We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 643: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great situation within the city and staff were very helpful in organising taxis to get to table mountain. Rooms were very spacious, however hard to find how to turn on the electricity. From my room there were delightful views out onto a courtyard below. The main factor that doesn't make this 5 stars is the bathroom. Although it was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomos A
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great position right by the VandA waterfront. Staff very professional and helpful. Food was great and very good value for money. Rooms are quite small but we had two allocated so slept in one and used the other as a wardrobe. Would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank gralice01
sydney
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good 3 star hotel in a convenient location to the Waterfront .Within easy walking distance of a wide variety of excellent restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Rooms are very clean however the room space is very small in both double and single rooms. Reception staff were courteous but at times not terribly efficient. Very good breakfast Overall a good hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveller59
Kochi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The breakwater lodge was initially bulit as a prison for convicts working in the construcion of the breakwater and docks. It was modified later to convert one part to a hotel and other part to a college. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. We were surprised to see the original old iron window and door frames which were part... More 

Helpful?
Thank LijuJames30
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakwater Lodge is located just across the street to Waterfront, the main tourist attraction in downtown Cape Town. Compared to other hotels in this area, the prices are affordable. The room was not very large, but got all we needed, including a genorous bathroom. If you choose to have breakfast at the hotel, it is really value for money. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Audebassa
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Audebassa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location which is central to most of the Tourist attractions, in and around Cape Town. Price is important when selecting a holiday destination, and we are happy to read that your found our prices affordable. Our GUESTS... More 

Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is just a very short walk away from the waterfront - a perfect location! It also has a unique set-up, as it is partly a former prison, and many of the features still exist. Rooms are modern and clean, if a little small and clairaudient, the beds are very comfortable. The staff at the reception is outstanding! They... More 

Helpful?
Thank evacateye
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear evacateye, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We are ecstatic to read that you enjoyed your stay at our location. Not only are we located in one of the best locations in Cape Town, but it is within walking distance of the V & A Waterfront, and offers you the opportunity to... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

3 nights at this hotel.Nice room with all usual facilities including free wi-fi.Very comfortable bed.The only negative would be the frosted glass surround for the toilet and wash area which is not very private.Close to Vand A Waterfront which is a must to visit in Cape Town.Be prepared for a walk through what was once a gaol and now a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Garth J
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Garth J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. We are happy to read that your enjoyed your room including the free wi-fi. Location is vital when selecting a vacation, and we are very fortunate to be situated in the V & A Waterfront, which is within walking distance of our Hotel. Our... More 

Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Breakwater Protea hotel, two nights in the newer building and two nights in the restored prison building. The accommodations varied significantly. The newer building (which houses the lobby) room was actually two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. This would be perfect for a family, but really did not work well for us as... More 

Helpful?
Thank lwimmert
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Iwimmert, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience at our Hotel. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the initial room, and that the bathroom facilities although a clean design, failed to function as it should. We will inform our Housekeeper of the situation, so that going forward, they will provide... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoy my stay, it's perfectly located near the Bus tour office, and the restaurants at the waterfront... the breakfast is delicious and the staff very polite. The bed were comfy and the room was clean.

Helpful?
Thank EyreIcome
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear EyreIcome, We thank you and appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on our Hotel. We are ecstatic to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is what attracts most of our GUESTS, because it is within walking distance of the V & A Waterfront, which offers you, our GUESTS, the opportunity to... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time in Cape Town, we spent 4 days there and stayed in the Protea Breakwater ... special location (ex prison) but very good hotel. Terrace with view on the table mountain, complete breakfast, nice rooms... Wifi was not OK

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
PHBWLCPT, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marc C, We thank you and appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on our Hotel. Location is top priority when selecting a holiday destination, and we are very fortunate to be located in a such a stunning setting, which is central to most tourist attractions and within walking distance to the V & A Waterfront.... More 

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
513 reviews
0.2 km away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,032 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
615 reviews
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#69 of 106 in Cape Town Central
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a rich piece of history balancing modern-day comfort when you stay at this hotel right next to Cape Town's fabulous V&A Waterfront. Just a minute away from restaurants, theatres and shops, the hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of the V&A Waterfront and 25km from Cape Town International Airport. The hotel is also near all the main routes to the beaches, mountain walks and city hotspots as well as the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and Cape Town Stadium. The hotel is closely linked with the University of Cape Town's Graduate School of Business and features 18 conference venues, four public lounges, gym, SPA, business centre, 24-hour secure parking - 250 parking bays, airport transfers, laundry service. The hotel boasts with 191 modern environmentally conscious rooms with standard rooms, business suites and family units. All rooms are equipped with minibar fridge, free uncapped WIFI, tea/coffee facilities, air-conditioning, LCD flat screen TV, telephone and laptop-friendly electronic safes. Stonebreakers Restaurant offers a la carte & buffet menus daily in a relaxed atmosphere with magnificent views of both the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain. A selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages is available from our full service bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge

Address: Portswood Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Breakwater Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: $127 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Breakwater Cape Town Central
Breakwater Hotel Cape Town
The Breakwater Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge South Africa
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Wedderburn, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room the the prison building”
 of 5 bubbles lwimmert, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If it location you are looking for, and spending just your sleeping hours in the hotel- it is very reasonably priced and serves its purpose/”
 of 5 bubbles 659matt, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Unable to comment on cost as part of a package. Views from the room fantastic, location good and in a quiet area.”
 of 5 bubbles SandraH1960, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“take good shoes as you can walk for miles”
 of 5 bubbles Harry030, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles lorettam55, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay