We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Agoda.comUSD 133*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 171*
USD 133*
Great Deal
USD 139*
USD 139*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 377: English reviews
Start your review of City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here while attending a conference at the Cape Town International Convention Centre. I felt safe and secure walking alone to the venue. The staff were extremely helpful: they stored my luggage for one at no additional cost, and handled the phone/payment of a take-out meal I ordered in when arriving late. My rate included a free and filling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
Walvis Bay, Namibia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This City Lodge hotel is extremely conveniently situated in all aspects ie very close to City centre for bussiness as well as at the entrance of the Waterfront for your evening dinner and entertainment. A host of restaurants and pubs at the Waterfront which is still very safe with security ever present. The rooms are convenient and above all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bart481
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

t is always lovely to read great reviews from guests who visit us time and time again and please accept our most sincere thanks for your continued patronage of the City Lodge Hotel Group.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located near end of Motorway into CT - at entrance to Waterfront, within easy walking distance to restaurants etc. Perfectly acceptable hotel, serves a good breakfast. Restaurant staff are very attentive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well located in the waterfront, the service at check-in was great, they offer aperitifs to new registering guest, which is nice. Rooms were clean but need are due for renovation. Food selections for breakfast was wonderful, they even offered mussels. Service need improvement, but is a constant we experience around all South Africa, specially in northern parts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

City Lodges always offer good hospitality with lovely rooms and bathroom. We did not make use of the bar or restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast served had a huge variety to choose from and was delicious. Whatever staff we encountered were polite and helpful. There is construction underway in the area, but the noise did not worry us.The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colleens961
CLHG_PR_Consultant, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing a City Lodge Hotel as you spend quality and memorable time with your loved ones. We are delighted to hear your appraisal of our friendly staff and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well appointed with very friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast is buffet style and food can be obtained all day. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. The rating is given on the type of hotel and obviously does not rate 5 starts against the top hotels. However for a midrange hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fantastic and detailed review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were only in Capetown for a few days but this was a brilliant place to stay. On the waterfront which is fantastic in itself. Check out the bars nearby, the food court( make sure you go early: they shut up shop earlier than advertised if there is not much foot traffic), the shopping,if you are into shopping, the views,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMPridham
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay add it is clean, had friendly staff and is walking distance from V&A Waterfront and Castle Town convention centre. Put out a lovely pre-Roman Oceans pasta meal the Friday night with early morning spread on the Saturday very early for the runners Only complaint is that they do not cater much for vegetarians at their restaurant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis V
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Isle of Wight
Reviewed 8 April 2017

First impressions we were disappointed and thought oh well another okay hotel. Went down to dinner and the staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough, food was superb except for the lack of choice. Ate in the hotel for two nights and we were disappointed that the 'daily specials' in the menu did not change, but could not fault the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylala
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2017

i booked for two nights from 31 March to 2 April 2017. This was my first stay at a City Lodge Hotel and i chose this hotel as it was in close proximity to Cape Town International Convention Centre where the Cape Town Jazz festival was taking place during the two days we booked. The hotel is comfortable and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Segran M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 108 in Cape Town Central
943 reviews
0.3 km away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 108 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 108 in Cape Town Central
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 108 in Cape Town Central
785 reviews
0.8 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 108 in Cape Town Central
1,466 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A centrally located hotel at the gateway to the vibrant and dynamic V and A Waterfront, within walking distance of Cape Town’s CBD, close to the N2 motorway and 15 minutes from the international airport. A nautical theme runs through the hotel and a spa-pool is available for guests to relax in the warm Cape weather. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront

Address: Cnr Dock and Alfred Roads | P O Box 6025, Roggebaa, Cape Town Central 8012, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $155 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge v And a Waterfront
City Lodge v&a Waterfront Hotel Cape Town Central
City Hotel Cape Town
City Hotel v a Waterfront
City Lodge Waterfront Cape Town
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room near the reception as you might end up having to walk quite a distance with your bags !”
Bart481, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with odd numbers face the water, even numbers face the street”
CarlosR262, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Catered for the wheel chair members of our group”
RodS901, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one away from the building side.”
sylala, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are noisy due tom construction”
segranm, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 133* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 139
Orbitz.comUSD 139
HotelQuicklyUSD 171
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates