We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Far Hills Country Hotel

N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Harkerville Mountain Bike Trails
    4.7 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 30 September 2015
JBAY VISITORS
Peacefull retreat - We spent a weekend at Far Hills hotel, and... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Peacefull retreat - We spent a weekend at Far Hills hotel, and enjoyed our stay tremendously. What a lovely peaceful setting with excellent service and food. Everybody was very helpful and friendly. I can recommend the hotel and will surely visit again. The location is very central and we explored the area with many surprises experienced. See you soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECnaturelovers
Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I was guaranteed a R1300 saving by booking for a special. What i found is that the value I paid is the value I got. The Staff were very helpful, but the facility is RUN DOWN, not worth the R300/ per night. The rooms were somewhat shady with Foam Mattresses, really uncomfortable As for the Breakfast, Do not want to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank faizal114
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2015

location is great..very central on the N2..5 kms to george and the shopping centres..room was great, especially the x2 double beds..bathroom is spacious and very neat..lovely & stunning views from the balcony..staff friendly and breakfast was nice because u get a choice of what u wane order..there's a bar available which looked nice..wifi is only accessible near the reception area..can't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda2209
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2015

With a bit of negativity on Trip Advisor, my wife and I were a bit apprehensive about our two nigh stay in September. We were both however, pleasantly surprised! Check in was efficient, the service was excellent, Cleo - in the bar - is really an asset to the hotel! Breakfast, that was included, was good and something for everyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DylanEvans15
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Far Hills Country Hotel caters for families and is situated just outside the beautiful Wilderness. The room was adequate with 2 double beds - one for my husband and I and one for our child. Unfortunately our mattress was old and we kept rolling into each other and had a terrible night's sleep. We told the front desk assistant the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessicalH5374SY
Wilderness, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Nice hotel in rural setting with nice views. Rooms are average and breakfast really nice. Close to George and Victoria bay.Service was good and real value for money although very basic but worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodomo
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We take all reviews seriously as we aim to improve our hotels standards and guest service. We hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel soon.

Reviewed 21 September 2015

It is clear that hotel has not been renovated for many many years. Although things are 'clean' to a large extent, wear and tear has taken it's toll over the years. The junior staff was friendly, while management seemed a bit disinterested in customers. We stayed for two days. On the first day the breakfast spread was very poor, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louis N
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. We take all reviews very seriously, as this helps us to maintain and improve our standards of guest service. We were fully booked over the weekend that you stayed at our hotel, and unfortunately we were caught short staffed on the Saturday morning during our breakfast rush. We have since fixed our pool pump problem, and...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 16 September 2015

A piece of paradise situated between George and the Wilderness - views are stunning and although parts are a "bit tired" it is undergoing renovations - staff excellent and helpful - small menu with excellent food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1272anne
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. All reviews, negative and positive we take very seriously. On behalf of all staff and management, we hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel.

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 15 September 2015

After many years of driving past this intriguing hotel, we had an opportunity to spend the night on 2 September 2015. What an absolutely horrible experience.... cigarette burns in the carpet, horrendous (dirty) threadbare mismatched linen, curtains hanging off the rail, a TV relic... all topped off with a musty, dank, bad smell. Tried to find an email address for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank johanandmaggie
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. Please note that we take all reviews very seriously. We checked on our system, that you were a walk-in at our hotel. You did ask for one our Standard rooms at our double standard room rate. We did offer a free upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms, which look absolutely nothing like our standard rooms....

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Just the place to recharge your batteries,we had the best of both worlds ,rural tranquility with a good selection of restaurants just 10 minutes away in the Garden Route Mall.Victoria Bay and Herolds Bay, two of the prettiest beaches are also close at hand if you feel like a dip in the ocean. The Transnet Rail Transport in George is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbayloafers
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. On behalf of all staff and management, we hope to see you again soon.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
60 reviews
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
12.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont choose a room. Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TinyHandz, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles orange2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rather choose another accommodation/even a self catering unit.”
  • Harden paint in the baisen.
  • Dirt on the wall
  • paint-job
  • Dirt underneath the dresser
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable.”
 of 5 bubbles Tobie53, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful view of the mountaines”
 of 5 bubbles 913susanaj, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5