We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Backpack

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Backpack
The Backpack
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Backpack
See the most recent reviews
Showing 549: English reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The Backpack exceeded my expectations through its location, accommodation, and especially the staff. Even in the off-season, an array of travelers can be found. The only suggestion would be to improve the breakfast selection and wi-fi service. Just up the hill is Beleza....great coffee and good wi-fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for the review of The Backpack. We are glad that you had a good stay with us! We are currently installing new lines in order to provide a quicker WiFi connection for our guests. If you come late for breakfast service, you may have found that some of the selection were already finished; as we usually have...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Great hostel with a sweet vibe, even though it is winter in cape town at the moment the hostel did their best to organize trips and tours, great helpful friendly staff! only thing that slightly let it down was the wifi was really inconsistent, however this is also a good thing because it gets people off their phones and actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arron R
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey there. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and explored Cape Town, despite the cold weather! We do apologise about the slow WiFi, we are in the process of getting new lines put in to help with the speed! But yes, we hope this lead to you making some new friends around the hostel....

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Stayed 7 nights at the Backpack in the "President Suite" which is family loft room. Nice big space for us (2 adults, 2 kids age 12 and 9) and the included breakfast was really filling and a nice way to kick-off the day. The location is superb with loads of restaurants moments away as well as being close to Table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason T
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your spacious room and our delicious free breakfast in the morning, as well as enjoying all Cape Town has to offer, joining in on tours and exploring on your own. We are sorry that you did not connect to the WiFi in your...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2015

This is a 'luxury' lodge for backpackers with friendly staff and great location. Was not expecting the place to be so nice for the given price since the place is targeted for backpackers but was pleasantly surprised. This place is still meant for backpackers and not divas and that's the whole charm. Met many great people there and I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dada862
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the brilliant review! We are so pleased that your stay was worth every penny you paid - know that your stay contributes to the local community which we love to support. We hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at the backpack New Church street! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great bar area with a beautiful view of table mountain. The location was also very safe. I did not like the fact that non residents were not allowed into the building but it's understandable in the interest of safety! If I'm ever back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for reviewing The Backpack! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do allow non residents into the bar and patio area, they just aren't allowing to walk further into the hostel for the safety of our paying guests. We do hope that you come back again soon. Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I booked a double room with a private bath for r1440/night in June for an August trip and prepaid 1/2 the room in June. I was a little frustrated to see that the posted rate was R1050/night for the same roo to someone who just walks in off the street. I asked the manager about this and was basically told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for reviewing us! We apologise that you feel frustrated; the reservation system adjusts room prices according to occupancy and there may have been a fluctuation between the date you booked and the date you arrived. Being an old house with wooden flooring, the damp smell does occur but we try attend to it immediately so thank you...

Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Started our south Africa trip staying at this hostel and only Complaint would be it made every other hostel pale in comparison. Great place with fun outgoing people. Staff very helpful and the breakfast was well beyond what would expect, really good!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshkinnear
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you for the great compliment, very far from a complaint! We are so glad you enjoyed interacting with our lovely staff and enjoyed the free continental breakfast. Hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Jade Calmeyer

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 7 August 2015

The trouble with such high reviews is it creates high expectations. This place becomes extremely noisy well before dawn with various overlander crews stomping around hauling gear to and from, banging walls etc, not to mention the kitchen crew-- who are a bit more quiet, but still create an echoing affect with their pots, pans, recycled bottles from the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian J
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there. We have high reviews because we are here to give the guests a great experience, a memorable stay, and with efforts from all staff we are able to achieve this. Your review does not sound like it was meant for us - we have noise level control after midnight, we do not have overlander crew moving gear around...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Cape Town was the end of a 5 month overland journey that began in Cairo. After months of camping and a spectrum of hostels and hotels, it was a sheer delight to end here. Hip, spacious, and clean with great wifi, communal spaces, safes, and eager and helpful staff made for a wonderful close to an epic journey. A couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChaeAmando
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for the review of The Backpack. Wow, aren't you so lucky to have done such an incredible Africa Trip and we are so happy that your last stop was with us. We are so glad that you had a great time and we hope to make it "epic" for you in the future. Kind Regards,...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I did a fair amount of research when I booked my stay at The Back Pack in Cape Town and I have to say that I'm very happy with the results. Firstly, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, second, this is one of the friendliest hostels I have ever stayed at. There is a great vibe lingering in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GK L
JadeCPT, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the awesome review! We are so pleased that The Backpack gave you a space to make new friends with staff and travelers, so you could wonder into the city centre to try out the restaurants and clubs. We only provide a free breakfast as there are so many great food places just down the road from us...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
President's Suite (38)
Viewed
Private Room (27)
Viewed
Private Room with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
733 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
305 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Price Range: $37 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Backpack staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Tel Aviv, Israel

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Backpack staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private rooms to the backside have the table mountain view ( Natalie) , but the rooms I´ve seen are all nice”
 of 5 bubbles architravelcat, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“private rooms are a bit pricey , but it's for a good cause”
 of 5 bubbles alonzo85, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“4 bed dorms are a good mid-way sharing option”
 of 5 bubbles 186beatricet, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not Sylvia”
 of 5 bubbles JustSo13, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the main social area will be quieter. More private rooms are available at greater expense.”
 of 5 bubbles shanetravel86, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5