We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Worst experience of my life! The rooms were outdated, the pool was dirty throughout our stay and the whole place is run-down with flies everywhere. And to top it all off the room keys work on all of the doors. I was in the bathroom when someone knocked on the door, I yelled "I'm coming", but one of the workers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizzyMcDonald
Bellville, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I rarely write reviews on multiple platforms but this was just unacceptable!!! All the keys work on all the rooms. We read a review like this before coming here and thought it could not possibly be true. Well to our surprise we quickly learned that it does.. Naive, I know.. But okay, knowig this we always left the key in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was very disappointed with my stay at Far Hills. The room was ok and bathroom shower not so ok. Door of shower was also difficult to manage. Aircon one of those VERY old ones... Old box tv with very few channels. Bad reception. VERY poor reception. Could not go on internet. Wifi did not work. I also forgot some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinyHandz
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Bester We take all reviews on Tripadvisor very seriously. While you stayed at our hotel in one of our Standard double rooms in November there was no complaint received from your room in regards to the shower door and tv, where we could have assisted you immediately fixing the problems to ensure the remainder of your stay is...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 days and took it as a pit stop to explore the surrounding areas.The view was really good with all the trees and baboons.The bar staff was also eager to help and was very accommodating...but unfortunately that is were it stopped.The standard room was very very standard..no bar fridge and the bedding was very old..my pillow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank orange2017
Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are nothing like they seem like on their website. Furniture is old and worn, and rooms are not particularly clean. There was a dead beetle lying next to the bed when we arrived, and 3 days later after 2 housekeeping sessions it was still there. I wonder if it's still there? Location might be good, but it's unkempt, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Takis M
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Peter Taki Marakis Please remove this review. As stated in the email you sent the hotel last week, we find it strange that because you were not able to book a special discounted Daddys Deal rate and get an upgrade to stay with us over the past weekend you went to Tripadvisor to complain about our hotel. Even...

South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here after a prior stop over about 15 years ago, en route to Cape Town. We remember a charming place, with amazing views. It is charming and the device is fantastic. It's just a wee bit dated. I can't complain as the room was LARGE, with a big big, huge bathroom. All the amenities were great, just wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
George, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a ball! The dinner we ordered was great, the staff members were friendly and we loved the bar! Sure the room was a bit musty and there are baboons so you can't keep your windows open and the property needs some TLC, but I mean we were there for each other, not to nit pick at the property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Far Hills County Hotel is past it's sell by date. The location is stunning but the amenities are disappointing and in need of maintenance. It is clear that the hotel needs an long overdue upgrade.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked 3 nights for my partner and I to start our summer holiday and how disappointed we were when the hotel turned out to be NOTHING as their website depicted. To start off, we came here at 14:00 and the room was not yet ready for us, which was absolutely fine for atleast we were going to be in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morne Z
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night while travelling the Garden route, on personal recommendation from a stay made 4 years ago. The location is superb, with the pool overlooking the spectacular Outeniqua mountains. Our room and bedroom and balcony were large, but there ends the compliments. The tiny TV had no controller, and the one then provided did not work. A hair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
60 reviews
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
12.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $64 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont choose a room. Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TinyHandz, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles orange2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rather choose another accommodation/even a self catering unit.”
  • Harden paint in the baisen.
  • Dirt on the wall
  • paint-job
  • Dirt underneath the dresser
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable.”
 of 5 bubbles Tobie53, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful view of the mountaines”
 of 5 bubbles 913susanaj, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay