) Please book your service well in advance to give us enough time to arrange cleaning staff required for the day Only week days - Monday to Friday No Weekends or public holidays ( Only by special arrangement ) R75 - Making beds, washing dishes, tidying bathrooms (1 1/2 hours) R250 - Making beds, washing dishes, vacuum, bathrooms & Weber clean (3 Hours) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phantom View Lodges

Address: 27 Phantom River Street | N2 Turnoff, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly Phantom View River Resort)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phantom View Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Phantom View Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phantom View Lodges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some units may not be suitable for the elderly or visitors with limited mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles SantieQ, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Having 1 bedroom off the lounge worked well as we had my 85 year old mother with who then did not need to go up or down stairs everything was on one floor for her.”
 of 5 bubbles mandy829, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Lodge 1 has enough parking space for 2 vehicles.”
 of 5 bubbles Hawk321, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Any one of the cottages has a fantastic view over the lagoon.”
 of 5 bubbles 480BenS, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“3 of the units have a few steps to get to the entrance, if anyone in your group has physical limitations i would recommend asking for a ground floor unit.”
 of 5 bubbles TheNelsons05, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay