We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 380: English reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the Oubaai Hotel Jan 2017. The resort must have been wonderful, few jears ago. Nearly everything urgently needs complete renovation, including management. After 3 days we needed to change room because of..... I actually still don't know why. They have put us into a room which was absolutely awful, moistures, smelling like moldy, window behind a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Spent 4 nights here last week on a golf inclusive package. Not off to a good start as they failed to collect us from the airport which had bee pre paid in advance. We had to jump a taxi. Our golf was pre paid and despite handing in the vouchers daily the golf was charged again to our account. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very fantastic and nice place to stay on it. And the SPA was great as well. we enjoyed on our staying here and loved this place. we will come soon 😍 Staff: friendly Kitchen: nice and good, we don't like the out side restaurant Rooms: was big and confiertabl

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SULIMAN A
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will make sure to share your feedback with our team. We are however disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were in South Africa to spend Christmas with our family, something we only get to do about once in ten years. We wanted to enjoy a relaxed Christmas lunch and chose the Oubaai Hotel for this special occasion. The lunch was booked and paid for months in advance. The day before Christmas we phoned to confirm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeline G
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your unacceptable experience and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve. We will make sure to look into all the matters you have raised. Sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused and we hope to see you back again ...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Super close to the George airport and on the cliffs overlooking the Indian Ocean, this is a lovely resort albeit within a gated residential community. The hotel is set back from the ocean overlook; clearly had an excellent interior designer, but lacks the practical touch of a great architect. Places aren't connected the right way, traffic flow is odd, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelandLearn_11
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a bad condition. The facade is broken and it rains inside the rooms. We used to stay there 3 nights on our way to port Elisabeth. After 2 nights we broke up and leave. And we were not the only ones as we realized. The pool is small and the sunbeds were all broken and torn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your experience whilst staying with us, we will definitely look into all the matters you have raised and will be sure to rectify them.

Swartruggens, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We had a bottle of wine with a nice unique kind of pizza (smoked salmon with pickled ginger and cream cheese) on the clubhouse terrace ....enjoying a stunning view of the 9th hole and the sea .....also springbuck roaming freely around the clubhouse

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deanmarkalb2
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Had my 40th birthday celebrations at Oubaai. Exceptional service. High attention to detail. Was very happy. Golf course was awesome and accommodating. Rooms were superb. For the price we paid, we got more than what we bargained for. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Collin G
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We spent a night on this hotel on our way from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The reception is nice and everything was ready for when we came. The room was big and very clean. Nice bathroom and a small terrace with view of the ocean. We had dinner at the restaurant as well as breakfast and it was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrkP13
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

The worst place that I stayed for sure! There are better guest houses! The staff has lack of training, the hotel is old and degraded...terrible! The dinner was sadly disappointing ... What a waist of money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabel_peereboom

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
451 reviews
10.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
11.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
16.6 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
610 reviews
11.2 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: $110 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a ocean view room which was good”
 of 5 bubbles Rosselli2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“just tell them what you want , and they will help you.”
 of 5 bubbles fakhruddinsaif, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the main building”
 of 5 bubbles sambea, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior suites are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles vjoynes, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidN724, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5