We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cape Cadogan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cape Cadogan
Cape Cadogan
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 585: English reviews
Start your review of Cape Cadogan
 Click to rate
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am in love with boutique hotels and we felt spoiled after staying here. The hotel was gorgeous, the people were great, and the transportation provided by the staff was excellent! The location was very nice and the building had so much character.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfidler2016
usa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From its positioning to every minute detail this hotel is wonderful! It has convenient access to Table Mountain(the room had a view of it too), or it's free shuttle can take you to V&A Waterfront. It is also within walking distance to some nice restaurants and shops. The room was big, spotless clean, with all necessary amenities. The afternoon snacks...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexander2005
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were delighted with the superb and friendly service from all employees at Cape Cadogan. The hotel is in a convenient residential location near to restaurants and nightlife and tourist attractions. I suffered an illness during our stay and the hotel staff were very helpful in getting me an appointment at a local doctor's surgery, and the hotel manager even...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CavalinoRampante
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at end of March, and were so glad we did . We loved this small boutique hotel , and the area it was in , and were so pleased we did not stay in a larger more impersonal hotel . Our room up the winding steps was just lovely and so comfortable ,and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donkey01
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This small, very well-run hotel was recommended to us, and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Our room was quiet..at the top of the stairs..comfortable king bed. Nadine, at reception..was very attentive. The breakfast was fabulous...so much choice and delicious. There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance..The Black Sheep and The Cafe on Kloof Street were our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnJamieson
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cape Cadogan is a beautiful hotel in a great location, unfortunately the service did not match. For a 5 star boutique hotel you stay for the service and ambiance that the large chains can not match. The hotel room itself was eclectic, well maintained and comfortable but that is where the positives end. Our in house shuttle service was unable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sp9202017
MOREfamily, General Manager at Cape Cadogan, responded to this review

Dear 'sp9202017', Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Cape Cadogan, although we were naturally not happy to read of your less than perfect stay with us. We'd like to address the points of concern raised below. You were unfortunately at the receiving end of a few 'teething' problems regarding our dedicated shuttle service. We have...

Dexter, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay at the Cape Cadogan in Cape Town. We arrived very late on a Tuesday evening, so we were whisked immediately to our room (#8, upstairs, with a balcony view of Table Mountain...HIGHLY recommended) and told when breakfast would be the next morning. We sunk into our incredibly comfortable beds after a long day of travel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vixystick
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located just off popular Kloof Street, the Cape Cadogan Boutique hotel offers much-needed respite from the metropolitan city and partial views of Table Mountain. After a seamless check in, we were delighted to be upgraded to the luxury suite. Staff are personable, professional, and go out of their way to ensure we had an unrivaled experience during their stay --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBrandtWright
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We started our honeymoon at Cape Cadogan and my wife and I loved it! The staff were so helpful, and gave us advance around where to go for our 4 days there. The rooms was a good nice and was a quality boutique hotel. The location was central, and the best part is that they baked treats around lunch for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Qasim A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Cape Cadogan for three nights and really loved this hotel and its location. The staff at the hotel are lovely, from the helpful concierge to the smiley gardeners to the friendly waitresses - they are a pleasure to be around. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable (no street noise in our standard room). The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMDEarlsfield

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (121)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Plunge Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,946 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,793 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,488 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Price Range: $263 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, South African Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cape Cadogan staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Cape Cadogan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I rated the room as average only due to a poor wi-fi connection. The room was otherwise excellent! Wi-fi was important to us because we were so far from home and needed to be able to stay in touch. It may not be an issue for other travelers. ”
kfidler2016, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 upstairs has a private balcony with a view of Table Mountain.”
Vixystick, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 1.”
brendan2107, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor is quieter, more private.”
12trvlgirl, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get room number 5.”
Beneyboy, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5