We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cellars-Hohenort

Hotels.comUSD 230*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cellars-Hohenort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cellars-Hohenort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed here one night only, our last night in South Africa before returning to the States at the end of a 7-week trip. It was lovely, especially the gardens, which I believe are the hotel's most impressive attribute. Our room was a pretty long distance from receptions, with several short staircases along the way. It was nice enough but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobConklin
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear BobConklin Thank you for reviewing our Hotel and we delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful gardens on the estate. We have two restaurants one being the award winning Greenhouse (voted Top 5) in SA, and the other a more contemporary style called The Conservatory, this is where you had breakfast so I hope that next time you may find...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I was invited to lunch , My hostess suggested we select from the Winter Menu. We both found other meal rather disappointing. More decorative than tasty Service was poor as well. The glass dining area is pleasant .Surrounded by lush greenery,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isax1818
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Isax1818 Many thanks for your feedback, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our Winter specials that we were running and apologies that the service was poor too, we did not match your expectations. I am happy that we found our surroundings a delight and I do hope we will see you back when we launch our new...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We booked the Royal Retreat getaway and had a fantastic weekend. The rooms are very well appointed and supplied with great snacks and drinks. The Cellars have that old hotel feeling but are very well maintained. Our favourite bit of the stay was the delicious breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicklongley
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Nicklongley Many thanks for your wonderful review, I am delighted you enjoyed our Hotel and especially the breakfasts! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future Kind regards Dominic

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We absolutely love The Cellars Hohenhort, the staff are wonderfully friendly. The gardens are absolutely beautiful with the most spectacular old trees. For breakfast, One of the best Eggs Benedict in Cape Town!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce R
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Bruce R Many thanks for your wonderful review and your kind compliments, so glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict and spent time in our magnificent gardens. I look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Dominic

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

A really beautiful and we'll run boutique hotel. We stayed here for our 25th Anniversary and could not have chosen a more beautiful location. The service was excellent and our room looked out onto the beautiful gardens which are a delight to explore. Breakfast is served in The Conservatory which has a clear view of the mountains and the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter John C
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Peter John C We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your 25th anniversary with us and I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable...here's to your next 25 anniversaries and may they all be a wonderful celebration......we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Dominic

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The picturesque gardens of Cellars-Hohernort in Constantia, Cape Town is a dream for anyone who loves to spend time outdoors, while the suites inside the hotel offer space and old-world luxury the likes of which are not often found in many modern-day establishments. I loved every moment of my stay here. Friendly staff and great big rooms. Also the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheRedLilly
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear TheRedLilly Thank you for your fabulous review of our Hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the amazing spaces that can be found in our award winning gardens. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind regards Dominic

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This is a wonderfully traditional-looking country property, with lovely light, airy rooms. The spa is great -- had a wonderful massage and a really great post-safari facial. Eating in the main hotel restaurant is more informal in style, with excellent food. Comfortable beds, great service, friendly, helpful in absolutely every way. Thank you so much, guys -- we will plan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willif1971
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Willif19 Thank you for your fabulous review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Spa treatment as well as your dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back Best wishes Dominic

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My husband & I booked a weekend stay at the Cellars-Hohenort in Constantia to celebrate his birthday for the weekend of the 5 - 7 August 2016. We have traveled in & outside of South Africa and stayed at many resorts & hotels however our stay at the Cellars-Hohenort was first class and I would recommend this hotel to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheSnyschlager
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Sasha J Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased you had a great stay and managed to try out many of the facilities and activities on offer, as well as being able to unwind and relax in our tranquil surroundings. I am delighted too that you found that our service and food were outstanding and I...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 August 2016

It was a chilly winter's night, with a weak gas fire in the beautiful lounge. Staff welcoming but the pre-dinner drinks were confused. (medium cream sherry served cold from the fridge! The brandy and ginger ale mixer, came as two separate drinks - the ginger ale with ice and a straw?). The menu is not extensive and rather overpriced, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank royzaz
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear royzaz I am so pleased to hear that you had a good experience overall with the food and service. We have taken note of your other points and thank you for providing us this feedback. I understand that Sean, my Food and Beverage manager did speak with you on the night you were here (about 2 weeks ago) and...

Reviewed 26 July 2016

It was our first visit to the location for a dinner. The menu was concise and not to opulent yet sufficient choice. The service was first class and on the ball. The quality of the food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Attention to detail was great. Worth a visit if you don't mind a bit of a drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluesheik
DominicPrendegast, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review

Dear Dirk v Many thanks for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at our Conservatory restaurant and appreciate that you found our offering, pricing and service excellent. We take great pride in ensuring that our customers are well cared for and I look forward to seeing you back here soon Regards Dominic

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
479 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
184 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Price Range: $223 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cellars-Hohenort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View of Table Moutain room in the buidling at the left of the reception”
peninasimba241, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“I would assume that all rooms are beautifully designed and set out”
Traveldelightbb, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking car park, noisy staff at very late hours”
garthj_12, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“A must stay in Cape Town. Even if you have another hotel in mind, think about a night or two here as an add on. Worked for me.”
leali2017, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If any recently refurbished room, don't hesitated go for it !”
philippe386, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 230* /night
View Deal
Relais & ChâteauxUSD 330
Booking.comUSD 297
Expedia.comUSD 231
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates