We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point

Save
Share
Arthur's Road, Cape Town Central 8005 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (237)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (38)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#77 of 124 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located a block away from Sea Point Promenade and the cool Atlantic shoreline, this stylish three star hotel guarantees GUESTS an experience that’s freshly different. Protea Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is a comfortable oasis for corporate and leisure travellers alike who want to experience the best of Cape Town in a tranquil beach house feel. Protea by Hotel by Marriott Sea Point is Freshly Different. This seaside hotel offers either mountain or sea views from the rooms and the vast range of amenities ensures a home-away-from-home feel. The hotels’ most talked about is the interactive lobby and lounge area. Minutes away from Camps Bay beaches, V&A Waterfront and the CBD; not to mention the beautiful Cape Town promenade.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
477Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 226
  • 72
  • 30
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ZiyaadErnie wrote a review Jan. 2021
Bethal, South Africa29 contributions8 helpful votes
the hotel is situated in a great area. easy access to the beach. rooms are very clean and the bathroom is better than a 3 star hotel. breakfast was great with all the regular items available. staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. definitely value for money and in my opinion the best 3 star hotel i have stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: request a room with a balcony with sea views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine Lewis, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 12 Jan. 2021
Dear ZiyaadErnie Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point! We are delighted to hear that you had a good visit and made the most of our brilliant location. During these COVID times we are not presenting a breakfast buffet but we are so pleased to hear that we have met your expectations with all our offerings. Your compliments regarding our friendly and helpful Associates has been passed on to them so as to encourage consistent and positive service always, thank you! We thank you for choosing to stay with us during these unusual times and do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards
Read more
JLPicard80 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Munich, Germany20 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed for a couple of nights earlier this year and really liked the hotel. The staff was super friendly and we enjoyed the fact that it is close to the waterfront and lots of bars and restaurants nearby. You can also enjoy a nice view from the pool deck.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
island_word_traveler wrote a review Mar. 2020
Atlanta, Georgia63 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
I’m convinced that the Marriott hotels in Cape Town are some of the nastiest I’ve ever stayed at. I was so excited to stay here due to the location, gym, and my status. Not only are the rooms insanely small (and I mean even compared to EU hotels), but my supposed upgrade greeted us with a tone of mold in the bathroom! I mean how do you not see this? What even more sad, is that when the cleaning folks come you can see they are over worked and under paid. I felt horrible complaining. Marriott should be ashamed of themselves. The cleaning folks looks sooo tired and depressed. Even after cleaning the wall they could not get out all the mold. this on top of a curtain (see pic) with a huge hole. I honestly prayed and went to bed looking forward to checking out in the am. Also, though its one block fro Promenade, there is small windows and no view from the room. Balcony is not real..it’s tiny for 2 people to stand on. No chairs. Do not stay here... it’s truly horrible. I also had a similar experience with the Victoria Junction hotel where I found a recycled half wet washcloth folded in the bathroom. Again, 1 lady who looks depressed and tired cleaning the whole floor. It’s like modern day slavery. Never again. I am staying clear of Marriott in S. Africa. Just nasty and depressing environment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 17 Mar. 2020
Dear island_word_traveler Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point. We appreciate your valuable and honest feedback. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are disappointed to see that we did not meet with yours on this occasion. As a Titanium Elite Bonvoy Member, we do our very best to upgrade members but due to availability this is sometimes not possible. Your comments regarding the room and the state of the curtains have been noted and the necessary action taken. I assure you our Housekeeping Team are well looked after and definitely not overworked nor underpaid. Once again we sincerely apologise for the poor experience and we assure you of our best attention in the future. Yours sincerely
Read more
knothomeeither wrote a review Feb. 2020
Atlanta, Georgia71 contributions72 helpful votes
The location is very good for exploring Sea Point, and the pool is beautiful. Sadly the staff (front desk, in particular, Genevieve) was not up to Marriott standards. She was unfriendly, unappreciative of our brand loyalty and status within Marriott, unapologetic about being unable to grant any of our requests for room preference, etc., and did not address the most simple of requests. The first room we were given was next to an extremely noisy customer blaring music mid-day. We were thankfully moved to a different room. But, the second room had wet carpeting in isolated places (odd in itself) and was lacking the hotel information (pamphlets explaining amenities such as the restaurant and the pool hours, note pad, basic room amenities which we had seen in the first room and its absence in the second room was notable) so we promptly called down to reception to request the hotel information which was missing and over the course of our three night stay we never received it. The lobby was often disheveled with newspapers strewn across the table in the front hall, with all sorts of employees just chatting among themselves. We would not choose to stay here again and would not recommend it to friends traveling to Cape Town because of the staff with whom we interacted. Having recently hosted family gatherings (group events) at Marriott Bonvoy properties in the US, we held the brand in high regard, but our experience at this location has damaged our impression of the brand.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 26 Feb. 2020
Dear knothomeeither Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are extremely disappointed to see that we did not meet with yours. Your comments regarding the unfriendly Staff is most definitely not what we pride ourselves in and Genevieve will receive further training regarding guest interaction and acknowledging our most valued Elite members. We sincerely apologise that your request for hotel information was not granted and that it was not in the room as it should have been as well as for the messy foyer area. These inconsistencies have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping department in order to rectify their shortcomings I assure you that what you experienced is most definitely not what we are usually proud to offer and is not a reflection on the rest of the brand. Kind regards
Read more
tune wrote a review Feb. 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa63 contributions50 helpful votes
Perfectly situated in the heart of sea point. Walking distance from all the shops and about 5km from the waterfront Close to many restaurants Friendly staff and a fantastic Manageress Down the road from the beach
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 25 Feb. 2020
Dear happytunesa We are delighted to hear you had a great stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point and made the most of our wonderful location. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are so pleased to know that we have met with yours. Thank you for the great compliments regarding our friendly Staff, we will be sure to pass this into them. Once again, thank you for the valuable feedback and we do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 69 - USD 138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea hotel cape town, protea hotel sea point
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Nearby attractions include Mojo Market (0.3 km), Sea Point Beach (0.3 km), and Sea Point swimming pool (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Boheme, Mojo Market, and The Mussel Monger & Oyster Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iziko Slave Lodge (3.1 km), City Hall (3.4 km), and Iziko Koopmans-De Wet House (3.1 km).