We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marine Hermanus

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marine Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Start your review of The Marine Hermanus
 Click to rate
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At very heart of Hermanus this spot is both convenient and private enough to get lost away from the action. Not all rooms have views but come with all modern amenities you expect at this end of the market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manhingi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent three nights here and was just blown away by the quality of this true 5* hotel. We had a luxury room and the views were stunning. Would have loved to have stayed longer. I can highly recommend this fabulous hotel and on our return to SA we will be definitely staying here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CampbellBass
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. I must agree 3 nights is never enough as there is so much to see and do in our beautiful again and it also nice to just relax at our pool. We are truly blessed with a beautiful setting, and I am glad...

sheffield
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights and booked a luxury room overlooking the sea. It was a really beautiful room, in fact a suite really - bedroom,small lounge with sofa and tv and lovely bathroom. Also balcony facing the sea. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was wonderful. The staff were all so helpful. Enjoyed the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank disaffron6
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, So lovely to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us that the Marine. Thank you so much for the high praise. Glad that you found your room to be beautiful and that you enjoyed the food and thought that the staff were all so helpful. We hope to welcome you back some day! Kind Regards, Annemie...

surrey
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here many many times and this time went mad by having the top suite (again !) but for two weeks. The hotel is going through some changes and we soon discovered that the 3 hotels in the group had all been sold on 1st February to the owners of the Mount Nelson Hotel in Cape Town but this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BsurreyUK
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. We are trilled that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again. Leticia & Regina and the team is certainly a great asset to the hotel, so thank you for mentioning them. Glad you enjoyed the food in our Origins Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the hotel with my husband. Such friendly & helpfull staff. Our room had a stunning sea view and the room was decorated beautifully!!! Had an awesome stay!!! Can definately recommend to anyone visiting Hermanus!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melinda F
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for mentioning that you will recommend us. Kind Regards, Annemie & the Marine Staff

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This a wonderful part of South Africa, the hotel itself is on on a beach but it's only a short ride away. You can walk down to the sea from the steps outside the hotel and enjoy a walk along the rocky coast line or go into the town and enjoy the many art gallery's, restaurants and shops. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The Marine certainly is very well positioned for exploring the beautiful town and also to walk along the lovely coast line. I appreciate that you gave us feedback on your dinner experience, sorry to hear that the fish curry was a bit too hot for your taste. Happy...

Copenhagen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You feel absolutely welcome here, reception does the trick. The room we had was perfect, bathroom must have been renovated not long ago and nice terasse. The rooms my be priced in high end but restaurant is really good value. Suroundings speaks for itself - fantastic view, well taken care of garden. Good atmosphere inside. I'll be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torben K
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, So lovely to hear that you were made to feel welcome that the Marine and that you found your room to be perfect. I must agree with you, we do have a beautiful view from the Marine. See you soon! Kind Regards, Annemie and the Marine Team

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first impression of this hotel was a rude young man on reception who told us we wouldn't be able to eat in the restaurant that night has it was fully booked and we would have to go and find somewhere in the town. Has my husband wasn't feeling well we didn't want to go out so I later spoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eje480
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us as we certainly always go out of our way to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable time with us. This time we obviously did not and I would like to sincerely apologize for that. Our restaurant is very popular and because we would...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all we were very happy with our stay. We chose the luxury room 101 with its grandeur, exit to terrace and garden and excellent views. There is one sincere downpoint though: the windows and doors of this room are not up to time anymore. Fixation of open windows at night is instable as there often are very strong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanchothegolfer
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback positive and negative. I was sorry to read that we neglected to alert you about the possibility of the windows rattling and that it caused a not so perfect night sleep. I will certainly ensure that we try and...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love it, love it, love it! This is how a five star hotel should be! Perfect location on the cliff top overlooking Walkers Bay and a short walk into Hermanus. When we arrived the porter was waiting and told us where to park and took our luggage. I asked if very was anywhere I could get the hire car cleaned,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosselli2016
TheMarineteam, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Rosselli, We really do appreciate the lovely review that you have given us and and very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Glad that you found the staff delightful and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We hope to welcome you back! Kind Regards, Annemie and the Marine Team

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
397 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
4.9 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: $255 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for sea view which was on the first floor. Probably better than ground floor in my opinion”
 of 5 bubbles disaffron6, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always try for a sea view room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles BsurreyUK, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View to the sea is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles sanchothegolfer, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a balcony overlooking Walkers Bay”
 of 5 bubbles Rosselli2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with a private terrace overlooking the pool. It was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 433shirleyw, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5