We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winchester Mansions

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Winchester Mansions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 845: English reviews
south africa
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Great wellcome with friendly staff and a very pleasant stay. The softest sheets ever...and to our surprise we even had a lounge with a seperate reading room. We could open the large windows which are not obstructed by burglar bars and watch the paraglyders landing on the large lawn right in front of the hotel. Really recommend this hotel. Loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marelizeSouthAfrica
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and left feeling that you can recommend us! We would love to have you back soon for another breafast in our lovely courtyard.

London
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I have just returned from a 1 week holiday with my family at the Winchester Mansions. The setting is lovely, right on the promenade and with a beautiful courtyard overlooked by the floor balconies. I felt the whole experience was let down be the consistently slow and poor service we received. Although the staff are very smiley there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, the setting, our rooms and housekeeping service. We would like to apologize for the Wifi issues you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately we had problems with our internet service provider. We are very sorry that the service you...

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We stayed at Winchester Mansions for Christmas 2014 / New Year 2015. The hotel is historic but well renovated and us sutuated out of the hustle and bustle of the City with fine views of the Atlantic rollers. The staff are very friendly and helpful with any request. Our junior suite was spacious , comfortable and spotless. The hop on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice P
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are glad you had a good time with us and hope to see you again some time soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We had a 6 day stay at Winchester Mansions over the Xmas period and it was great. Travelling as a family (two kids - 7 and 10) we had a family suit (Room 204) with s separate room with 2 single beds for the kids, bathroom lounge and a large separate double bedroom with ensuite with views over the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard H
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very detailed and kind review. We are glad that you had a perfect start to your holiday with us and will be sure to mention your kind words to Thalia from reception. We hope your travels will bring you to SA again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Zurich
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We loved this historic, carefully renovated hotel. The location is right on the sea, and the red city tour bus (recommended!) stops right in front of the hotel. The patio where breakfast is served is very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very helpful with booking of tours and restaurants. We had a perfect stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank turtlezurich
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you had a perfect stay. Hopefully see you again soon!

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We had breakfast at WM and it was great. Considering it is end of year, and places are busy, the service was friendly and efficient, the breakfast served was great and real good value. Definitely A good all year round establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope we will see you again soon at our restaurant or bar!

Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

No motivation to serve and after over 45 minutes had little more than coffee for breakfast so we left but even trying to pay took another 10'minutes - items on the menu not available and we were not informed having ordered them - I would avoid at all costs

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fellowsahj
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Dear Fellowsahj We can only apologize for the poor service you have received at our restaurant. Our staff are usually praised for their friendliness and for going the extra mile, but clearly several things went wrong when you visited us for breakfast. If you are back in Cape Town some time soon we would love to get a second chance!...

Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 December 2014

After having enjoyed nice Jazz Brunch here in September we decided to book for Christmas Lunch here. What a let down !! Service was slow and unmotivated. We arrived at 12.50 ( it had started at 12.30) and after a welcome drink we went to the buffet to find empty dishes. Salad was atrocious, the vegetables were overcooked, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TrofiTime
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014

Lovely hotel in a great position. For me ruined by cigarette smoke. Lunch on the veranda? Inhale smoke at the same time. Go to the bar? Leave smelling of tobacco smoke and of course the smoke drifts to reception and other areas. Food was good but waiters might be trained to smile. Would definitely stay there if they change the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Craig385
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

Good Day Craig We are sorry to hear of your sub-optimal experience, but perhaps we could clarify something for you. The entire hotel, with the exception of the bar is a non-smoking area.This means that all rooms and public areas, the courtyard, Harveys restaurant, and terrace are all smoke free zones. Only within the bar, and the terrace of the...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 24 December 2014

I was exploring camps bay and could not find a parking. I ended up finding myself at Seapoint promenade and wandered around looking for a nearest restaurant to have my lunch. I finally saw the Winchester Mansions bar and lounge. I had lamb and apricot kebab + Pina colada which I really enjoyed. The view was great as I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoSJoR2012
Bianca K, GM Assistant at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review

We are glad you stumbled across Harveys Bar and that you had a good time there. Thank you for your kind words and see you soon for another sundowner.

567 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (237)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (304)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (40)
Viewed
Classic Room (33)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Modern Classic Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
460 reviews
0.6 km away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
2.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
2.7 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
2.0 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $166 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winchester Mansions staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Winchester Mansions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“105. First floor and close to swimming pool .”
905howardc, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Personal preference for room selection, mountain or sea view rooms, I prefer high up seaview, loft with a window.”
WayneW412, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are wonderful and great for sunset but room can be very noisy with wind etc. Don't bother upgrading to a suite- it's not a true suite so save your money!”
AlexaV_12, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“front facing rooms only and not on upper floor”
CassWoking, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor above the bar can be a bit noisy in the morning when the tables are being put on the terrace outside.”
PSML, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5