We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

691 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 593: English reviews
Essen, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A must when travelling along the coastline. Very nice rooms, superbly located, great breakfast and excellent service. In walking distance from the town center. Using the cliff walk is particularly enjoyable. We stayed for two nights and loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roe59
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the hotel is expensive for what you get. It is a nice hotel and the view from in front of the hotel is breathtaking. However, for this price the pool wasn't even up and running. The rooms looked a little outdated. The salad I ordered was very good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaela H
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest As you stated the views are breathtaking and the sound of the waves is mesmerizing and sometimes at night it sounds as if it splash on your verandah. Our registered logo is just that "Lie in bed and watch the Whales" :) It is unclear what you mean by the pool was not up and running? It is...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We spent a night in Hermans at the misty waves hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and very nice. We had a room with a view of the ocean with a balcony which was wonderful to sit out on and watch the waves roll in. Staff in the hotel was friendly and very helpful. They offer breakfast as part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbrstuff
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The reception was very good and friendly. Our room was very spacious and beautiful. We were welcomed in the room with a bottle of wine of our choice. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed it very much. The outside restaurant is a bit outdated and the food choices not very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanp843
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We recently stayed for one night in room 101. Check- in was pleasant and friendly, the room was nice but dated, especially the bathroom, which is old and tired but was clean. The terrace off the bedroom is a dangerous, as part of it has no barrier and there is quite a drop down to an empty pond and planted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crangle56
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret that your stay was not to your satisfaction. There are but a few darker colour rooms (not dated just different) the rest of the rooms is all in a light colour. Therefore we usually suggest guests to have a pick from our website to the type of room they prefer. Bathrooms are constantly upgraded? The empty...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The experinece of staying at a ok hotel was destroied of a very bad restaurant were the breakfast was at a minimum. Slow service, bad lunch and dinner. Poolarea was not nice. The reception were though helpful. The hotel would be much greater if the lease of the restaurant went to a new owner that can create a better value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pingemar45
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Sir We find this review for The Misty Waves Hotel very unfair, as the issues relate to The Deck & Galley at Mon Desir, which is a restaurant by different owners, and is a separate entity. We however take your unhappiness very serious and will discuss with the owners of the restaurant as your comments reflects negatively on the...

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

For two weeks over December ( including Christmas) we were given wonderful individual attention. All our "unusual" requests, like additional parking for our trailer and Harley were accommodated with amazing grace. The service was exceptional, the rooms spotless, and comfortable and the little extra touches, like fresh cut rose everyday and a Christmas gift truly made us feel special. Like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonpeterroche
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Roche, Thank you for your lovely comments. It is a wonderful feeling to know our guests appreciate our efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Regards, Samantha

Isle of Man
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

What a surprised gem! Rooms were massive and such a surprise for what we thought would be a guest house room. So much variety at breakfast and staff couldn't do enough to help. Close to town too - 5/10 min walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasheb
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 January 2017

A very nice reasonably priced hotel, just off the waterfront in Hermanus. Great views over the ocean and a very short walk to the central area with most of the bars and restaurants. Friendly staff and a good breakfast. A few quirks - Wi-Fi did not work for us anywhere in our room (but was ok in the small lobby)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear David E Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed the views, location and especially our friendly staff. Wi-fi in Hermanus over the Christmas period is always rather slow due to the increased population of the town! However, I apologise that you could not access it at all in your room. We are hoping this...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We had an extremely good time at Misty Waves. Excellent accommodation with well trained and informed staff. Luxury accommodation at very affordable price and as a bonus good food. Within walking distance from town. We specially enjoyed the dolphins and walking paths along the sea side with breath taking views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marielouiselouw
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We all really appreciate your wonderful comments. See you soon, Samantha

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.8 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.8 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
636 reviews
0.6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
391 reviews
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $133 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the cinema - you can select a film !”
 of 5 bubbles 982JohnP982, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room, definitely sea view!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 776rinam, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea facing room from the first floor up. We had room 202 which was fantastic with a large balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles janisf2014, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles CapeTownDel, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Personally I prefer the Annex section of the hotel”
  • Lovely sunny deck to view the ocean from
 of 5 bubbles SPlumb, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5