We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Splendida

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Splendida
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of La Splendida
 Click to rate
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice stay at la Splendida over spring break. The husband and I had a lovely room with a view of the water. The room was very bright with it's full length window letting in lots of light and it's splashes of red - bathroom door, mini frig, sofa, and chair. The room was nice and spacious with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheen2013
Harare
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Centrally located on Beach Road which overlooks the ocean. The vibe is friendly and laid back. The in house restaurant is open all day. The early morning sees the coffee crowd congregate. The extensive menu offers light meals and a full bar which includes a wide range of artisinal beers. A great base from which to explore the vibrant city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delina A
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Delina, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On face value, rooms look lovely, however room is a bit aged on closer inspection. Worth's it value for the price you pay. Staff are excellent, very good service and attention received. WiFi sucks big time. Bathrooms are in a generally ok condition, a bit aged as well. Beds are excellent and comfy, loves this. Fridges have to be stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffster89
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all the feedback and hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came with a group of 15 that all paid the same amount to stay at this hotel. Several weeks before we arrived I contacted Tracey at corporate to see about getting an ocean view room, she told me there would be a charge and apparently never relayed this message to the hotel staff! When our group of 15 arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jagsgirl20
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory. Due to very high occupancies we were unable to move you to an ocean view room. I most definitely would have moved you should an ocean view room become available which was communicated the day of arrival as well as the...

Elmwood Park
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here as the selection of a packaged vacation deal I purchased. This hotel is very clean, the staff was very attentive maybe not the best at recommending places to dine/nightlife but overall very pleased. The WiFi was just OK my room was located near a modem so I had no issues in my room but the lobby area was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cisneros_cmc
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all the positive feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Waimanalo, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Hotel is Beautiful, Good Location, The Rooms and Great, but the WiFi is Horrendous. If WiFi is important for your Vacation do NOT stay here. It doesn't matter what they do or say the Internet does not work. Not in the Rooms, not in the Lobby. IF you happen to connect it will be the slowest connection you'd ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyKawaihae
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise for the WIFI problem you experienced. Our WIFI system has recently been upgraded and is working 100% so I am not entirely sure why you did not receive a signal. Although from time to time smart phones and or tablet devices have restrictive settings that need to...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

La Splendida is a fun beach bar and restaurant close to Mouille Point. Lively with a real buzz. Service an be a little sluggish but at other times is fast. Good value offers for dinner on Tuesdays. We had lamb burgers some night but seafood was also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review La Splendida and for the positive feedback. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 March 2017

When it comes to location and views, you can't beat La Splendida. I had a sea-facing room and the views of Mouille Point and Robben Island were fantastic. If you're looking for a base in the city, then this is a great option - easy access to public transport, Uber, the Red Bus tours (stop opposite hotel), etc. and an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaniaDLK
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed at La Splendida for two weeks in February to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It is in a lovely location opposite the ocean (with a view of Robben Island and the odd pod of dolphins too) and an easy walk to the V & A Waterfront. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
ChrisRaath121, General Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day Amanda, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all the positive feedback. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Raath

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The hotel is located on the sea front, opposite the sea promenade, walking distance to the V&A waterfront and close ride to Clifton Beaches. Downstars there is a caffe and a restaurant, with another great restaurant just around the conner. The hotel offers free bikes and its great to spend half a day riding along the promenade. Smal, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena L
ChrisRaath121, Manager at La Splendida, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again. Have a great day. Kind regards, Chris Raath Resident Manager

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 km away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#58 of 106 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
1.5 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
2.4 km away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 198 in Cape Town
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
255 reviews
2.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
3.2 km away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about La Splendida

Address: 121 Beach Road | Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $81 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Splendida 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Splendida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Splendida Hotel Cape Town Central
La Splendida Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Splendida staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Splendida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 103 is very nice, but sits directly over the restaurant/bar and outside terrace.”
Cheen2013, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will minimize the ambient noise from the street down below.”
delinaa2017, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If noise bothers you, ask for a sea-facing room on a higher floor or a mountain-facing room.”
TaniaDLK, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“see view is great, but make sure you two floors up as restaurant can be a little noizy”
L3311WQelenal, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 302 had great views and was very spacious and quiet.”
816lesleyd, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5