We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Commodore

PricelineUSD 153*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 196*
USD 153*
USD 194*
USD 193*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Commodore
The Commodore
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,017: English reviews
Start your review of The Commodore
 Click to rate
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First the negative: Reception could tell you about the parking - we ended up paying R65 for the first night for our vehicle and they could not refund us. Only then they informed us how it works. They should speak a little slower as it was as South Africans difficult to understand them. Wifi is very slow! Would have liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esti929
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here during a conference for two nights, this hotel is situated very well if you're planning on visiting the waterfront, its a 300m walk. The beds are lovely and very big. The breakfast in the morning also has a wide selection and a friendly gentleman comes by often to fill up your coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeonDewald
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The Commodore is situated in a convenient location. I had a warm and lovely check in the staff members were professional. I feel that for the star rating that the hotel has the bathroom of the room that I was booked in needs some work, the room that I had was facing the street and you could hear noises coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomthandazon489
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights following our flight from Jo-berg and Heathrow. The location of the hotel is great with the V&A only a 5 minute safe walk away. The pool area is clean and tidy and the breakfast is a meal worth waiting for..all sorts of differnt combination of hot and cold foods served on the terrace or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom082
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a pair of shoes and a dress stolen from our room during our recent stay there. Hotel management not in the least bit interested in this breach of security stating that all items are left at owner's own risk so would suggest that any items of value remain in a locked suitcase. Also, not worth paying extra for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debanddocks
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the V & A Waterfront with views to Robben Island and Bay. Stunning suite with wrap around balcony. Beautifully appointed rooms. Staff were lovely, breakfast and coffee was great. They have a great bar to have a night cap. Great location 2 minute walk to Waterfront and good concierge service for taxis. Great trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania224
Norwich
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to South Africa and the location is excellent to explore the V & A Waterfront and the rest of the attractions around Cape Town. The hotel was excellent value for money and the food and drink was wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful, in fact they couldn't do enough for you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa20Norwich
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department

United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to the Casuarina Wellness Centre and asked for a couple of treatments that was clearly advertised on their brochure. Receptionist was very surly and said they weren't available. Had one treatment but had to ask the therapist to re-do. Very disappointed in the staff overall attitude. Very unprofessional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ratu_8
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please be advised that the Casuarina SPA is an entity on its own and merely rents the space they occupy in the Hotel. We will however bring your complaints to the attention of their Management in order to prevent similar from surfacing. Muneeb Eksteen...

London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fairly smart hotel with a great location, a couple of minutes' walk from the V&A Waterfront which has a range of bars and restaurants, not to mention the ferry terminal to Robben Island. Nice lobby/bar area which was very pleasant for an early evening cocktail. Good sized and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts which were served on a lovely sunny patio,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delius17
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. We had an executive room with a small balcony on the fifth floor with a wonderful view over Table Mountain. The room was always kept clean and there is a tuck down service with their own branded chocolates. The concierge and reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan372
JvanderMerwe, Guest Relations Manager at The Commodore, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back sooner rather than later. Muneeb Eksteen Guest Relations Department

537 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (89)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
692 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
0.5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the Victoria & Alfred waterfront; panoramic views of Table Mountain & the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commodore

Address: Portwood Rd | Portswood Square, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $185 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commodore 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town Central
Commodore Hotel Cape Town
Commodore Cape Town
The Commodore Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commodore staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Presque Isle, Wisconsin
2 months ago
Herne, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Commodore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not have a view of Table Mountain - but this did not bother me - go outside if you want to see it!!”
Esti929, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not pay extra for a room with a balcony as there is no furniture on it”
debanddocks, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked the view of Table Mountain from our room- worth requesting!”
Delius17, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back( not the front)”
JohnT430, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have views of Table Mountain but beware of the seagulls”
badgercat, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 153* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 194
Booking.comUSD 193
TripAdvisorUSD 152
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates