We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

getaroom.comUSD 175*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 322*
USD 175*
USD 210*
USD 210*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,619: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We checked in at midnight but Mark who checked us in was amazing. He allowed me a late checkout since I am a member of the Tsogo sun loyalty program. He was so warm and welcoming. The rooms are amazing and worth the price. Breakfast does not have an enormous spread but is good. Definitely recommend this hotel next time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisha W
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Aisha, Thank you for your feedback We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 8 nights this April and I was thrilled with this hotel. It may not be the most fancy in Cape Town but our rooms had everything we needed. The beds were super comfortable and clean, good quality linen. The toiletries provided looked a bit generic so I avoided them for a few days, then tried the body...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Bridget S Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback following your recent stay with us We take note of your comments and will also ensure that the team members mentioned are advised accordingly Please remember to stay with us on your next visit to the Mother City Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The organizers of the Africa Travel Week had made my local hotel arrangements after they engaged me as a speaker for WTM Africa and IBTM Africa. I know the saying that one does not look a gift horse in the mouth but then, this gift horse turned out to be pretty. On arrival late at night was my room ready,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Safariafficionado
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Safariafficionado, Thank you so much for your very detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all your input and certainly take note that you enjoyed your stay with us - and we, like you , also enjoyed the challenge of ensuring that your Eggs Benedict , were prepared to your full enjoyment and we look...

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good Hotel, with a specious room, it also has two different restaurants for breakfast with a good variety of food. A courtesy Bus service is available to the Waterfront that runs every half an hour. Upon. Heck in we were greeted with some snacks and welcome drink which was a nice touch, some sweets and drinks are available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim A
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Ibrahim A Than, you for your detailed feedback We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service levels to your satisfaction Thank you for advising us of the basin that needs some attention , we will ensure that this is rectified Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean, comfortable room with all amenities. Walking distance to town centre and free shuttle to V&A Waterfront. Excellent breakfast and bar showing all sports. Best of all the staff (especially behind the bar). The ideal base in this top city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter18102309
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Peter18102309, Thank you for your feedback We are grateful for your kind comments , especially with regards to ur wonderful team who assisted in making your stay so enjoyable Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Sandton
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Clean rooms, etc. But wow, the service, staff food was AMAZING! Well done to all making a hotel buffet tasty and extremely enjoyable, Chef Bradley and Manager Elize, we will surely recommend and cannot wait to come back. Keep it up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaco S
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Jaco S Thank you for your feedback We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially your experience in our restaurant where Chef Bradley and our Restaurant Manager - Elize , looked after you so well We look forward to welcoming thou back soon Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service from the moment we landed on the door steps of the hotel. My younger son was so excited with the warm welcome and special package received.I loved the idea of separate shower and bath. The room although small for a family room was always clean and neat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nozies664
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear nozies664, Thank you for your feedback We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The looks of the public areas lead you to believe this is a first rate Hotel, however although the rooms are modern the service in the bar is not good and the choice of food available in the restaurant on the al a carte menu extremely disappointing and depending what you choose it can be either good or bad. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malrantoo
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Malrantoo, Thank you for your feedback We are disappointed that you didn't have a good experience in our bar and restaurant - please bare in mind that in future, ask for the Senior Chef on duty and he will prepare a dish that is more to your liking Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an excellent three night stay before a cruise. Firstly the hotel is well situated for most things in Cape Town. It is within a 10 minute walk during the day to the Waterfront. They also run a regular shuttle bus. The staff in the hotel are superb. Friendly approachable and always there. The room had everything we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you for your feedback We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all of our services to your satisfaction Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well done Southern Sun Waterfront for such an excellent service, our kid's needs were taken care of whilst we were also taken care of including power breakfast and shuttle to race, everything was just amazing from food to hospitality we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank h0mbisam
Jeff R, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear h0mbisam Thank you for your feedback We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the two oceans race and that your kids needs were also well catered for Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG General Manager

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (32)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
2.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,655 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,434 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
838 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $175 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor, sea view and non smoking - it does not come any better ...”
  • Just a few hundred metres away was the Queen Elizabeth of the Cunard line 'parked'
Safariafficionado, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for rooms that overlook the pool, no road on that side”
Terrilala, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room overlooking the entrance with view of mountains was fine but definitely not spectacular.”
  • Room overlooked entrance with view of mountain and unfinished highway.
ameenah66, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the unlimited internet service.”
JWRu, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better”
975vicw, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
getaroom.com
USD 175* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 210
Expedia.comUSD 210
TripAdvisorUSD 175
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates