We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abalone Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abalone Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Abalone Guest Lodge
 Click to rate
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Second time around and this small lodge is every bit as impressive as our first visit. This time we had a room with a sea view and a delightful balcony. The room was clean and spacious with a wonderful bathroom. The staff were polite as ever, and breakfast was a real treat, all prepared as ordered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your second visit to us!!! We look forward to seeing you again next year. :-)

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't stay in room 12 which we did! Close to the busy main road and at the top of the stairs where everyone can look into your room, so you need to keep your curtains drawn! Try and book sea view rooms. Our room could also have done with a bit of maintenance i.e. broken lampshade among a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan Thank you for your time to write a review for us. We do not see this as a negative review, but only ways to improve our standards. We recommend our clients to book a sea facing room, seeing this is a sea front property with beautiful views over the WalkerBay area. According to the Mananger on duty your...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed for two nights driving on the Sunday after 18h00 - could not get access and had to phone some emergency numbers to get access and the room was not turned down for the evening - something that would not have bugged me if I have not paid nearly double for my stay as I travel solo -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene D
HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Helene Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the property. Our lodge is only staffed till 20h00 as mentioned on the welcome note. If our guests are in the room, we do not disturb. We trust you enjoyed your trip in South Africa and hoping to welcome you back in the near...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Abelone for one night , Melissa gave us excellent service,going the extra mile to make us comfortable and at home. The guest house is well situated near the town and on the cliffpath walk. Breakfast was prepared with great care to detail and served on a beautiful patio overlooking the sea. All in all a wonderful stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank may611
HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review on our TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back!!!

Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week. Room was beautiful with great views from the balcony. Turn down service is a really nice touch. Breakfasts are wonderful with lots of choice. Don't miss the home made quiche! Staff are very friendly and helpful . We will definitely be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Rodney and Pat!!! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your week stay with us! It was a pleasure having you at Abalone Lodge. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had room number 12 which not only had the road side noise ( very busy main road) but was at the top of the stairs so anyone using the outside stairway could look straight into the room. There was no phone in the room so you needed to go to the reception area if you needed anything The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, what an absolutely beautiful weekend my wife and I had at Abalone Lodge in Hermanus. We stayed in a beautiful sea facing room which was clean, magnificent décor, and a balcony overlooking the sea. The lodge is nestled on the side of the cliffs with the sound of the sea putting us to sleep and greeting us each morning....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri646
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very efficient check in with Benuel and our rooms had super sea views (even from the glass-walled bathroom!) I had emailed in advance and the receptionist had made all our dinner reservations in the splendid restaurants in Hermanus. As golfers we had early starts on 2 days and breakfast was a little chaotic, but very good when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryat9
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The guest lodge offers everything almost possible. The house is beautifully designed and the have a terrace facing seaside which is a stunner. Rooms are modern, with AC and proper bathrooms. The pool is very nice, decent in size to cool down. Not for long swimming though. In addition this lodge offers a gym which only few places in Hermanus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bheinrich73
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful property very well done. The suite we had came with a king bed and ensuite all of the highest quality. Have been to MANY properties purporting to be 4 star that aren't. This ticked all the boxes. You won't be disappointed. Personally I thought the mattress was a little hard but that's my personal choice. I can't fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andyandnicki

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.0 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
649 reviews
2.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
869 reviews
6.9 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $219 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abalone Guest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
West Malling, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abalone Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view. Not garden view.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahn763, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-6 have best views”
 of 5 bubbles Rosemaryat9, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms face the sea”
 of 5 bubbles Bruern, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms with a balcony have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles zenia10, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean VIEW room is worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles collyb, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5