We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

935 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 787: English reviews
Start your review of Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great 4-night stay at the Mandela Rhodes. Brilliant location. Stayed in Room C302 - excellent view of Table Mountain, nice big living space and kitchen, and quiet room. The only down side was the really bad WiFi. As other people have said, it's particularly slow. If you're planning to stay for business or need to be connected, it's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
Newcastle, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great apartments, clean and spacious Good location, 2 minutes to Long Street which has good bars & restaurants. Used uber to get around, very cheap & reliable Wifi needs to be improved but apparently this is planned I'd stay there again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
MandelaRhodesPlace, Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill B, It brings us great joy to read such an amazing review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate all the kind words on our hotel and trust that we can welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay, to try out our fast Wi-Fi! Kind regards, Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel...

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Mandela Rhodes experience is that of a home away from home. The staff provided excellent service, with the right attitude towards guests. I can recommend this accommodation to friends and family alike. The hotel situation is central to everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy N
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Happy N We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed all our facilities and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your experience with us is so important and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best regards Terence Duckitt

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 5 with 2 shower/bath rooms and third toilet room. The accommodation was great, we had everything you would need for a family with young children- kitchen, dining room, longe. The only down side was the very poor wifi connection and daily limit on access, very frustrating!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 497guesti
MandelaRhodesPlace, Front Office Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 497guesti It was such an honour and a privilege to have you and your family stay with us here at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and thank you for the lovely review. Our apologies for the wifi frustrations and the limited data amount, however there is a solution that will see FREE unlimited wifi data and FREE calls from August...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Would stay in this hotel if you want to be central however if you like to walk out at night then this is the wrong location due to the street beggars that will not leave you alone and you are subject to being mugged, every local will warn you of this. If you are happy to come back in for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmatthewcrowembe
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear johnmatthewcrowembe Thank you for your review of our property, although we strongly disagree on the points of security, beggars and being mugged versus staying in or closer to the V and A Waterfront. We hope to have the opportunity some day soon to welcome you back. Regards Terence Duckitt

Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located near the local markets and shops. The rooms are clean and the furniture is relatively new and in good condition. Due to the central location, the rooms are quite at night. Security in the hotel is very good and so is the restaurant located in the premises.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ida Z
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ida Z It brings us great joy to read such an amazing review and thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate all your comments and trust that we can welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay. Best regards Terence Duckitt

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was pleasantly surprised to find on arrival that I had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. It had everything I required and the only drawback was that when I did a load of laundry the dryer didn't work. I sought help and, as the dryer was located on a shelf in a cupboard, they had trouble getting to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikefromBerry
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikefromBerry Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel. We do apologise for the inconveniences experienced however we have ensured these have all been tackled and remedied. We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy another great stay with us. Regards Terence Duckitt

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like living in "the centre" of town, you must stay in the Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel. It is one of the best Hotels anywhere I have stayed in, in most countries. The staff are excellent, and the rooms are clean, comfortable, and cannot be faulted. I felt quite at home, as soon as I moved in.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob2012Sydney
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob2012Sydney It was such an honour and a privilege to have you stay with us here at Mandela Rhodes Place Suite Hotel and thank you for the lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and I shall be sure to share this feedback with the rest of our team. We...

Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I feel quite mislead by all the many outstanding​ reviews. We were first given a key to someone else's room and then our new room felt dirty. I understand this is not a five star hotel, but it should have been much nicer. Laundry service was also "not in yet" each time I called.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew W Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We humbly apologise for your feeling mislead, this certainly is not our intent toward our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your concerns on gm (at) mandelarhodesplace (dot) co (dot) za. Best regards Terence and TEAM-MRP

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent Service, Amazing apartments just a little fixing here and there :) The View is amazing as well , maybe also regular utensils should be visible we weren't aware of half the things that were there had to call reception to keep asking and maybe an updated room service menu for flexibility...over and above LOLVED IT! Coming back for holiday...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 35trish
MandelaRhodesPlace, General Manager at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 35trish Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on our hotel and we appreciate the suggestions, we'll certainly make work of this. We hope ton welcome you back soon to enjoy another great stay with us. Regards Terence and TEAM-MRP

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,198 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
336 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,215 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
566 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $121 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High Floor offer a better view”
idaz46, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“try for view of table mountain”
Kalimantsi, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you get a self contained apartment and not a room.”
Ruthven65, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High rooms in the court chambers”
Anonpeo, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My suite was in the "tower" part of the building and was facing Table Mountain.”
  • The pool as seen from the suite.
  • View of Table Mountain from the porch.
  • View of Signal Hill from the living room.
  • The shared living space with the kitchen off to the right.
  • The master bedroom. Open the curtains for a view of Signal Hill.
  • The master bathroom.
inmyflipflops, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5